Author Topic: COM.SYS and VCOM.SYS  (Read 264 times)

Paul Richards

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
COM.SYS and VCOM.SYS
« on: May 31, 2017, 03:52:40 am »
Just wondering why these lines are REMmed out in CONFIG.SYS. Booting gives a message that they were not loaded (obviously) so why?

Paul



Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 87
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
Re: COM.SYS and VCOM.SYS
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2017, 04:34:35 am »
Are you talking about Arcaos? Should be pscom.sys rather then com.sys as com.sys isn't SMP safe. Did you load usbcom.sys? If so there is a bug where usbcom.sys is loaded first and claims the com port. Fix is to move usbcom.sys to after the other com port using drivers

Paul Richards

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: COM.SYS and VCOM.SYS
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2017, 08:28:19 am »
Dave

Yes, sorry, Im talking about ArcaOS. When booting he initial screen shows 2 processors activated, so SMP.

So I'll change COM.SYS to PSCOM.SYS.

I can't see an entry for USBCOM.SYS. There are entries for USBPRT.SYS and USBD.SYS. Don't know if these are relevant.

Paul

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 87
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
Re: COM.SYS and VCOM.SYS
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2017, 05:03:47 pm »
They should load assuming you have a standard com port. Not sure about a non-standard port such as a PCI add-on card.