Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Applications
author message
Anyone managed to install FireFox?
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
SandBird
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 3
since: 24 Jul, 2005
1. Anyone managed to install FireFox?
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I managed to find out that I had to install libc and then I found out where to get it (googling around).

Now, firefox.exe exit every time that I'm trying to run it.

So, what to do now?

System: eCS 1.1
Software: FireFox 1.0.6

Date: 24 Jul, 2005 on 23:18
davidfor
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.os2world.com/djfos2
posts: 145
since: 20 Jan, 2003
2. Re:Anyone managed to install FireFox?
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Firstly, most Mozilla related questions can be answered by looking at Steve Wendt's page at <http://www.os2bbs.com/os2news/Warpzilla.html>.

But, the most common answers to this problem are:

- Did you run the libc05 installer, or, unzip the file and copy the DLL? If you didn't install it, you won't have gotten the GCC DLL as well.

- Do you have the directory for another Mozilla product (the Suite, Thunderbird, NVU or IBM Web Browser) in the LIBPATH? Early versions of IBM Web Browser added its directory to the LIBPATH and this caused problems for other Mozilla products. The directory isn't needed in the LIBPATH, so remove it.

- Is another Mozilla product already running? If so, the loaded DLLs may conflict with those Firefox wants. On the above page, look for "LIBPATHSTRICT" for the solution.

If the above doesn't help, what is the error displayed? Or, is there anything in the POPUPLOG.OS2? Or, have you tried starting from the command-line? This can give more info on errors.

---
David

Date: 25 Jul, 2005 on 03:18
SandBird
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 3
since: 24 Jul, 2005
3. Re:Anyone managed to install FireFox?
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Thanks for your help.
I'm now posting this message from within FireFox

Here's a small HOWTO for making FireFox to work:

1. Create a file, name it firefox.cmd and fill it with:

c:
cd c:\programs\firefox_os2_1_0_6\firefox\
set MOZ_NO_REMOTE=1
set LIBPATHSTRICT=T
set MOZILLA_HOME=c:\programs\firefox_os2_1_0_6\firefox\profiles
set PATH=c:\programs\firefox_os2_1_0_6\firefox\;%PATH%
set BEGINLIBPATH=c:\programs\firefox_os2_1_0_6\firefox\
set LIBPATH=
firefox.exe %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8 %9

Replace c:\programs\firefox_os2_1_0_6\firefox\ with your installation path of firefox.

2. Now create the directory"profiles" under the firefox installation directory.
3. Create a directory, for example "myprof" under "profiles".
4. Create a junk file filled with few spaces and save it as "prefs.js" under "myprof".
5. Execute:

firefox.cmd -CreateProfile "myprof c:\programs\firefox_os2_1_0_6\firefox\"

6. Now you can execute just firefox.cmd to open the browser

Date: 25 Jul, 2005 on 23:17
davidfor
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.os2world.com/djfos2
posts: 145
since: 20 Jan, 2003
4. Re:Anyone managed to install FireFox?
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

SandBird (25 Jul, 2005 23:17):

set MOZILLA_HOME=c:\programs\firefox_os2_1_0_6\firefox\profiles


Setting MOZILLA_HOME is a good idea. But, setting it to point inside the installation directory is a BAD idea. Firstly, if it is not set at all, the directory above is the default (the profiles directory inside the installation directory). So, if you want your profile inside the installation directory, don't bother setting it all.

But, leaving it in the installation directory is not a good idea. This means that if you need to do a bit of work when you put a new version of Firefox on. It is better to set MOZILLA_HOME to point somewhere else.

Also, I would expect that the Firefox would create a "Mozilla\Firefox" structure under the directory that you have pointed to. In this would be the file "profiles.ini" which has a list of your profiles and where they are. The may also be a "Profiles" directory in this place.




2. Now create the directory"profiles" under the firefox installation directory.
3. Create a directory, for example "myprof" under "profiles".
4. Create a junk file filled with few spaces and save it as "prefs.js" under "myprof".
5. Execute:

firefox.cmd -CreateProfile "myprof c:\programs\firefox_os2_1_0_6\firefox\"


That seems like a lot of work. The first time you start Firefox, it will create a profile for you. This will be in the location that MOZILLA_HOME points to. If you don't like this location, start Firefox with the parameter "-profilemanager". This gets Firefox to show the "Profile Manager" and you can create profiles with whatever names or locations that you want.

---
David

Date: 26 Jul, 2005 on 04:34
Anyone managed to install FireFox?
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
All times are CET+1. < Prev. | P. 1 | Next >
Go to:
 

Powered by UltraBoard 2000 Standard Edition,
Copyright © UltraScripts.com, Inc. 1999-2000.
Home | Gallery | Forums | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com 2000-2004