Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Applications
copying files to samba share
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
sarameggs
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
since: 22 Oct, 2004
1. copying files to samba share
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Hi,

I am a total ignorant when it comes to OS2. My background is unix mostly. My problem is I am trying to test a samba confg by copying files from C: into the shared drive using xcopy. The copy seems to go OK until it hits the Desktop dir, where the Xcopy stops, with the error :

SYS1693: the system cannot create the directory.

Is this happening because there is something special about Desktop? Is xcopy the best tool to use in this case or is there a better method of running the copy? Or, is copying c drive just totally stupid and I should try something else.

Thanks so much, sm

Date: 22 Oct, 2004 on 03:18
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
since: 12 Jan, 2001
2. Re:copying files to samba share
Are you using xcopy from samba or from OS/2 command line? It could be it can not create a directory if the OS/2 drive is formatted using HPFS(?).

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Date: 22 Oct, 2004 on 17:08
Cris
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
since: 20 Nov, 2003
3. Re:copying files to samba share
Hi,
you should be telling a little more about your situation.