Author Topic: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments  (Read 4358 times)

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2016, 07:31:42 pm »
Another problem, I can not copy with drag & drop an icon from one object to another.
saludos

Vadim Priluzkiy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • osFree -- L4 microkernel based, open source OS/2 clone
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2016, 02:44:29 am »
Another problem, I can not copy with drag & drop an icon from one object to another.
saludos
Strange. It works on my system.
For instant messaging use Jabber JID: oxyd@jabber.ru

Rich Walsh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #17 on: December 02, 2016, 05:56:58 am »
I can not copy with drag & drop an icon from one object to another.

I think I would be the first person to notice if drag & drop didn't work :)  Still, I did a lot of testing after I read this and could not find any problem. When something so basic like this stops working, it may be time to reboot.

Defining folder in view 1/4 favotite folder, provides a link menu to that folder that fails

The problem is that the favorite-folder, if I select it from the right mouse, displays the contents of the folder, and if it is a program opens it, and if it is another folder shows its contents.
The program would not have to execute anything.

Skip much where it is selected, the menu, according to the corner of the screen, and the contents of the folder.

I have spent several days trying to understand your posting - and I still have no idea what is wrong. I even uninstalled XWP-Lite and installed the full version so I could do some testing. Everything worked exactly as I expected.

Are you trying to say that a right-click on the _name_ of the favorite folder doesn't open it? Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think it is supposed to do that - it is only supposed to show you a menu with the contents of that folder.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #18 on: December 02, 2016, 04:51:52 pm »
I think I would be the first person to notice if drag & drop didn't work :)  Still, I did a lot of testing after I read this and could not find any problem. When something so basic like this stops working, it may be time to reboot.
I firts open firefox.exe -properties-icon-
Second open firefox.cmd - properties-icon-
and drag & drop the firts icon over the second icon (I can not made this)

After your comments, I see that I can made drag&drop from the firefox.exe file icon, without open properties, and drop in icon second firefox.cmd without problems.
Saludos



roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2016, 05:48:54 pm »
Quote
I have spent several days trying to understand your posting - and I still have no idea what is wrong.
Sorry, I will try to explain it again
Quote
Are you trying to say that a right-click on the _name_ of the favorite folder doesn't open it?
No, open and make a new click (which I have not clicked)

New explain:
I have the standard Desktop, without any folder or program, all the programs and folders are in NEWDESKTOP folder, inside the desktop.
If I set the desktop folder as my favorite, and the newdesktop folder as my favorite too.
When I frame with the left mouse over the desktop arrow, it shows me -> newdesktop (is ok here), but if I click again over newdesktop ->Three possible things happen, a, b, c
(The correct thing would be to display the content,for a new selection)
a-It shows me the content and the focus is placed on the first ACPI folder, in this case.

b-If when displaying the menu, the mouse is on a folder, it is displayed with its contents. (This is not correct, )
c-If when displaying the menu, the mouse is on a program, it start the program without show the menu of options. (This is not correct)

The three cases are the same problem, when I only do 1 click, the program is as if it interpreted 2 clicks. Or something similar.

Saludos

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2016, 11:42:59 pm »
Maybe you are referring to the 'Create another' menu, but I don't understand anything.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 632
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2016, 12:08:02 am »
It would help if you gave some screen shots of what you are talking about because I don't understand either.

Yes, the desktop is a folder so where are you hiding this 'newdesktop'?

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2016, 01:12:29 am »
I attach photo.
The green ligth is a folder with tittle NewDesktop, and is mark as favorite folder.
In this case the mouse pointer is over freeMind 08 folder and display the folder files, but this have to be in another click.
The problem is, if I select (rigth mouse click)in another folder (watcom) in other point in the window, and the mouse pointer is over a program Backup-os2ini this program start, and no show me menu. Or show it for a micro second, and open the program that i do not want to open.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2016, 01:26:33 am »
In this other c.jpg photo. I push rigth mouse one click over pmview folder, open the menu, click in point of mouse pointer, and open the program othello.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #24 on: December 03, 2016, 01:37:35 am »
If you see the photo b.jpg the program othello in the menu is in the point of the program lbreakout2.exe and the mouse pointer is over lbreakout2.exe

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2016, 04:51:14 am »
In the photo a.jpg. You see the mouse pointer outside the menu, and in this case the focus of the program is in the ACPI folder .. and it is correct.

In the resumen.jpg photo, I put the position of the mouse pointer in the three points A, B, C
If the mouse pointer in B opens another folder that I have not clicked, it is because the program xwps, is entering a click, or an intro, or enter.
In position C, if the xwps, click another click, as it is logical I open the menu that I do not see open, and othello.exe is started.
In position A, nothing happens and everything is fine, because there is no folder or program on which to act, although the xwps, click another intro

The three cases are different, but in my opinion the problem is the same.One click.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2016, 09:30:18 pm »
The solution to this problem is very simple, it is about pressing the mouse and holding it down, and do not release it until you select an option. Then the active opening is the release of the mouse.
It makes me weird that someone has decided to do it this way.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 632
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #27 on: December 04, 2016, 01:12:12 am »
It sounds as if there is something very strange going on with your mouse rather than xWorkplace.  We don't see what you are seeing on any of our 25 machines.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #28 on: December 04, 2016, 10:47:42 am »
No, I do not have any problems with the mouse.
I commented that the problem was two clicks, and indeed it was that. One click when clicking and another click when releasing the mouse.

If you want to repeat the problem in your 25 machines is very easy to see, if you have installed ecenter.
Enlarge the graphics of the processors, in order to move to the right of the screen the SYSTEM SETUP, one click in system setup, and one click in fonts.
And now you repeat it by holding down the second click in fonts.
It's clearly not the same.
In one case you select the font you want to open, and in the other one opens a font to draw.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2016, 10:51:39 am by roberto »

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 632
    • View Profile
Re: XWP (xWorkplace) v1.0.11 beta3 Comments
« Reply #29 on: December 04, 2016, 11:41:30 am »
Sorry but uou do have a hardware problem with your mouse.  A mouse is not designed to register a click on both button down and button up (OK, there are a few very specialist ones that are hardware settable to change from one to the other).

Try another mouse as a test, or if this is a touch pad try a USB mouse.

I assume ecentre is the eCS equivalent of WarpCentre which we use (WSeB in use here).  Doing what you describe I get what I expect to get when clicking on 'Fonts', a list of the fonts (that is what the arrow at the right edge of the dropdown indicates.  If it had been an arrow in a box I would expect clicking on the name would start the first program or clicking on the arrow in the box would allow the selection of another item in the resulting dropdown.