Author Topic: Running a CMD from the Startup folder in ArcaOS  (Read 4528 times)

Greg Pringle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Running a CMD from the Startup folder in ArcaOS
« on: May 31, 2017, 05:49:35 am »
A new problem has arisen since I installed ArcaOS

I used to start programs from the Starup folder using a CMD file with the following contents.

/* sleep30.cmd */
LOG = "c:\boot.log"
main:
   rc = RxFuncAdd( "SysSleep","RexxUtil","SysSleep" )
   t = "Boot:"  DATE("E") TIME("L")
   rc = lineout( LOG, t )
   rc = lineout( LOG)
   call SysSleep 15
   "start /MIN c:\bin\start1.cmd"
exit

The start1.cmd would then simply run some more "start /MIN batch.cmd" type of commands.
This allowed delayed starting of programs based on the SysSleep time

Since using ArcaOS there is a problem with doing this.
If I start a CMD with a java program then I cannot start the web browser afterwards.
If I start the same CMD by hand after the system is booted then I can start the web browser.
Thunderbird will start but Firefox will not. I tried Firefox 12 and 38 with not difference.
I tried java 1.6 and 1.3 with no difference.
I tried LIBPATHSTRICT=T in the CMD calling java without success.
The java starts but then Firefox will not start until the java is killed and manually restarted.

Any thoughts?

Here is an example of start1.cmd started from the above.
START /MIN D:\efwslim\java\efwslim.cmd
exit

Here is the efwslim.cmd
@REM ===
SET CLASSPATH=
SET JAVA_HOME=C:\JAVA131\JRE
SET SWING_HOME=C:\JAVA131\JRE
SET PATH=c:\JAVA131\JRE\BIN;c:\JAVA131\BIN;%PATH%
SET LIBPATHSTRICT=T
SET BEGINLIBPATH=c:\JAVA131\JRE\BIN;c:\JAVA131\JRE\DLL
SET LIBC_HOOK_DLLS=C:\JAVA131\LIB;%LIBC_HOOK_DLLS%
SET INCLUDE=C:\JAVA131\INCLUDE;
SET LIB=C:\JAVA131\LIB;
@REM ===

d:
cd \efwslim\java
java -cp seim_srv.jar eforward.server.EdiRecv -v -t2188 -l\efwslim\logs\efwslim.log -q\efwslim\queue\ -pefwslimcl.properties -rstop.efwslim
SET LIBPATHSTRICT=F


« Last Edit: May 31, 2017, 05:53:32 am by Greg Pringle »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Running a CMD from the Startup folder in ArcaOS
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2017, 06:58:39 am »
What happens if you run your script as startup.cmd?

Greg Pringle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Running a CMD from the Startup folder in ArcaOS
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2017, 08:30:09 pm »
I created a startup.cmd in the root directory and called the script from there.
The script that runs java starts and runs but the web browser will not work after that.
To get the web browser to work I have to kill the java then if i run the startup.cmd
from a command prompt everything works.

Could it be that some DLL is being started during the java boot which then sticks
with the system environment which causes the web program to fail.

Why would this not happen when run by hand?

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • Karma: +3/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Running a CMD from the Startup folder in ArcaOS
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2017, 09:01:31 pm »
To me it happens with the firefox 45, that if I open it before thunderbird 45, the thunderbird does not open. But backwards without problem, but I understand that this will already be watching. In addition, thunderbird generates a very detailed file of the problem. 0042_01.TRP
saludos

Greg Pringle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Running a CMD from the Startup folder in ArcaOS
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2017, 01:55:42 pm »
I found the problem with the installation.

I run 3 versions of Java as needed. Java1.1 (JAVA11), Java 1.3 (JAVA131) and Java 1.6 (JAVA16)
When I installed Java 1.3 it added some lines to the CONFIG.SYS that interfered with Firefox and Thunderbird
After removing all referenced to Java 1.3 and replacing them with Java 1.6 the system has not had problems.
The referenced to Java 1.1 in CONFIG.SYS do not seem to cause a problem.

Here is what is used now:

SET CLASSPATH=C:\TCPIP\java
SET SWING_HOME=D:\java16\jre
SET JAVA_HIGH_MEMORY=1
SET INCLUDE=D:\JAVA16\INCLUDE;C:\JAVA11\INCLUDE;C:\JAVA11\INCLUDE\OS2;
SET LIB=D:\JAVA16\LIB;C:\JAVA11\LIB;

LIBPATH addition
                  D:\java16\jre\bin;D:\java16\jre\dll;C:\JAVA11\DLL
PATH addition
                  D:\java16\bin;C:\JAVA11\BIN;
LIBC_HOOK_DLLS addition
                 D:\java16\LIB;C:\JAVA11\LIB;