Author Topic: ecs on actual desktop PC  (Read 5738 times)

Andy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
ecs on actual desktop PC
« on: May 22, 2014, 08:09:42 pm »
Somehow, the new os2world-maschine hates me. First, my old user login is vanished, then almost all "register" links goes nowhere and finally, no reister-mail was created. Maybe in a former life I was Marvin, the robot.


Hi out there,

In the last time, there are no success-stories about an installation of ecs on modern _desktop_ hardware. It looks like ecs doesn't run on this hardware anymore, but this is wrong.
Last week I took an Haswell-CPU (actual generation of socket 1150) together with an typical uefi-miniATX-board, 4GB of DDR3-RAM and start up ecs 2.2 beta 2.
It works! Even the installer works with more than 512MB. And everything works out-of-the-box.

To be precise:
-CPU: intel i3-4xxx Haswell-CPU
-RAM: one 4GB-DDR3 module
-Mainboard:  biostar H81MHP
 it uses the actual intel chipset H81
 supported by actual intel 1150-socket CPUs

ALC892 sound (HDA compatible), real parallel and one real serial COM-port (on onboard-pinheader, but useable), old fashioned PCI-Slots and two PS/2-Ports for older accessories.
The USB3-Ports are not supported but USB2 works even on the ecs-beta-DVD for mouse, keyboard and memorystick (reading ecs.key).
The SATA3-Ports are used in SATA2-mode so you have 4 SATA-Ports.
Unfortunately no IDE port and most sata-to-ide-adapter doenst work with DVD-ROM drives.
It offers RTL 8111 gigabit network, but I wasn't able to get a connection by this chip. So I put a cheap $10 RTL 8169-Card into the board and got network running.

I believe this could be said about other actual boards, but no one mention it. Thinking back to my expierence about former ecs-versions and any combination of uefi-boards, this is a very good sign.

This board is sold in EU, but at Newegg, there is a similar build board: Biostar H81MHP2 (lacks DVI and one PCI-slot, but offers LPT and COM-port at the outside), but there seems to be one one sells this down under (NZ+AU). For those who stick more with Asus or Gigabyte: similar build boards are out there too!

Greetings
Andy



Boris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 310
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 08:15:38 pm »
It has nothing to do with UEFI because it works in BIOS mode.
LIABILITY DISCLAIMER: this is how I understand and what I know, I may be highly inaccurate, or even completely wrong! There are no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of my posts. Think on your own!

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 657
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2014, 11:07:51 pm »
Over on the comp.os.os2.misc newsgroup Lars Erdmann outlines his installing of eCS on an Asrock MB with 6 core AMD processor.

Andy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2014, 11:24:37 pm »
Ivan: A 6-core AMD is in the most cases one of the K10-series CPUs from 2010 prior to the Fusion systems. This is the same CPU im working with now until I swap in the next weeks.
Boris: Uefi was the least of my concerns.

In the last three years (since intel SandyBridge and AMD Fusion CPUs got marketed) i tried many board/CPU-combinations (about 30-40 different). No, not special thinkpad-in-a-box (called "laptop") or exotic CPU-to-Board-glued hardware, but real classic hardware for desktop and tower machines avalible from mail-order-houses.
Ecs trapped always on install. With a already eCS-installed harddisk, the system freezes within 5 minutes in the most cases (tried every trick in the book, execpt to go back to pre-2010 "ancient" hardware*). Even the demo disks doesn't run smooth.
The most reason why this experiment runs succsessfull is the ecs-22-beta2. Well done, mensys!
For a newbie with no experience to install ecs from scratch on a system which run a actual Windows or Linux in the first place was sentenced to fail in the past.
With this version we have the chance to guide new users to eCS.
And long-term users can copy this success with their own taste of hardware.

*this is no disgrace of such hardware. I'm using this today. But you can't go to newegg or amazon and buy such thing. Even on ebay they are sold as outdated. If your hardware got broken, you have to face this.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 254
  • -Receive: 49
  • Posts: 1707
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2014, 11:26:47 pm »
Somehow, the new os2world-maschine hates me. First, my old user login is vanished, then almost all "register" links goes nowhere and finally, no reister-mail was created. Maybe in a former life I was Marvin, the robot.

Hi Andy,  on 2012 system crash we decided to create a new instance of everything making all users register again at OS2World, thats why the old user login vanished.
Which was your other user? was it Andy P? I see it as it fail to complete the registration, I can delete it so we don't have a duplicated account and only leave with your current one.
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 657
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2014, 01:38:41 am »
For those interested here is the post from Lars and I'm sorry it is an 8 core processor.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Fri, 16 May 2014 19:57:11 +0200
From: Lars Erdmann <lars.erdmann@arcor.de>
Newsgroups: comp.os.os2.misc
Subject: Re: UEFI board and OS/2 - solved

Thanks to all who responded.

I now got it to work correctly. For the record, I have a AsRock Extreme4
MOBO which means it has an 8-core AMD CPU and an AMD SATA controller.

1) in order to properly boot the eCS 2.2 DVD I HAD to set SATA mode to
"IDE compatiblity" and ONLY enable DANIS506.ADD in the preinstallation
selection menu.
In short I had to disable OS2AHCI.ADD in the preinstallation selection
menu. That allowed me to finally see my harddrives during the
installation phase and therefore to install to them.

Trying to boot the eCS 2.2 DVD with "AHCI" enabled is plain impossible.


2) After installation I could leave "IDE compatiblity" mode enabled
during normal operation and use DANIS506.ADD and DANIATAP.FLT. However I
decided to use AHCI for the improved performance.


3) I therefore remmed DANIS506.ADD and DANIATAP.FLT in config.sys and
added OS2AHCI.ADD instead. However I HAD TO specify the /!r switch to
prevent the driver from resetting the SATA ports.


Now everything is fine. Note: even my 8 CPU cores work just fine.
I'll now try and enable NCQ.

Lars
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Posted here to help others trying to get things to work and not having access to the news group.


Sigurd Fastenrath

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2014, 12:53:23 pm »
For those interested here is the post from Lars and I'm sorry it is an 8 core processor.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Fri, 16 May 2014 19:57:11 +0200
From: Lars Erdmann <lars.erdmann@arcor.de>
Newsgroups: comp.os.os2.misc
Subject: Re: UEFI board and OS/2 - solved

Thanks to all who responded.

I now got it to work correctly. For the record, I have a AsRock Extreme4
MOBO which means it has an 8-core AMD CPU and an AMD SATA controller.


I guess this is following my Experiment called "Maximum Warp PC" I made earlier this year (the same hardware),

Video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFjwpddlARY

Info:

Please use Online Translator:  http://os2forum.teamos2hamburg.de/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11
« Last Edit: May 23, 2014, 12:55:06 pm by Sigurd Fastenrath »

Lars

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2014, 11:29:46 am »
In the meantime I have found out this:

1) I had "AHCI BIOS" enabled in UEFI BIOS. What it does is to enable some AHCI BIOS that shows which hard disks/CD-ROMs are connected to the AHCI ports and if SMART is enabled for them, and obviously some other stuff. Once I disabled that I was able to boot the eCS 2.2 beta DVD even in AHCI mode.
Note: disabling "AHCI BIOS" did NOT mean to disable AHCI ! There was another UEFI BIOS configuration option to select among IDE compatibility/RAID/AHCI. THIS is the option that selects if you use AHCI (or IDE compatibility mode instead).

2) eCS 2.2 beta uses the 14.106 kernel. It looks like this kernel fixes a couple of things compared to the 14.105 kernel that came with eCS 2.1. I'd say it's the best kernel (and also the last kernel ever distributed). I am using all 8 cores and that works fine too.

3) On this MOBO, ACPI is a necessity. If I don't use ACPI.PSD on this MOBO, the kernel will trap right away already on system start.
The eCS 2.1 install CD does not enforce the use of ACPI.PSD and even if it did, the version of ACPI.PSD that was delivered with eCS 2.1 was still heavily broken. eCS 2.2 on the other hand selects ACPI.PSD as a default and it's also the 3.22.03 version which is the latest at present date. It works considerably better than early versions of ACPI.PSD.

4) if you have AHCI enabled you can and should set up the installation process to ONLY use the OS2AHCI.ADD driver. That is you neither need DANIS506.ADD nor DANIATAPI.FLT nor the IBM pendants and you can deselect these drivers already in the custom installation menu. However you might need to specify the /!r parameter on the OS2AHCI.ADD command line. This will prevent the AHCI ports from being reset. Resetting the AHCI ports results in a boot hang on my system.

In the meantime I have enabled "native command queueing" (NCQ) by specifying the /f /n parameters for OS2AHCI.ADD. Works like a charm. I am using OS2AHCI.ADD version 1.32 which is the latest one at current date. I seem to remember that eCS 2.2 beta DVD also has this version.

Lars
« Last Edit: May 29, 2014, 11:34:23 am by Lars »

Sigurd Fastenrath

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2014, 07:35:12 pm »
Hi Lars,

congratulations for your progress!

May I ask: wich grapic card do you use?
With Panorma?

Holger made some efforts to solve the SMP Problem with SNAP.


Lars

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2014, 08:48:47 pm »
pci.exe reports this for the graphics card:
Vendor 10DEh NVIDIA Corporation
Device 0FC6h GK107 [GeForce GTX 650]

I am using Panorama 1.06 (the latest version, currently).
I have not tried with SNAP but I expect problems on an SMP system. At least that's what is said about SNAP and SMP systems. I don't know if SNAP supports this NVidia chip. Is there a readme for SNAP that could tell me ?

Is there some BETA version of SNAP that has fixed SMP support that I could test ? I'd test even if SNAP only offers VESA support on this chipset.

« Last Edit: May 29, 2014, 08:56:18 pm by Lars »

Eugene Gorbunoff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2014, 08:58:55 pm »
To Lars

List of supported hardware is published here:
http://ecomstation.ru/panorama
(Panorama VESA, SNAP, WarpOverlay!)

Do you have problems with the picture?
Maybe you need  NVidia DVI Scale filter
http://ecomstation.ru/projects/panorama/?action=down#nvidiascale

Boris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 310
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2014, 03:20:04 am »
pci.exe reports this for the graphics card:
Vendor 10DEh NVIDIA Corporation
Device 0FC6h GK107 [GeForce GTX 650]

I am using Panorama 1.06 (the latest version, currently).
I have not tried with SNAP but I expect problems on an SMP system. At least that's what is said about SNAP and SMP systems. I don't know if SNAP supports this NVidia chip. Is there a readme for SNAP that could tell me ?

Is there some BETA version of SNAP that has fixed SMP support that I could test ? I'd test even if SNAP only offers VESA support on this chipset.

Quote from: SNAP Readme
Certified Graphics Chips
------------------------

This is a complete list of the various graphics chipsets that have been
certified to work correctly with this version of SciTech SNAP Graphics.
Please note that this list refers to the actual chips being used, not a
board-level implementation. Thus you will not see any products from
Hercules or STB on the list, but their products are supported because they
use S3, Cirrus, Tseng, etc. chips. Also, any card with less than 512KB of
memory cannot be supported by SciTech SNAP Graphics.

Note: Please check the separate list of supported laptop chipsets for
      more information if you are using this product on a laptop. All
      laptop chipsets are still listed here as many laptop chipset
      can also be used in regular PCI/AGP boards.

. 3dfx Voodoo Banshee, Voodoo3, Voodoo4, Voodoo5
. 3DLabs Permedia, Permedia 2, Permedia 2V, Permedia 3
. Alliance ProMotion 6422, ProMotion AT24, ProMotion AT3D
. AMD Geode GX2
. ARK 2000PV, 2000MT, 2000MI (Quadro64), 2000MI+ (Quadro64)
. ATI Mach64 GX, Mach64 CX, Mach64 CT, Mach64 VT, 3D Rage, Mach64 VTB
. ATI 3D Rage II, 3D Rage II+, Mach64 VT4, 3D Rage IIC, 3D Rage Pro
. ATI 3D Rage LT Pro, Rage Mobility, Rage XL, Rage 128, Rage 128 Pro
. ATI Rage 128 Ultra, Rage Mobility 128, Rage Mobility 128-D4x, ES1000
. ATI Radeon 7000, Radeon 7200, Radeon 7500, Radeon 8500, Radeon 8500DV
. ATI Mobility Radeon, Mobility Radeon 7000 IGP, Mobility Radeon 7500
. ATI Mobility Radeon 9000, Mobility Radeon 9000 IGP, Radeon 9000 Series
. ATI Radeon 9100 Pro IGP, Radeon 9100, Mobility Radeon 9200
. ATI Radeon 9200 Series, Radeon 9500, Radeon 9500 Pro, Radeon 9550
. ATI Mobility Radeon 9550, Mobility Radeon 9600, Radeon 9600 Series
. ATI Radeon 9600 XT, Radeon 9700 Pro, Mobility Radeon 9800, Radeon 9800
. ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Radeon 9800 XT, Mobility Radeon X300, Radeon X550
. ATI Mobility Radeon X600, Radeon X300 Series, Radeon X600 Series
. ATI Mobility Radeon X800, Radeon IGP 320M / 340M, Radeon XPress 200
. ATI Mobility Radeon XPress 200, FireMV 2200, Radeon X700 Series
. ATI Radeon X800 Series, Radeon X850 Series
. Chips & Technologies 65548, 65550, 65554, 65555, 69000
. Cirrus Logic CL-GD7543 LCD, CL-GD5434, CL-GD5440, CL-GD5436
. Cirrus Logic CL-GD5446, CL-GD7555 LCD, Laguna 5462, Laguna 5464
. Cirrus Logic Laguna 5465
. Cyrix MediaGX
. IBM VGA Compatible
. InteGraphics CyberPro 2000, CyberPro 2010
. Intel i740, i740 PCI, i810, i810/DC100, i810e, i815, i845G, i865G
. Intel i852/i855 GM/GME, i915G/GV, i915GM/GMS, i945G, i945GM
. Matrox MGA Millennium, MGA Millennium II, MGA Mystique
. Matrox MGA Mystique 220, MGA-G100, MGA-G200, MGA-G400, MGA-G450
. Matrox MGA-G550, Parhelia, MGA-P750, MGA-P650
. NeoMagic MagicGraph 128, MagicGraph 128ZV, MagicGraph 128XD
. NeoMagic MagicGraph 256AV, MagicMedia 256AV+, MagicMedia 256ZX
. NeoMagic MagicMedia 256XL+
. Number Nine Imagine 128, Imagine 128 II, Imagine 128 II VRAM
. Number Nine Imagine 128 II DRAM, Ticket 2 Ride WRAM
. Number Nine Ticket 2 Ride SGRAM, Ticket 2 Ride IV
. NVIDIA RIVA-128, RIVA-128ZX, RIVA-TNT, RIVA-TNT2, RIVA-TNT2 M64
. NVIDIA RIVA-TNT2 Vanta, RIVA-TNT2 Ultra, GeForce 256, GeForce DDR
. NVIDIA Quadro, GeForce2 Integrated GPU, GeForce2 Ti, GeForce2 GTS
. NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 100/200, GeForce2 MX/MX 400, GeForce2 Ultra
. NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420, GeForce3, Quadro2, GeForce4 MX 440
. NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 8X, GeForce4 MX 460, GeForce4 MX 4000
. NVIDIA GeForce4 Integrated GPU, GeForce4 Ti 4200, GeForce4 Ti 4200 8X
. NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4400, GeForce4 Ti 4600, GeForce4 Ti 4800
. NVIDIA Quadro4 NVS, Quadro4 XGL, GeForce FX 5200, GeForce FX 5500
. NVIDIA GeForce FX 5600 Series, GeForce FX 5700 Series, Quadro FX
. NVIDIA GeForce PCX 5300, GeForce PCX 5750, GeForce 6200 Series
. NVIDIA GeForce 6600 Series
. OAK Spitfire 64107, Spitfire 64111, Eon 64017, Eon 64217, Warp 5
. Philips 9710
. Rendition Verite V1000, Verite V2200
. S3 Vision 864, Vision 964, Vision 868, Vision 968, Trio32, Trio64
. S3 Trio64V+, Trio64UV+, Trio64V2/DX, Virge, Virge/DX/GX, Virge/VX
. S3 Virge/GX2, Virge/MX, Trio3D, Trio3D/2X, Savage3D, Savage4
. S3 ProSavage (VIA PM133), ProSavage (VIA KM133), ProSavage (VIA PN133)
. S3 ProSavageDDR (VIA PM266), ProSavageDDR (VIA KM266), Savage/MX/IX
. S3 SuperSavage/IXC, Savage2000
. Sigma Designs RealMagic 64 GX
. Silicon Motion LynxEM, Lynx3DM
. SiS 6202, 6205, 6215, 5597/5598, 6326, 300, 305, 630, 315, 730
. SiS 5595/530, 5595/620
. Trident TGUI9440, TGUI9440-R2, TGUI9680, ProVidia 9682
. Trident Cyber9385 LCD, ProVidia 9685, 3DImage 975, Cyber9397 LCD
. Trident 3DImage 985, Blade 3D, Blade 3D (VIA VT8501)
. Trident Blade 3D (VIA VT8601)
. Tseng Labs ET4000/W32p, ET6000, ET6100
. VIA CLE266, P4M800/VN800/CN800
. Weitek P9000, P9100
. VESA VBE 1.2, VBE 2.0, VBE 3.0

As far as you can see, NVIDIA GTX 650 is not supported by SNAP.
LIABILITY DISCLAIMER: this is how I understand and what I know, I may be highly inaccurate, or even completely wrong! There are no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of my posts. Think on your own!

Andy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #12 on: June 03, 2014, 10:40:26 pm »
...Vendor 10DEh NVIDIA Corporation
Device 0FC6h GK107 [GeForce GTX 650]...

Unfortunately no, the GTX models are several generations behind the NV40-series. The difference is about a VW beetle from the 1970s  to the now build VW Beetle from the 21st century. They only have the name in common.
 
Lets face this: in the last 10 years, there was no graphics card developed from any manufacturer, that is natively supported by SNAP.
These cards are out of production long time ago. And only the last models maybe useable in modern PCs.
From the list above, i only know this type of cards are _also_ availible in PCIexpress:
Nvidia GeForce 6200, 6600, PCX 5300, PCX 5750, ATI Radeon X300, X550, X600, X800, X850. All from 2004.
IMHO all other cards are PCI, ISA, VesaLocal, or AGP-bus based - most of these buses are vanished long before.
And no, even an museum accepts ancient graphics cards supported by SNAP. ;)

On actual and modern cards you can SNAP only use in VESA mode - so you can in Panorama.
So SNAP is commercial dead for OS/2 - if you don't have special reasons to use SNAP.

guzzi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 263
    • View Profile
Re: ecs on actual desktop PC
« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2014, 12:18:48 am »
...Vendor 10DEh NVIDIA Corporation
Device 0FC6h GK107 [GeForce GTX 650]...

Unfortunately no, the GTX models are several generations behind the NV40-series. The difference is about a VW beetle from the 1970s  to the now build VW Beetle from the 21st century. They only have the name in common.
 
Lets face this: in the last 10 years, there was no graphics card developed from any manufacturer, that is natively supported by SNAP.
These cards are out of production long time ago. And only the last models maybe useable in modern PCs.
From the list above, i only know this type of cards are _also_ availible in PCIexpress:
Nvidia GeForce 6200, 6600, PCX 5300, PCX 5750, ATI Radeon X300, X550, X600, X800, X850. All from 2004.
IMHO all other cards are PCI, ISA, VesaLocal, or AGP-bus based - most of these buses are vanished long before.
And no, even an museum accepts ancient graphics cards supported by SNAP. ;)


Matrox G550 as well. Even still available new...