Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Networking
author message
TCP not connected to my NIC
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
kif
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://hjem.tele2adsl.dk/kimfoder
posts: 45
since: 31 Mar, 2004
1. TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Hi

For almost a year now, I have been trying to get my OS2 to connect to my linux, and it is becomming rather embaresing, as I have no problem configuring W****** and linux for network, but my prefered os I cannot configure !

My NIC has been tested on Linux & W****** without any problems, and the cable too.

The NIC is detected by the driver while booting, and the driver detects my lan speed (100 mbs).

But when the MPTSTART.CMD calls INETWAIT, it just times out, and afterwards I cannot ping my linux.

When I execute mptn\setup.cmd, I get my loopback and the routings, but nothing happens on the network (no led flashes) and ping reports all packets lost !

I'm using w4, latest fixpack,, latest tcp/ip stack, and Realtec 10/100 NIC.

Any ideas ?

Thanks

Kim Foder

Date: 13 Sep, 2004 on 22:10
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
2. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

kif (13 Sep, 2004 22:10):
Hi

For almost a year now, I have been trying to get my OS2 to connect to my linux, and it is becomming rather embaresing, as I have no problem configuring W****** and linux for network, but my prefered os I cannot configure !

My NIC has been tested on Linux & W****** without any problems, and the cable too.

The NIC is detected by the driver while booting, and the driver detects my lan speed (100 mbs).

But when the MPTSTART.CMD calls INETWAIT, it just times out, and afterwards I cannot ping my linux.

When I execute mptn\setup.cmd, I get my loopback and the routings, but nothing happens on the network (no led flashes) and ping reports all packets lost !

I'm using w4, latest fixpack,, latest tcp/ip stack, and Realtec 10/100 NIC.

Any ideas ?

Thanks

Kim Foder



Can you post your x:\mptn\bin\setup.cmd file, per chance??

Date: 13 Sep, 2004 on 23:27
warpcafe
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 350
since: 26 Nov, 2002
3. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

dljone9 (13 Sep, 2004 23:27):
Can you post your x:\mptn\bin\setup.cmd file, per chance??

...and your x:\ibmcom\protocol.ini just to make sure that no "stupid" error went into it from somewhere...

Greetings
Thomas

Date: 14 Sep, 2004 on 16:00
kif
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://hjem.tele2adsl.dk/kimfoder
posts: 45
since: 31 Mar, 2004
4. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
setup.cmd :

------------
route -fh
arp -f
ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
ifconfig lan0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 metric 1 mtu 1500
route add default 192.168.0.0 -hopcount 1
ipgate off
------------

protocol.ini :

-----------
[PROT_MAN]

DRIVERNAME = PROTMAN$

[IBMLXCFG]

tcpip_nif = tcpip.nif
NONETADP_nif = nonetadp.nif
RTL8139_nif = RTL8139.nif

[tcpip_nif]

DriverName = TCPIP$
Bindings = NONETADP_nif,RTL8139_nif

[NONETADP_nif]

DriverName = NULLNDS$

[RTL8139_nif]

DriverName = RTSND$
MEDIUM = "_AUTO"
IRQ = 13
NOIRQ = 0
APM = 1
CARDBUS = "NO"
------------

Hope you can see any problems !

Kim Foder

Date: 14 Sep, 2004 on 19:53
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
5. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Is your router really at 192.168.0.0?? If it was a DSL/Cable
router, I would think it might be 192.168.0.1. Perhaps then
your setup.cmd might look like this:

route -fh
arp -f
ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
ifconfig lan0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 metric 1 mtu 1500
route add default 192.168.0.0 192.168.0.1 -hopcount 1
ipgate off

Date: 14 Sep, 2004 on 20:41
kif
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://hjem.tele2adsl.dk/kimfoder
posts: 45
since: 31 Mar, 2004
6. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Thanks for the input.

>Is your router really at 192.168.0.0??

OK, I may have been a bit unbclear on that point !

I have no router, I'm trying to connect my os2 and my linux directly via an crossover-cable (tested and functioning).

The Linux is 192.168.0.1, the OS/2 is 192.168.0.2.

When I ping 192.168.0.2 from my linux, the led flashes on the nic.

when I ping 192.168.0.1 from my OS/2, nothing happens !

>If it was a DSL/Cable router

I'm not investing in DSL before I am shure I can get my OS/2 to use the nic !

>route add default 192.168.0.0 192.168.0.1 -hopcount 1

Doesn't do any difference !

Kim Foder

Date: 14 Sep, 2004 on 21:20
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
7. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Oh yes, a crossover cable would make the changes I suggest
quite useless

Perhaps in this situation - OS/2 needs to act as it's own router.
Try plugging in the system's IP in the route statement...or even
the Linux box's IP.

Also, your protocol.ini indicates you have TCP/IP bound to the
network card - do you also have a null modem cable configured
or some other device activated in MPTS.EXE??

Date: 14 Sep, 2004 on 22:05
kif
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://hjem.tele2adsl.dk/kimfoder
posts: 45
since: 31 Mar, 2004
8. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
HI

>plugging in the system's IP in the route statement...or even
>the Linux box's IP.

Same result in both situations !

I have tried "ifconfig lan0 down" and then "ping 192.168.0.1" then ping tells me that the network is down.

After "ifconfig lan0 up" when I ping, it just hangs until I stop it.

Under no curcumstances do the activity ledon the nic flash !

>do you also have a null modem cable configured
>or some other device activated in MPTS.EXE??

All I have is my internet dial up, and local loop back (127.0.0.1).

Date: 14 Sep, 2004 on 23:54
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
9. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

kif (14 Sep, 2004 23:54):
HI

>plugging in the system's IP in the route statement...or even
>the Linux box's IP.

Same result in both situations !

I have tried "ifconfig lan0 down" and then "ping 192.168.0.1" then ping tells me that the network is down.

After "ifconfig lan0 up" when I ping, it just hangs until I stop it.

Under no curcumstances do the activity ledon the nic flash !

>do you also have a null modem cable configured
>or some other device activated in MPTS.EXE??

All I have is my internet dial up, and local loop back (127.0.0.1).


For myself, I would go back into MPTS.EXE and remove TCP/IP
from the dialup connection, so the only adapter it is bound to
is the network card. Then go into TCPCFG2.EXE and make sure
you have the IP, router statements, netmask plugged in. Reboot
and see if it works. Your dialup will still work, I'll betcha...

Date: 15 Sep, 2004 on 03:13
warpcafe
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 350
since: 26 Nov, 2002
10. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Folks,

"route add default 192.168.0.0 ....."
will send all packets to that adress - right?

Linux uses 192.168.0.1
Warp uses 192.168.0.2
...
and WHO/WHAT is using that 192.168.0.0 ??

If there is no device/machine using that adress, so why should that "route default" work at all? Where do you expect the packets to arrive?
In my opinion just drop that route or use "192.168.0.1" as gateway adress for the OS/2 machine
(e.g. "route add default 192.168.0.1 ...")

As TCP/IP is bound to both the nullmodem and the NIC, run tcpcfg2 to see if your NIC is the "lan0" device (or: check if the NIC was assigned the 192.168.0.2 adress) maybe somthing messed up here.

Good luck.
Thomas

Date: 15 Sep, 2004 on 10:34
kif
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://hjem.tele2adsl.dk/kimfoder
posts: 45
since: 31 Mar, 2004
11. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Hi

>As TCP/IP is bound to both the nullmodem and the
>NIC, run tcpcfg2 to see if your NIC is the "lan0"
>device (or: check if the NIC was assigned the
>192.168.0.2 adress) maybe somthing messed up
>here.

Ok, I have now removed the nullmodem, and that made a differance !

Now I cannot do anything with lan0, no ifconfig and no route !

But, while looking around I may have found something :

In c:\ibmcom\lantran.log I found the following :

------------
IBM OS/2 LANMSGDD [11/02/01] 6.00 is loaded and operational.

Loading Realtek Fast Ethernet Network Adapter driver (3.23vk) [2003-01-27]
Vendor=10EC,10EC Dev.=8139,8139 BusNo=0x01 DeviceNo=0x00 EtherID=@00C026001190
The chip is RTL8139.
Network Line Speed is 100 Mbps / Full_Duplex Mode
Parameters: IOBase = 0xD480
Interrupt Level = 13
IBM OS/2 LAN Netbind
PRO0022: An unspecified failure error occurred when the program tried to bind TCPIP_NIF to RTL8139_NIF.
------------

Any ideas what this means (I understand TCPIP is not connected to RTL8139.nif, but why not) ?

For some reason "help PRO0022" cannot find the pro.msg file, even though the path are in dpath !

Kim Foder

Date: 15 Sep, 2004 on 21:07
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
12. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

kif (15 Sep, 2004 21:07):
Hi

>As TCP/IP is bound to both the nullmodem and the
>NIC, run tcpcfg2 to see if your NIC is the "lan0"
>device (or: check if the NIC was assigned the
>192.168.0.2 adress) maybe somthing messed up
>here.

Ok, I have now removed the nullmodem, and that made a differance !

Now I cannot do anything with lan0, no ifconfig and no route !

But, while looking around I may have found something :

In c:\ibmcom\lantran.log I found the following :

------------
IBM OS/2 LANMSGDD [11/02/01] 6.00 is loaded and operational.

Loading Realtek Fast Ethernet Network Adapter driver (3.23vk) [2003-01-27]
Vendor=10EC,10EC Dev.=8139,8139 BusNo=0x01 DeviceNo=0x00 EtherID=@00C026001190
The chip is RTL8139.
Network Line Speed is 100 Mbps / Full_Duplex Mode
Parameters: IOBase = 0xD480
Interrupt Level = 13
IBM OS/2 LAN Netbind
PRO0022: An unspecified failure error occurred when the program tried to bind TCPIP_NIF to RTL8139_NIF.
------------

Any ideas what this means (I understand TCPIP is not connected to RTL8139.nif, but why not) ?

For some reason "help PRO0022" cannot find the pro.msg file, even though the path are in dpath !

Kim Foder


My OS/2 box says, when posed with the "help PRO0022"
inquiry, to re-install Protocol Manager. I don't know what
control file might have gotten chewed up on your box, but
I'd re-install the networking components from scratch.

Perhaps someone else here has a short-cut here for you...

Date: 15 Sep, 2004 on 23:54
kif
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://hjem.tele2adsl.dk/kimfoder
posts: 45
since: 31 Mar, 2004
13. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Hi

>My OS/2 box says, when posed with the "help PRO0022"
>inquiry, to re-install Protocol Manager. I don't know what
>control file might have gotten chewed up on your box, but
>I'd re-install the networking components from scratch.

Ok, should I uninstall anything first, or just re-install MPTN ?

KimFoder

Date: 16 Sep, 2004 on 10:59
warpcafe
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 350
since: 26 Nov, 2002
14. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Hi fellow investigators,

yeah - that networking subsystem sometimes gets screwed up on configuartion changes. That's sad but true.

One question of mine regarding the lantran.log output:
I never saw a device using IRQ *13*... I never saw IRQ13 actually somewhere except vor virtual IRQs... so... I'm wondering... is that NIC really actually working?
If in doubt, use the pci sniffer to check what resources are used by the NIC.
(http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/pub/os2/util/misc/pci049vkd.zip)

If i'm wrong on the NIC - forgive me.

I suppose the problem to be related to MPTS.
Sometimes when using MPTS.EXE for editing NICs and protocols, it screws up dependant configuration files. I remember that there even was a tool bundled with eCS 1.1 to re-organize the files in such case...but:
You said that you apllied Warp and tcpip fixpaks - did you also apply the corresponding MPTS fixpaks?

If so, your protocol.ini entries might be messed up. In this case, there's 2 ways of getting it to work:
1) Run MPTS.EXE, deleting all protocols and adapters, reboot, re-run MPTS.EXE to select the appropriate stuff.
2) Edit protocol.ini

But first we need to check what you actually need:
When working with linux machines... you obviously need TCP/IP, but are you requiring netbios as well for samba?

Greetings
Thomas

Date: 16 Sep, 2004 on 11:16
kif
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://hjem.tele2adsl.dk/kimfoder
posts: 45
since: 31 Mar, 2004
15. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
HI again

The probelm has been solved !

A long time ago, I was trying to get the on board intel nic to work (maybe its time to try again ?), the driver complained of some undefined resource conflicts.

Assuming the conflict was in the IRQ I changed it from 11 to 13.

It didn't solve my problem, but for some reason i kept it !

The other day Thomas commented on the wierd IRQ, and today I tried to change it back to the original IRQ 11,.

Now everything is functioning as expected (and hoped ;o)

Now I have some interesting time ahead of me as I explore Linux servers and NETBUI on OS/2 ;o)

Thanks for the great work !

Kim Foder

Date: 16 Sep, 2004 on 21:37
warpcafe
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 350
since: 26 Nov, 2002
16. Re:TCP not connected to my NIC
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

kif (16 Sep, 2004 21:37):
Now I have some interesting time ahead of me as I explore Linux servers and NETBUI on OS/2 ;o)
Kim Foder

Kim,

you'll be pleased: From my own experience, OS/2 is far better suited to connect with Linux (workstations, servers) and samba shares than Windoze which sometimes has troubles with access policies on user base in samba.

Nice to see a problem could be solved!
Greetings

Thomas

Date: 17 Sep, 2004 on 09:38
TCP not connected to my NIC
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
All times are CET+1. < Prev. | P. 1 | Next >
Go to:
 

Powered by UltraBoard 2000 Standard Edition,
Copyright © UltraScripts.com, Inc. 1999-2000.
Home | Gallery | Forums | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com 2000-2004