Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Networking
Two questions: sharing between OS/2 Warp Server and Windows without NetBEUI and changing a printer's name.
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
kilky
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
since: 10 Oct, 2002
1. Two questions: sharing between OS/2 Warp Server and Windows without NetBEUI and changing a printer's name.
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I am completely new to OS/2, and I am having a networking issue. I read in one place that the only way to share files between OS/2 and Windows was to use the NetBEUI protocol. Then I read somewhere else that I should be able to configure it to work without changing any protocols within Windows itself. I am running OS/2 Warp Server Version 4 on my server box, and I would like it to be network compatible with Windows machines that only have the TCP/IP protocol installed (98, 2K, and XP machines). I would also just love full access for everyone to everything on my server. Is there really a way to go about doing this? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Issue #2:
I want the server to share a printer. This new OS was to replace another OS on this machine that had shared the printer, an HP LaserJet III, under the name GM1P, and OS/2 doesn't want to let me share the printer under any name other than HPLaserJ. I will have to manually reconfigure every computer that had previously been set up to print to GM1P if I can't figure this out with someone's help. I've already tried changing some values in LASERJET.DRV with a hex editor. That didn't work. Urrg. If anyone has any ideas, let me know!

Date: 10 Oct, 2002 on 03:25
Kim
Team member
in staff