Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Applications
author message
DOS trapping
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
hausmaus
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://outpostbbs.net
posts: 87
since: 11 Aug, 2004
1. DOS trapping
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Hi, everyone.

I recently installed OS/2 on another computer and I just discovered that DOS and Win-OS/2 is not working. The window comes up and freezes, gives me a popup error and leaves. According to POPUPLOG.OS2:

02-03-2005 16:23:42 SYS3170 PID 0042 TID 0001 Slot 0069
C:\OS2\PMSHELL.EXE
ff3679f2
ff368f3c
EAX=00001100 EBX=00000392 ECX=00000001 EDX=00000000
ESI=00005b83 EDI=000003be
DS=ffff DSACC=**** DSLIM=********
ES=ffff ESACC=**** ESLIM=********
FS=0000 FSACC=**** FSLIM=********
GS=0000 GSACC=**** GSLIM=********
CS:EIP=01b3:00000000 CSACC=**** CSLIM=********
SS:ESP=ffff:000008f2 SSACC=**** SSLIM=********
EBP=00000314 FLG=000a2206

I'm running Scitech SNAP/PE for the Intel AGP chip... other than that, I can't think of anything that would cause any problems. I did install DANIS506.ADD, but no other major modifications to the system.

Ideas or suggestions?

Thanks,
Sean

Date: 04 Feb, 2005 on 00:00
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
2. Re:DOS trapping
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Was WinOS2 and DOS support installed when you instaleld OS/2? Perhaps they did not install completely?

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Date: 04 Feb, 2005 on 15:54
Radek
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 121
since: 17 Jul, 2003
3. Re:DOS trapping
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
No, DOS subsystem is fine most likely. I have experienced the same problem as well. The "Chernobyl screen" says "trap 0E in VVGA" (trap 0E is the page fault). The crash happens everytime you try a windowed DOS or WIN-OS2 session or start a seamless WIN-OS2 session. Full screen sessions work.

This happens with some video cards under eCS. If it is the case, then you need the viotbl.dcp file from Warp 4 before FP5 or so. Get the file, rename viotbl.dcp in your \OS2\BOOT to something else and copy the old viotbl.dcp there. Reboot. For some unknown reason, all your problems will be gone, DOS and WIN-OS2 sessions will work, and you won't lose any functionality of the operating system.

Date: 04 Feb, 2005 on 17:42
hausmaus
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://outpostbbs.net
posts: 87
since: 11 Aug, 2004
4. Re:DOS trapping
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Okay, I'll do that... I have my original Warp 4 CD around here somewhere. As for the questions:

1) Yes, DOS and Win-OS/2 were installed and working upon installation.

2) I suspect Scitech SNAP/PE is to blame for this-I will go back to VGA and try it...

Thanks to both of you for your responses! I appreciate them and will write this down in my "OS/2 Notes" book.

Thanks again,
Sean

Date: 05 Feb, 2005 on 19:33
DOS trapping
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
All times are CET+1. < Prev. | P. 1 | Next >
Go to:
 

Powered by UltraBoard 2000 Standard Edition,
Copyright © UltraScripts.com, Inc. 1999-2000.
Home | Gallery | Forums | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com 2000-2004