Author Topic: ThinkPad X220  (Read 1163 times)

John Poltorak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
ThinkPad X220
« on: June 21, 2017, 06:27:15 am »
Does anyone have OS/2 running on a ThinkPad x220?



Eric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2017, 09:24:54 am »
I think I'm close, but not sure it will help you.  ArcaOS on X230.  If it helps you and you have any Qs, let me know.

Thanks.

John Poltorak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2017, 07:03:27 pm »
I think I'm close, but not sure it will help you.  ArcaOS on X230.  If it helps you and you have any Qs, let me know.

Thanks.

When  you say you are close, what does that actually mean? Does it boot? ie can you get to cmd prompt and have networking working?

Eric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2017, 11:29:59 pm »
I meant I am guessing the X220 and X230 have similar hardware, but am not sure. ArcaOS is installed and running fine. No wireless networking (Intel 6250N, IIRC). I haven't tested audio, but will soon. Wired networking works. Panorama driver for proper resolution (1366x768).

Eugene Gorbunoff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2017, 12:02:28 am »
No.. if you move harddrive with Windows 7 from X220 to X230 - Windows will not start.
So, the internals are very different.

John Poltorak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2017, 12:25:19 pm »
What about moving a hard drive with OS/2 installed?

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2017, 03:55:29 pm »
Hi John

That may be a problem if there is also a Windows boot partition on the same disk - but only for Windows. Usually there is no problem installing OS/2 to a hard drive in a pc then swapping that hard drive to another pc.


Regards

Pete

John Poltorak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2017, 02:41:51 pm »
Hi John

That may be a problem if there is also a Windows boot partition on the same disk - but only for Windows. Usually there is no problem installing OS/2 to a hard drive in a pc then swapping that hard drive to another pc.


Regards

Pete

I have OS/2 installed on a hard disk which works in a ThinkPad X61, but crashes whilst booting in an X220. I'd be interested in knowing what I need to change to get it working in the X220.

André Heldoorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 37
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2017, 06:06:58 pm »
works in a ThinkPad X61, but crashes whilst booting in an X220. I'd be interested in knowing what I need to change to get it working in the X220.

The crashing components? Perhaps it's more accurate to state that you can prepare a X220 install with a X61. I.e. install and boot a X61, replace the components, shutdown, insert the disk in a X220, boot the X220, and OS/2 won't complain that you've swapped a disk or other hardware components.

A while ago an old and rather cheap IBM ThinkPad T23 was a good choice for Warp 4 or eCS 1.x (1 GHz CPU, 1 GiB RAM, built-in'able WLAN, working sound, PCMCIA and USB). Is there such a "classic" Lenovo ThinkPad model which would be recommended for AN? Extras like fingerprint readers and removable screens aren't a requirement at all. I'm not going to buy AN, but I don't want to miss an opportunity to obtain such a beast when I see an attractive offer.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2017, 07:30:08 pm »
Hi John

Probably have to look at the differences in hardware... eg Do both systems use ACPI? and What disk access mode is used by both systems? also What video driver is involved?

Might also help if we have a clue as to when boot crashes. Can you create an empty ALTF2ON. $$$ file in the root partition of the boot drive - should list drivers loading.


Regards

Pete



John Poltorak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2017, 08:45:44 pm »
When booting on the X220 all the drivers get loaded and then this is displayed:

Quote
Processors Initialised: 4
ACPI based Platform Specific Driver v 3.23.01

         Daniela's Bus Master IDE Driver for OS/2 Version 1.8.15
OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk or diskette drive

I don't know if this is relevant but the X220 has a mSata disk installed in addition to the hard disk I'm trying to boot OS/2 from.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2017, 03:48:01 am »
Hi John

ACPI v3.23.01? - Not an ArcaOS install then.

Has the drive letter changed as a result of adding the drive into a system with another drive - the mSATA drive? Could be worth using the dfsee bootable CD to check drive letter assignment and adjust as necessary.

Is the X220 BIOS set to use AHCI or IDE disk access mode? - Using the Dani Driver suggests you have installed in IDE mode but the BIOS may be set to AHCI.


Regards

Pete

John Poltorak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: ThinkPad X220
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2017, 11:17:51 am »
Hi John

ACPI v3.23.01? - Not an ArcaOS install then.

Has the drive letter changed as a result of adding the drive into a system with another drive - the mSATA drive? Could be worth using the dfsee bootable CD to check drive letter assignment and adjust as necessary.

Is the X220 BIOS set to use AHCI or IDE disk access mode? - Using the Dani Driver suggests you have installed in IDE mode but the BIOS may be set to AHCI.


Regards

Pete

It's not ArcaOS, but it's an AN ACPI driver which I bought a year ago.

The BIOS was set to AHCI so I set it to Compatibility and tried again with my OS/2 disk. This time the boot process hung as it was loading DANIS506.ADD. Under Compatibility, Windows, which is installed on the mSata disk crashed immediately...

Can OS/2 run using AHCI?

Should I replace DANIS506.ADD with IBM1S506.ADD? I'm using a 320GB disk.