Author Topic: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?  (Read 17436 times)

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #15 on: February 14, 2014, 02:19:05 am »
I guess I will have to wait till version 2.2 comes out to try it. If the 2.2 demo cd works, 2.2 should - in theory - be able to install.
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #16 on: February 14, 2014, 05:26:52 pm »
Hi Tom

Does purchasing 2.1 also give you access to the eCS Subscription Software?

If "Yes" have you tried the eCS2.2 beta 2? - not the demo cd.

If that has problems try adding the /VW switch to the ACPI settings in the Pre-Boot Menu - Modern Hardware, ACPI mode. This is necessary with my Acer Travelmate 5230 laptop otherwise the system does not recognise when a USB device is attached.


Regards
Pete

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2014, 02:24:11 am »
I renewed my software subscription. I will check out the file you mention.

I will also give the setting that you mentioned.

Thank you for the information.  8)
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #18 on: February 18, 2014, 02:59:38 am »
I tried the beta files section after logging into the eComStation site but I did not find the eCS 2.2 beta. I will keep looking.

Is there another site that has the eCS 2.2 beta?
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

guzzi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #19 on: February 18, 2014, 03:48:51 am »
The eCS beta is on the Mensys page. The site seems to have problems at the moment, can't even find the login button and most links are dead. They might be in the process of moving the eCS stuff to xeu.com, or maybe they are just having some server problems.

The normal procedure is to go to mensys.nl, log in, choose software subscription, my downloads (or the other way around, don't remember exactly.

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2014, 02:32:34 am »
I will check it out. Thanks for the information.  8)
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2014, 12:26:03 am »
 I found it and downloaded it. I will be making the installation DVD with it soon.  8)
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #22 on: March 16, 2014, 02:22:51 am »
I had created the DVD installation to install the 2.2 beta. I tried to install it. At first it seemed  to work but said it needed to correct the LVM (IIRC) which it did. It indicated it needed to be rebooted. This is when the problem started. I went to change the setting so it would install from the USB optical drive. I changed it but it froze after I did. It would go no farther.  :( I guess this is why it is beta?  ;)

I was still able to boot to the original operating system. I am using it to post this.
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Boris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 310
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #23 on: March 16, 2014, 05:37:43 pm »
... I went to change the setting so it would install from the USB optical drive. ...
What exactly have you changed? Try again without any changes from default, because it seemed to work the first time, just needed to be rebooted.
LIABILITY DISCLAIMER: this is how I understand and what I know, I may be highly inaccurate, or even completely wrong! There are no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of my posts. Think on your own!

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #24 on: March 17, 2014, 01:31:51 am »
I had changed the setting so it would boot from / install from the USB optical. It worked before with this setting but not after the repairing.  8) I will try again, once with the default settings and once with the 'install from USB' setting.
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #25 on: March 21, 2014, 08:10:11 pm »
'disc 1 reports a corrupt partition table' - I keep getting this message when I try to make a section bootable.  :'( The computer dates back to 2011.

I have gotten where it takes the code for installing eCS 2.2 beta; I used the code for eCS 2.1 and it took it. It gets to setting up the hard drive to install it. It has three listings.
size (MB) / file system /  type / notes
13,312 / (type 27) / primary
100 /  / primary / startable
225,059 / / none / free space
 8)


I tried to make the free space bootable but there is a message of 'LVM error (8)' plus 'operation not allowed'.  :'(
I had changed it so it would install from the DVD. I have gotten farther than before.  ;D
 
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #26 on: March 24, 2014, 09:13:04 pm »
Is there is a 2.2 beta registration code? I tried the one for 2.1 and it seemed to work but I try it now but it does not work.  :'(  I will try again to see if it will work.
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #27 on: March 25, 2014, 12:23:47 am »
It works.

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #28 on: March 25, 2014, 01:22:39 am »
I keep getting a drive partition problem. I try to partition the drive but the problems keeps it from happening.  :'( I will give a little more detail when I try it again.
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
Re: eCS on an Acer Aspire One?
« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2014, 09:10:39 pm »
I get to the point where one enters the registration code. Even when I corrected errors, it still won't take it. It took it when I first tried installing eCS beta 2.2 onto it but not since. I am not sure what I am doing incorrect.  :-[ I will keep trying.  8) The eCS 2.2 demo ran very fast on my little computer.  ;D

I tried putting the registeration key on a a cd and a flash drive. It does not see it on either. The flash has the format of win32. Does this make a difference?

I sent an e-mail about it to eComStation. I am waiting for a reply.

The computers is about three years old. Could this be the reason? Could the drive be malfunctioning?
« Last Edit: March 28, 2014, 09:12:35 pm by Tom Lee Mullins »
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *