Home | Gallery | Forum | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com Forum
OS2 World.Com Online Discussion Forum.
Index / OS/2 - General / Hardware
author message
ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
1. ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Wondering, but how is there anyone that uses the BP6 board together with OS2? Well, I guess there are, but would like find BP6 users if possible!

//Kim

Date: 22 Mar, 2001 on 02:08
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
2. Re:ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Well, just as well answering my own question even if it was a while ago since I posted it But using the ABit BP6 board has been a success together with WSFeB and as well using the ACP1/2. So I would clearly recommend people that thinking about a new board to get a dual board. Problem is, now when I post this, there isn't really any new cool dual boards available. Only Pentium III boards and some old AMD boards are available. But guess that it just a matter of time before we will see some new cool boards.

/Kim

Date: 04 Aug, 2002 on 02:08
Brennor
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 9
since: 30 Sep, 2002
3. Re:ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

Kim (Aug 04, 2002 02:0:
Problem is, now when I post this, there isn't really any new cool dual boards available. Only Pentium III boards and some old AMD boards are available.

Have you seen the new IWill MPX2 and EPoX M762A (both MPX) boards? I'd say that they are quite a bit better than most of the other dual AMD boards out there...
Wish I had the $$$ to buy one of them though!


Check out the pictures of my baby girl!
http://brennor.dyndns.org/Daphne
Date: 03 Oct, 2002 on 15:40
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
4. Re:ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
I looked around for dual boards and as you say there is much more today available. But, still I think there could be more actually. But, I'm currently shifted to a single cpu board since it seems that there is some wps issues with os2 and smp kernal. As long I keep the system simple and clean, ie running as server it works fine. Starting to add features to the wps such as XWorkplace problem starts. Reading within the WXP Yahoo group it seems that I'm not the only one.

/Kim

Date: 03 Oct, 2002 on 15:53
Brennor
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 9
since: 30 Sep, 2002
5. Re:ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message

Kim (Oct 03, 2002 17:53):
But, still I think there could be more actually.

Yeah, I agree with that. Over the past couple of months 3 or 4 new ones have appeared.


But, I'm currently shifted to a single cpu board since it seems that there is some wps issues with os2 and smp kernal.

Really? I haven't heard anything about these issues. Could be important since I want to switch to a dual CPU setup soonish (been waiting for a dualie for a long time). Gotta go piece by piece though (see below for reasons!), so haven't gotten to the board or CPUs yet.


Check out the pictures of my baby girl!
http://brennor.dyndns.org/Daphne
Date: 03 Oct, 2002 on 16:16
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
6. Re:ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Well, worth saying is that I don't think that the problem is universal for all dual boards. Rather that there can be some bios issues to think about. For example when bought the ABit Bp6 it was delivered with the first release of the Bios. Couple of month later I choose to upgrade the bios and WSFeB was suddenly running dog slow for some reason. Something got changed in the bios that got the system to crawl as well installations since I tried as well to re-install the system. When the ACP1 came I tried again to update the bios on the board with same result. Funny enought then when the ACP2 came I tried same process again, ie upgrade the bios then to the latest version (same version I tried with ACP1) and suddenly it worked out. Some in the case with the Abit BP6 I think that there was some flaw in the bios or OS2 for that matter. But, never manage to figure out what. Got tired of it and got myself a single CPU board.

But, the advice would still to be that you have the chance to test the board you get or at least have some other OS2 users to verify that it works out as it should.

/Kim

Date: 03 Oct, 2002 on 16:45
Brennor
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 9
since: 30 Sep, 2002
7. Re:ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Ahh, interesting. Didn't realize that there were that many issues with running OS/2 on a duallie board. First time I've heard of some of them.

BIOSes can always screw things up. Experienced some of those types of issues previously, with an old '94 - '95 time frame mobo. Haven't had any BIOS problems with any of the updates I've done to my Tyan S1590S ('98 - '99 time frame).

Thanks,
Rick


Check out the pictures of my baby girl!
http://brennor.dyndns.org/Daphne
Date: 03 Oct, 2002 on 17:13
splonk
Normal member
in user

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this member
posts: 2
since: 04 Oct, 2002
8. Re:ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
Another user with Abit BP6 and WSeB on board. This is my second board, the first died suddenly after about a year's use. Getting a second hand board on ebay with a couple of celeron 333s which overclock nicely to 550MHz is still probably the cheapest way to try out SMP.
The downside with this board: Abit is more of an tweaker's manufacturer than anything else. Everything is geared towards pushing up performance at the cost of everything else. Stability does not come into it
Additionally for anyone thinking of getting one, this was one of the first boards to feature additional IDE controllers (from Highpoint) giving up to eight IDE connections. Needless to say the Highpoint controller is EXTREMELY buggy and should not be used in a production system. I have converted mine to an all SCSI unit.

I also have an ECS Gemini 2 SMP board (appropriately enough) which set me back approximately $90 brand new. It is basically a PC Chips board which should set alarm bells ringing, but has been stable up to now. I am dual booting WSeB ACP2 with .Net Server RC1 on this with no problems.

Date: 04 Oct, 2002 on 10:22
Kim
Team member
in staff

View this member's profileSearch all posts from this memberSend an email to this memberhttp://www.haverblad.se
posts: 2128
since: 10 Dec, 2000
9. Re:ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Reply to this topic with quote Modify your message
True the are some issues with the board and for once I changed from ABit to Asus for my current board. But, regarding bios issues have you checked http://www.bp6.com for updated bioses? There you'll find the latest RU bios version updated with the latest Highpoint bios with support for >80Gb disks and as well if you're running with SCSI only there is also RU bios without the Highpoint bios. As mentioned I also ran my system as a pure SCSI based system. But not so much of the buggy Highpoint bios more that I've always liked SCSI system more.But, I have to say my current system I've actually slammed in 2 IBM 80Gb IDE disk since the price was so nice. But, still running the CD-ROM and CDR-unit on SCSI board (Adaptec 2940UW).

/Kim

Date: 04 Oct, 2002 on 10:31
ABit BP6 and WSFeB/ACP
Post a new topic Reply to this Topic Printable Version of this Topic Forward this Topic to your Friend Topic Commands (for administrator or moderators only)
All times are CET+1. < Prev. | P. 1 | Next >
Go to:
 

Powered by UltraBoard 2000 Standard Edition,
Copyright © UltraScripts.com, Inc. 1999-2000.
Home | Gallery | Forums | Services | Webmail | Archive | Links | Contact Us | About Us
OS2 World.Com 2000-2004