Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Networking
author message
Belkin NIC Problems!
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
1. Belkin NIC Problems!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I had installed it and found the drivers for the NIC card. It is a Belkin that uses the RealTek 8139 chipset. The driver loads but the DHCP can not get settings. I tried the browser (both Mozilla and Opera but they both show/give error messages like I am not connected to the internet). It had workd before but not now? I have loaded the OS/2 drivers from the Belkin cd. I don't think it is the NIC drivers since it loads. Any help would be appreciated.
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Date: 03 Dec, 2004 on 04:25
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
2. Not Seen In HardWare Manager?
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
It is not seen in the hardware manager. Would this indicate that the drivers did not load succesfully? It appears to load successfully. The DHCP does not get the settings to continue. Is it because the NIC driver did not load succesfully or for a slightly different card than I have in the computer?

I have found an older IBM NIC but could not figure out what it was. I will re-install the Belkin card. At least the drivers for it appear to load.

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Date: 05 Dec, 2004 on 04:35
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
3. Re:Belkin NIC Problems!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Try to check the protocol.ini to check if it's really is set up there; i have earlier had problem when switching NICs that the system not always is updated as it should. The hardware manager only shows items that has been init by driver; in your case it hasn't and that is why it's not on the list.
Date: 06 Dec, 2004 on 12:43
dljone9
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 93
since: 13 Jan, 2003
4. Re:Not Seen In HardWare Manager?
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

BigWarpGuy (05 Dec, 2004 04:35):
It is not seen in the hardware manager. Would this indicate that the drivers did not load succesfully? It appears to load successfully. The DHCP does not get the settings to continue. Is it because the NIC driver did not load succesfully or for a slightly different card than I have in the computer?

I have found an older IBM NIC but could not figure out what it was. I will re-install the Belkin card. At least the drivers for it appear to load.


I have never seen Network Cards show up in hardware manager,
but w/ OS/2 Warp 4 you could use C:\IBMINST\OS2SNIFF.EXE to
get the Network Card info...

Date: 06 Dec, 2004 on 15:27
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
5. Thanks!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Thanks for the information/help. I will give it a try.

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Date: 06 Dec, 2004 on 16:27
Trident
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 49
since: 18 May, 2004
6. Re:Belkin NIC Problems!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
BigWarpedGuy, I always have a hard time following your
questions.... You really need to be more specific about details.
Which nic, (pcmcia, pci,mini pci?). model numbers etc: the more
info given the better...
On bootup you might not get the DHCP working... mine shows
and error when contacting the DHCP server, but my wireless still
works. I'm using the netgear MA311 pci card in my desktop.
The card is not reconized in the hardware manager, this is
a basic fault of the OS2 hardware manager....
check the protocol.ini, and the Lantran.log to see what is happening...
also make sure your adapters and protocol settings are correct and that
the TCP\IP setting are correct...
Best
Date: 06 Dec, 2004 on 16:42
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
7. Re:Belkin NIC Problems!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
The Beklin NIC is F5D5000 which uses ( according to http://www.belkin.com site) the RealTek 8319 chipset. I was able to find updated drivers for this chipset in the at the members download section of http://www.ecomstation.com and update for TCPIP).

I will try checking the protocol.ini file. Thanks for the recommendation/information. It is appreciated. I apologize for not giving more detailed information.

I do not have a wireless card in my desktop. A wireless network is something I plan to acqure in the future (I am not sure if it is distant future or near future).

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Date: 06 Dec, 2004 on 17:20
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
8. Re:Belkin NIC Problems!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
The drivers from http://www.ecomstation.com load succesfully. I tried looking at the protocol.ini and they seem okay yet it does not receive the settings for DHCP. Does anyone have a sample protocol.ini so I can compare what it might/should look like?

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Date: 07 Dec, 2004 on 15:31
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
9. Flow Control?
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I have been told to turn on the cablem modem, switch and computer in an order so it could the new MAC could be recognized. The cable mode and switch do not have an on/off switch. I tried it - sort of - but it did not seem to help.

In the settings - on bootup - it shows the flow control as 'transmit disabled receive enabled'. Would this be the problem? Does it make a difference? I tried changing it with a 'setup' program that came on the cdrom for the NIC but stays the same (it was in a window, next time I will try full screen).

The NIC driver loads okay but still no DHCP settings received. The first time I connected the to the modem, I did not have a switch/hub device. I will try connecting to the cable modem directly to see if this makes a difference.

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Date: 08 Dec, 2004 on 15:41
davidfor
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.os2world.com/djfos2
posts: 145
since: 20 Jan, 2003
10. Re:Belkin NIC Problems!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
What error messages are displayed during the boot? If the driver is installed and configured for DHCP correctly, then it is common to get a message during boot that no DCHP server was found. And it will say it is continuing in the background, and to press enter. This happens because default wait seems to be to short for a reply from a DHCP server. If this is the case, after OS/2 is booted, open the "DHCP Client" (in either Sytem Settings or the TCP/IP folders), and see what is in the message log it displays. This will also tell you if the DHCP client is configured.

Another thing to do is to edit the DHCP configuration file and turn on logging. The file is called "dhcpcd.cfg" and is in the directory that the environment variable ETC points to. In this, find the section for logging, and uncomment all the lines. Change the setting for "logFileName" to something appropriate, and reboot. Then look in the log file and see if there are any errors.

An obvious question is, where is the DHCP server that you are expecting a reply from? From the description of your setup, I can't work out if you have a device that includes a DHCP server, or if you are expecting to get the address from your ISPs server.

Also, when you report the results of the above, be very explicit about them. As Trident commented, your questions tend to lack info. When trying to get help for a problem, it is almost always better to supply to much information, than to little.

---
David

Date: 09 Dec, 2004 on 03:11
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
11. Re:Belkin NIC Problems!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
The NIC drivers load but it stops when trying to get the DHCP settings from the ISP which uses DHCP. I will check the logues to see what they say/indicate. Thanks for the information.

I will try to be more detailed in the questions I ask in the future.

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Date: 10 Dec, 2004 on 00:44
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
12. It Works!; sortof.
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I unplugged the cable modem and hub/switch (they do not have on/off switches). I plugged in the cable modem then the hub/switch then the computer. It was able to get the DHCP settings- at least it did not say that it didn't but it did indicate the cable modem might not be plugged in. I checked the DHCP monitor and it had the settings but I still could not get online. I called my cable company since the cable modem lights were blinking in a weird way (most of the lights would normally be on with the activity light blinking but it now only the power and receive light would be only and only the send would blink). I called the cable company and they said the problem was 'inline' and it would take 24 to 48 hours to fix (I went all weekend without internet access... AHHHH ). I will try again tonight.

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Date: 13 Dec, 2004 on 15:32
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
13. Back Online!
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I am back online. I can browse the internet. I can check my e-mail. I am a happy camper.

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Date: 19 Dec, 2004 on 03:55
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
14. Cable Not Connected?
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
During boot up (about when the NIC driver is loaded), there is a message of 'cable might not be connected'. I can check e-mail and surf the internet and my downloads are very fast. What would cause this message?

Once it is booted up, I get window asking for a file (a certificate from the ISP?). I will check again what it is.

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2 Warp-ed/eComStation-ed to the very end.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Date: 11 Jan, 2005 on 21:43
Belkin NIC Problems!
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
All times are CET+1. < Prev. | P. 1 | Next >
Go to:
 

Powered by UltraBoard 2000 Standard Edition,
Copyright © UltraScripts.com, Inc. 1999-2000.
Home | Gallery | Forums | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com 2000-2004