Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Hardware
author message
Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
1. Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
"In comparison with the throughput rates of other system components, those of modern hard disks still appear small, indeed. Especially in comparison to volatile memories (RAMs), access and transfer seems to take an eternity. ... "

http://www.tomshardware.com/storage/20050907/index.html

Can this be used with OS/2-eCS? Could it be used as a boot drive?


BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2-eCS.org
Director of Communications
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
supporting the past OS/2 user and the future eCS user
http://www.os2ecs.org
Date: 09 Sep, 2005 on 13:59
Pete
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 115
since: 14 Aug, 2003
2. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Hi BigWarpGuy

Don't see why not, a 4Gb drive is large enough for an eCS-OS/2 installation and a handful of apps - as long as your mainboard is upto the required specification, see http://www.tomshardware.com/storage/20050907/gigabyte_iram-04.html#only_5_v_pci
with regard to PCI slot required (power) and SATA controller.

You would also want to consider - presuming you have the correct type of mainboard - do you have the physical space for this card at the required slot position.

Regards

Pete

Date: 09 Sep, 2005 on 16:45
ChrisR
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://members.home.nl/cwroossien/
posts: 125
since: 04 Feb, 2004
3. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
This reminds me of the old days, long long ago....
My first computer, a coco (trs 80 color) wihout a HD and even without a diskdrive in the beginning..
I had to get my programs from a casette tape.
But this computer had a cartridge slot.
So I build several cartridges with a static CMOS RAM and a recharchable battery. It kept the data several years.
Of course at that time they were 8, 16 or 32 kb only, but imagine the whole computer had max 64 kb and was running OS9 and Flex perfect on 64 kb.
I could boot OS9 or flex from a CMOS cartridge...
At that time computing still was easy:-)
Then the HD's came and programs got bigger and bigger and bigger......

Chris...

Date: 09 Sep, 2005 on 19:01
BigWarpGuy
Premium member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://home.comcast.net/~tomleem
posts: 2298
since: 12 Jan, 2001
4. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

Pete (09 Sep, 2005 16:45):
Hi BigWarpGuy

Don't see why not, a 4Gb drive is large enough for an eCS-OS/2 installation and a handful of apps - as long as your mainboard is upto the required specification, see http://www.tomshardware.com/storage/20050907/gigabyte_iram-04.html#only_5_v_pci
with regard to PCI slot required (power) and SATA controller.

You would also want to consider - presuming you have the correct type of mainboard - do you have the physical space for this card at the required slot position.

Regards

Pete



My current board has a empty PCI slot and it supports SATA drives. It would be for a future computer (when I either need another or have to replace the current one). Since there isn't a hard drive to boot from, it would - probably - be alot faster when starting ones eCS pc.

---
BigWarpGuy
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
OS/2-eCS.org
Director of Communications
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
supporting the past OS/2 user and the future eCS user
http://www.os2ecs.org

Date: 09 Sep, 2005 on 19:27
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
5. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

ChrisR (09 Sep, 2005 19:01):
This reminds me of the old days, long long ago....
My first computer, a coco (trs 80 color) wihout a HD and even without a diskdrive in the beginning..
I had to get my programs from a casette tape.
But this computer had a cartridge slot.
So I build several cartridges with a static CMOS RAM and a recharchable battery. It kept the data several years.
Of course at that time they were 8, 16 or 32 kb only, but imagine the whole computer had max 64 kb and was running OS9 and Flex perfect on 64 kb.
I could boot OS9 or flex from a CMOS cartridge...
At that time computing still was easy:-)
Then the HD's came and programs got bigger and bigger and bigger......

Chris...


<grin> Well, agree Chris, the first system I had was the Dragon 32 that had a 6809E processor and similar to the trs80.

Date: 09 Sep, 2005 on 21:30
ChrisR
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://members.home.nl/cwroossien/
posts: 125
since: 04 Feb, 2004
6. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
last updated at 10 Sep, 2005 18:19 (2 times)
It seems they are still alive;

http://members.cox.net/javacoco/

http://www.aep-emu.de/PNphpBB2-file-viewtopic-t-1324.html

<img src="http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/disk/162/images/coco01.gif" border="0">

But this topic is going in a totally different direction... sorry BigWarpGuy

Date: 10 Sep, 2005 on 18:15
calmssea
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 26
since: 12 Jun, 2005
7. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
As to getting back to the topic,
I don't see any reason why eCS/OS/2 won't work on these devices. From device's point of view, it's using the PCI slot just to get power even when the computer is turned off. (Yes, it sucks the 5V standvy current from the MOBO, no data, just power)

But the price tag for those 1G module kinda makes me hesitate..

I read the benchmarks and it's like amazing. It beats most all of those high priced super fast storage systems, with near 0ms seek time and so!
So, i am sure it would be quite nice to have one of those, but at the same time, since I my systems are not that disk intensive, i am pretty sure i can still stay away from one of those..

Date: 11 Sep, 2005 on 17:47
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
8. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Agree if plain SATA interface is used; well then there shouldn't be any problem since SATA is supported by OS2.
Date: 11 Sep, 2005 on 17:50
ChrisR
Premium member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://members.home.nl/cwroossien/
posts: 125
since: 04 Feb, 2004
9. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
As I tried to point out, this 'problem' does exist as long as there are computers.
There is cheap storage media, based on magnetic flux, cassette tape, floppies and hard drives, they don't need power to keep the data, but they are slow and a lot of mechanical parts in in it.
Then there is RAM. fast but expensive and it needs power to keep the data.
A computer needs instructions, always the first ones are in ROM.
The early computers had a whole system, basic interprteter in ROM.
So why not put MS DOS, OS/2 ect in a rom (vram,flash)..
A computer like the coco/dragon and apple's ect, they all have the same perifery, video, sound, I/O.
That makes it easy to put al in rom.
We all have diferent video cards and sound cards, thats a problem and drivers gets updated.
But.. look at a video card, it comes with a 'bios' in rom (vram), and updating a bios, even from the main-board is not that difficult anymore now a days.
So there are many ways to Rome.
If all perifery, like video cards and sound cards would have their drivers in vram.. then a complete system in the mainboard vram, would be great, never anymore driver problems, and there would be one standard for drivers, no matter what system you have in your boot vram (bios).
Anyway, looking at this PCI ram card, its principle is the same as 'my invention' with the coco, many years ago, instead of booting in the basic interpreter I did boot in os9 or flex.
So having this ram card in a PCI slot, putting a sytstem and drivers in it, some apps.
Well, to be realistic, with my coco, I turned it on, came in OS9, then I put in another cartridge (although not advisable, I did change cartidges with the computer on, later with a cartridge expender I switched to another cartridge).
But still, then what, everything you do or type in has to be saved again.
The ideal thing would be that a PC starts up exactly where you left off, well the virtual PC is just doing this, it stores the whole sytem ram image in a file.
Maybe we are not so far away from mainboards that keep all the data in their ram, then this would be great.
Thus buying a PCI card with ram slots and some backup power system I realy wonder how usefull his is and if its not a waste of ram, the ram that could be on the mainboard itself with faster access?
The other thing is, 2 hard drives on SATA. thats realy fast..
One thing we also have to think about, that is that booting a modern system don't only read in data, during boot it also writes a lot of data, most of it only temp.
No matter how many ram you have on board, windows keeps swapping and the more ram, the bigger the swapfiles, so in fact this makes it totally pointless to put a windows sytstem in this ram pci card thing, would be better to put the swap file in this thing.. but then.. yeah indeed, put more RAM on your main board and swap there.. actually, just stop swapping ram but keep it in ram.. but programs get bigger bigger bigger...
Today you start with a PCI card RAM with 1 or 2 GB.. tomorrow you need one with 10 Gb.
The day after tomorrow they come with a new solution and you get these pci RAM cards for 10 cents in a dump shop.
The companies get richer and richer in the mean time.
How many times a day are you booting your computer, although it looks ages, it only takes a few miutes to boot OS/2.
Compared to booting linux.. we are luckey.. then. mostly a linux machine is suppose to boot only once and keep on running for years....

Chris.

Date: 12 Sep, 2005 on 15:55
yankeebean
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 6
since: 11 Apr, 2005
10. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Samsung and other vendors are working on adding flash ram to the PC for much the same reasons above. Apparently the first manifestation will be combo HDs with some MBs of flash added to allow booting the OS from flash, then using the standard drive component to run apps. As the price of flash comes down, the flash portion will become large enough to hold the OS plus a few apps which will then allow the disk to spin down part of the time. Later the "hard drive" could then be GBs of all flash. Neat solution. Probably will see these combo drives offered first in the notebook form factors since notebook buyers are used to paying a premium for size/weight/power reductions.
Date: 12 Sep, 2005 on 21:12
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
11. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Latest said from Samsung is that they will release 32GB flash memories with the primary target for the mp3 player market. Think that Apple is one of the manufactors that has signed a deal with Samsung above flash cards. I mean 32gb would in many cases be more than enoguh to run a workstation on. My primary OS2 boot partition has over the years increased to be now around 1gb and then my application base is usually around 5gb so I usually have 10gb partition for application installations and then the rest of a disk is usually for user files of whatever kind.
Date: 13 Sep, 2005 on 12:02
PB
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 1
since: 06 Nov, 2005
12. Re:Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
As an interesting side line, google "compactflash to ide adapters" and select your favorite supplier and adater format for your applicatio, and a compactflash card.

NOTE:- you need a high speed CF card with 1 gig minimum to load ECS and if possible a "SMALL" ide drive to use for swap, temp, program and data files, cf cards have limited n umber of writes to them, back ups are important.

With out excessive no's of drives and net work you can load to PM in under 30 seconds. Add multiple large drives, jfs helps a bit, and networks etc and the boot takes a lot longer.

I like to show people a large box with no hard drives booted to an OS that is different (and performs very well when compared to that other os) and do some productive work

---
PB

Date: 06 Nov, 2005 on 18:20
Can Gigabyte's i-RAM Replace Existing Hard Drives? (be used with OS/2-eCS?)
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
All times are CET+1. < Prev. | P. 1 | Next >
Go to:
 

Powered by UltraBoard 2000 Standard Edition,
Copyright © UltraScripts.com, Inc. 1999-2000.
Home | Gallery | Forums | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com 2000-2004