Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Networking
author message
DHCP start
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
Dan
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.danielfaber.com
posts: 19
since: 07 Aug, 2003
1. DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I have been trying to get broadband internet access through an ethernet card on my Warp 4 computer. It doesn't quite work, though. When the computer boots, it gets to a point, after the ethernet driver loads, where it says, "DCHPSTRT: DHCP client did not start. Press Enter to continue..." I know the ethernet line is working, because I'm able to use it in Virtual PC using Windows 98. What could be wrong?
Date: 19 Aug, 2004 on 20:36
kiewitz
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://en.ecomstation.ru/kiewitzsoft/
posts: 11
since: 11 Jan, 2004
2. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Just disable DHCP, if you dont have a DHCP-server in your LAN?!?!
Date: 19 Aug, 2004 on 21:25
Dan
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.danielfaber.com
posts: 19
since: 07 Aug, 2003
3. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
How will DHCP start if it's disabled?
Date: 19 Aug, 2004 on 22:19
Roland
Normal member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.hydrografix.com
posts: 17
since: 02 Jan, 2001
4. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

Dan (19 Aug, 2004 22:19):
How will DHCP start if it's disabled?

Hello Dan, you don't need DHCP, if you don't have a DHCP-Server in your Network, like in a DSL-router or so. When you want to connect to your internet provider, you establish a PPP connection(over Ethernet). And there you get an IP-address similar to DHCP.

---
//Roland

Date: 20 Aug, 2004 on 11:06
Dan
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.danielfaber.com
posts: 19
since: 07 Aug, 2003
5. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Really, my question is simple. How do I get DHCP to start?
Date: 20 Aug, 2004 on 18:18
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
6. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I had that message after I had DHCP installed and before I had my cable modem. Does it say it is running in the background? Once I installed the cable modem (turning it on; if it is in 'off' or 'standy' mode, I still get that message) and started my computer, there was no messages about the DHCP (not usually, unless I did not turn on the cable modem when I booted my computer). Do you have the right kind of network cable? How fast is your network card?

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Date: 20 Aug, 2004 on 18:23
Dan
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.danielfaber.com
posts: 19
since: 07 Aug, 2003
7. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
No, it's not running in the background. It says, "DCHPSTRT: DHCP client did not start. Press Enter to continue..." I know the ethernet card is fast enough, and I have the right driver. I just can't get DHCP to start.
Date: 20 Aug, 2004 on 19:50
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
8. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I think the message you are getting may be: "DCHPSTRT: DHCP client could not get parameters - continuing to try in the background. Press Enter to continue..."

If you press "enter" and continue on to the WPS - there is
every possibility your DHCP connection will take place shortly
afterwards. It seems to be the case, from what I have seen - that OS/2 sometimes does that.

Try looking at your SETUP.CMD file - look for the line that
says:

dhcpstrt -i lan0

and change it to:

dhcpstrt -i lan0 -d 5

This will keep it from hanging you up at the pre-WPS for a
full minute. Then reboot...once you get back up to your WPS,
then open a command prompt and type DHCPMON - it's an
interface that says if you are connected or not. Using the
drop-down menu, you can release the lease and request it
again...kind of jump-starting the DHCP connection.

Also - run TCPCFG2 (or TCPCFG on older OS/2 versions), and
remove any old DNS settings or static IP's or settings that may
be incorrect or leftover from any previous configuration. Make
sure the settings on these pages match your desired setup.
More detailed info on configuring TCP/IP is avail. via google or
OS/2's online help...should you need any help along those lines.

Date: 21 Aug, 2004 on 00:44
TimC
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 11
since: 21 Feb, 2003
9. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Just a note, on the first page of the TCP/IP Configuration utility (TCPCFG.EXE or TCPCFG2.EXE, as mentioned previously), make sure that you have the following:

1) "Enable Interface" checked;
2) "Automatically, using DHCP" selected; (it's a Radio Button)
3) "LAN Interface 0" selected; as you probably have only 1 NIC

---
Tim H Cardozo
OS/2 SIG of the Sacramento PC Users Group
SIG Leader
Date: 21 Aug, 2004 on 02:21
Dan
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.danielfaber.com
posts: 19
since: 07 Aug, 2003
10. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Sorry, but that's not the message I get. It is as I have written it in this thread.


dljone9 (21 Aug, 2004 00:44):
I think the message you are getting may be: "DCHPSTRT: DHCP client could not get parameters - continuing to try in the background. Press Enter to continue..."

If you press "enter" and continue on to the WPS - there is
every possibility your DHCP connection will take place shortly
afterwards. It seems to be the case, from what I have seen - that OS/2 sometimes does that.

Try looking at your SETUP.CMD file - look for the line that
says:

dhcpstrt -i lan0

and change it to:

dhcpstrt -i lan0 -d 5

This will keep it from hanging you up at the pre-WPS for a
full minute. Then reboot...once you get back up to your WPS,
then open a command prompt and type DHCPMON - it's an
interface that says if you are connected or not. Using the
drop-down menu, you can release the lease and request it
again...kind of jump-starting the DHCP connection.

Also - run TCPCFG2 (or TCPCFG on older OS/2 versions), and
remove any old DNS settings or static IP's or settings that may
be incorrect or leftover from any previous configuration. Make
sure the settings on these pages match your desired setup.
More detailed info on configuring TCP/IP is avail. via google or
OS/2's online help...should you need any help along those lines.


Date: 21 Aug, 2004 on 15:39
Dan
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.danielfaber.com
posts: 19
since: 07 Aug, 2003
11. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
That's the way it is.


TimC (21 Aug, 2004 02:21):
Just a note, on the first page of the TCP/IP Configuration utility (TCPCFG.EXE or TCPCFG2.EXE, as mentioned previously), make sure that you have the following:

1) "Enable Interface" checked;
2) "Automatically, using DHCP" selected; (it's a Radio Button)
3) "LAN Interface 0" selected; as you probably have only 1 NIC
Date: 21 Aug, 2004 on 15:41
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
12. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Ah, very well then - did you follow the steps I suggest, nontheless?



Dan (21 Aug, 2004 15:39):
Sorry, but that's not the message I get. It is as I have written it in this thread.


dljone9 (21 Aug, 2004 00:44):
I think the message you are getting may be: "DCHPSTRT: DHCP client could not get parameters - continuing to try in the background. Press Enter to continue..."

If you press "enter" and continue on to the WPS - there is
every possibility your DHCP connection will take place shortly
afterwards. It seems to be the case, from what I have seen - that OS/2 sometimes does that.

Try looking at your SETUP.CMD file - look for the line that
says:

dhcpstrt -i lan0

and change it to:

dhcpstrt -i lan0 -d 5

This will keep it from hanging you up at the pre-WPS for a
full minute. Then reboot...once you get back up to your WPS,
then open a command prompt and type DHCPMON - it's an
interface that says if you are connected or not. Using the
drop-down menu, you can release the lease and request it
again...kind of jump-starting the DHCP connection.

Also - run TCPCFG2 (or TCPCFG on older OS/2 versions), and
remove any old DNS settings or static IP's or settings that may
be incorrect or leftover from any previous configuration. Make
sure the settings on these pages match your desired setup.
More detailed info on configuring TCP/IP is avail. via google or
OS/2's online help...should you need any help along those lines.



Date: 21 Aug, 2004 on 16:20
Dan
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.danielfaber.com
posts: 19
since: 07 Aug, 2003
13. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I went through the steps you suggested, and it didn't help.
Date: 23 Aug, 2004 on 19:32
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
14. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
OK, well - not knowing what version of OS/2 you are running, or
the network card details, or what level of TCP/IP you are at -
it's hard to get down to real specifics in the way I'd hope to. But
here is a google link that walks through the setup in a fairly
detailed way:

http://groups.google.com/groups?q=os/2+dhcp+"lan+0"&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&selm=1aJg8.1455$LEs.957@news2.bloor.is&rnum=3

Date: 23 Aug, 2004 on 20:39
Trident
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 49
since: 18 May, 2004
15. Re:DHCP start
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
OK, i'll put my 2 cents in here...
I have (DSL) running thru a Wireless router..
the signal from the DSL modem to the wireless is ethernet.
the wireless side has a DHCP server built in...
For an ethernet connection you only need to setup a PPPoE..
unfortunatily I do not think that os2 alone, even with tcp\ip
will support DHCP in that manner...
I had to send my wireless router back, for a new one, and during
that time, I had the dsl moden directly connected to my laptop via
pcmcia ethernet modem... I also had to use the INjoy PPPoe
software... 30 demo version...
When you setup the DHCP in your TCP\ip config.. you should
have no other settings... and you must have a corresponding
adapter in place along with its protocols..
always check your " Lantran.log" when you get error messages
during bootup.
Best
Dave
Date: 24 Aug, 2004 on 16:02
DHCP start
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
All times are CET+1. < Prev. | P. 1 | Next >
Go to:
 

Powered by UltraBoard 2000 Standard Edition,
Copyright © UltraScripts.com, Inc. 1999-2000.
Home | Gallery | Forums | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com 2000-2004