Author Topic: Migration problems  (Read 7404 times)

Barbara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Migration problems
« on: January 13, 2013, 12:12:04 pm »
Hi all,
Can someone explain me this and help:
I reinstalled eCS 2.1 with migration because my monitor visualized permanently characters and icons after closing some win32 applications like first pic (I've tried everything hope, unsuccessfully, reinstall inevitable).
After that, i have not more plugins in seamonkey and all the statements and all the software needed is right installed.
This is all my config.sys:

PSD=ACPI.PSD
REM [ Device Drivers ]
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\UNICODE.SYS
IFS=C:\ecs\boot\ntfs.ifs
IFS=C:\OS2\JFS.IFS /LW:5,20,4 /AUTOCHECK:*
IFS=C:\OS2\HPFS.IFS /CACHE:2048 /CRECL:4 /AUTOCHECK:*
IFS=C:\ECS\BOOT\FAT32.IFS /CACHE:2048 /H /Q /EAS
DEVICE=C:\IBMCOM\PROTOCOL\LANPDD.OS2
DEVICE=C:\IBMCOM\PROTOCOL\LANVDD.OS2
IFS=C:\OS2\BOOT\UDF.IFS /Q
IFS=C:\OS2\BOOT\CDFS.IFS /Q /W
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\OS2CDROM.DMD /Q
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VCDROM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\IBMCOM\LANMSGDD.OS2 /I:C:\IBMCOM /S
DEVICE=C:\IBMCOM\PROTMAN.OS2 /I:C:\IBMCOM
REM DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\TESTCFG.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\TESTCFG2.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\DOS.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\PMDD.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VEMM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VXMS.SYS /UMB
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VDPMI.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VDPX.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VWIN.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VW32S.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VPCMCIA.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\PCMSSDIF.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VMOUSE.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\POINTDD.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\COM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VCOM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\$ICPMOS2.SYS /G
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\USBPRT.SYS
DEVICE=C:\ECS\SYSTEM\AMouse\AMOUSE.SYS SMP
DEVICE=C:\ECS\SYSTEM\AMouse\USBMOUSE.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\USBKBD.SYS
REM DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\USBCOM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\MPTN\PROTOCOL\SOCKETSK.SYS
DEVICE=C:\MPTN\PROTOCOL\AFOS2.SYS
DEVICE=C:\MPTN\PROTOCOL\AFINETK.SYS
DEVICE=C:\MPTN\BIN\VDOSTCP.VDD
DEVICE=C:\IBMCOM\PROTOCOL\TCPBEUI.OS2
DEVICE=C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG\RDRHELP.200
IFS=C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG\NETWKSTA.200 /I:C:\IBMLAN /N
DEVICE=C:\IBMCOM\PROTOCOL\NETBIOS.OS2
DEVICE=C:\IBMCOM\MACS\IBMPRISM.OS2
DEVICE=C:\IBMCOM\MACS\E100B.OS2
DEVICE=C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG\VNETAPI.OS2
DEVICE=C:\TCPIP\bin\vdostcp.sys
DEVICE=C:\MPTN\PROTOCOL\FWIP.SYS
IFS=C:\PROGRAMS\RSJCD\CDWFS.IFS /S
DEVICE=C:\MMOS2\ssmdd.sys /S:64 /P:64 /H:256 /Q:1024 /E:1024
DEVICE=C:\MMOS2\r0stub.sys
DEVICE=C:\MMOS2\MMPLAYER\midi.sys
DEVICE=C:\MMOS2\vcshdd.sys
DEVICE=C:\MMOS2\UNIAUD32.SYS /V
DEVICE=C:\MMOS2\UNIAUD16.SYS /V /C
IFS=C:\ECS\BOOT\EVFS.IFS
DEVICE=C:\ecs\boot\USBRESMG.SYS

REM [ Base Device Drivers ]
BASEDEV=APM.ADD
BASEDEV=IBMKBD.SYS
BASEDEV=TIMER0.SYS
BASEDEV=PRINT01.SYS
BASEDEV=CHKDSK.SYS
BASEDEV=PCMCIA.SYS /P
BASEDEV=IBM2SS14.SYS
BASEDEV=AUTODRV2.SYS
BASEDEV=USBUHCD.SYS
BASEDEV=USBUHCD.SYS
BASEDEV=USBUHCD.SYS
BASEDEV=USBD.SYS
BASEDEV=USBHID.SYS
BASEDEV=CADH.SYS
BASEDEV=DANIS506.ADD /!BIOS
BASEDEV=IBM1FLPY.ADD
REM  BASEDEV=IBM2FLPY.ADD
BASEDEV=USBMSD.ADD /REMOVABLES:8 /FLOPPIES:1
BASEDEV=USBCDROM.ADD
BASEDEV=DANIATAP.FLT
BASEDEV=OS2DASD.DMD
BASEDEV=OS2LVM.DMD

REM [ Paths ]
SET BEGINLIBPATH=C:\PROGRAMS\JDK6\bin;%BEGINLIBPATH%
LIBPATH=C:\usr\lib;.;C:\USR\LOCAL\LIB;C:\PROGRAMS\RSJCD;C:\IBMLAN\NETLIB;C:\MUGLIB\DLL;C:\ECS\DLL;C:\EMX\DLL;C:\OS2\DLL;C:\MPTN\DLL;C:\TCPIP\DLL;C:\IBMCOM\DLL;C:\IBMGSK50\LIB;C:\IBMGSK40\LIB;C:\IBMGSK\LIB;C:\OS2\MDOS;C:\;C:\OS2\APPS\DLL;C:\ECS\SYSTEM\AMOUSE;C:\MMOS2\DLL;C:\MMOS2\FREEDB;C:\PROGRAMS\4OS2;C:\MMOS2\MPLAYER;
SET PATH=C:\usr\sbin;C:\usr\bin;C:\USR\LOCAL\BIN;C:\MPTN\BIN;C:\TCPIP\BIN;C:\IBMCOM;C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG;C:\MUGLIB;C:\ECS\BIN;C:\EMX\BIN;C:\IBMGSK50\BIN;C:\IBMGSK40\BIN;C:\IBMGSK\BIN;C:\OS2;C:\OS2\SYSTEM;C:\OS2\MDOS\WINOS2;C:\OS2\INSTALL;C:\;C:\OS2\MDOS;C:\OS2\APPS;C:\ECS\KLIBC\BIN;C:\PROGRAMS\JDK6\BIN;C:\PROGRAMS\RSJCD;C:\MMOS2\FREEDB;C:\MMOS2;C:\MMOS2\MMPLAYER;C:\PROGRAMS\4OS2;C:\MMOS2\MPLAYER;C:\MMOS2\MPLAYER\CODECS;
SET DPATH=C:\MPTN;C:\IBMCOM;C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG;C:\IBMLAN;C:\MUGLIB;C:\ECS\LANG;C:\IBMCOM\MACS;C:\OS2;C:\OS2\SYSTEM;C:\OS2\MDOS\WINOS2;C:\OS2\INSTALL;C:\;C:\OS2\BITMAP;C:\OS2\MDOS;C:\OS2\APPS;C:\MMOS2;C:\MMOS2\INSTALL;C:\PROGRAMS\4OS2;
SET HELP=C:\MPTN;C:\MPTN\HELP;C:\ecs\help;C:\OS2\HELP;C:\ecs\system\ewps\help;C:\ECS\SYSTEM\AMouse;C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG;C:\TCPIP\HELP;C:\PROGRAMS\RSJCD;C:\MMOS2\HELP;C:\PROGRAMS\4OS2;
SET ULSPATH=C:\LANGUAGE
SET BOOKSHELF=C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG;C:\OS2\BOOK;C:\ecs\book;C:\EMX\BOOK;C:\TCPIP\HELP;C:\MMOS2;C:\PROGRAMS\4OS2;
SET EPMPATH=C:\OS2\APPS;
SET NLSPATH=C:\MPTN\MSG\NLS\%N;C:\TCPIP\msg\ENUS850\%N;
SET MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH=C:\PROGRAMS\MOZ_PLUG
SET LIBC_HOOK_DLLS=C:\OS2\DLL\klibccfg.dll@_kLIBCInitPath!pathrewrite
SET DMIPATH=C:\DMISL\BIN
REM SET CLASSPATH=C:\os2\javaapps\lvmgui.zip;C:\TCPIP\java;
SET ICEDTEA_WEB_JRE=C:\PROGRAMS\JDK6\jre
SET ICEDTEA_WEB_DATA=C:\PROGRAMS\JDK6\jre\lib
SET NWDBPATH=C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG
SET DSPPATH=C:\MMOS2\DSP;

SET MPLAYER_HOME=C:\HOME\DEFAULT\.mplayer
SET MPLAYER_CODECS_DIR=C:\MMOS2\MPLAYER\codecs
SET MPLAYER_PATH=C:\MMOS2\MPLAYER\mplayer.exe


SET PM_ASYNC_FOCUS_CHANGE=ON 9000
SET QUEUE_SIZE_THRESHOLD=20000


REM [ Device Information ]
DEVINFO=KBD,IT141,C:\OS2\KEYBOARD.DCP

REM [ Kernel Directives ]
AUTOFAIL=YES
BREAK=OFF
BUFFERS=90
CLOCKSCALE=4
CODEPAGE=850,437
COUNTRY=039,C:\OS2\SYSTEM\COUNTRY.SYS
DISKCACHE=1024,LW,32
DOS=LOW,NOUMB
EARLYMEMINIT=TRUE
FCBS=16,8
FILES=64
IOPL=YES
MAXWAIT=1
MEMMAN=SWAP,PROTECT
PRINTMONBUFSIZE=134,134,134
PRIORITY_DISK_IO=YES
PROTECTONLY=NO
PROTSHELL=C:\OS2\PMSHELL.EXE
RESERVEDRIVELETTER=R
RMSIZE=640
SHELL=C:\OS2\MDOS\COMMAND.COM C:\OS2\MDOS
SUPPRESSPOPUPS=C
SWAPPATH=C:\OS2\SYSTEM 2048 2048
THREADS=1024
VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT=1536

REM [ Environment Variables ]
SET AUTOSTART=PROGRAMS,TASKLIST,FOLDERS
SET COMSPEC=C:\OS2\CMD.EXE
REM SET DELDIR=C:\DELETE,512;S:\DELETE,512;U:\DELETE,512;Z:\DELETE,512;
SET DEVICEFONTDISABLED=NO
SET DIRCMD=/V
SET DISPLAYTYPE=VGA
SET DLSINI=C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG\NETGUI.INI
SET ENH_STRETCH=NO
SET ETC=C:\MPTN\ETC
SET GLOSSARY=C:\OS2\HELP\GLOSS;
SET HOME=C:\HOME\DEFAULT
SET HOSTNAME=ECS
SET IKEYMAN40_HOME=C:\IBMGSK40
SET IKEYMAN50_HOME=C:\IBMGSK50
SET IKEYMAN_HOME=C:\IBMGSK
SET INIT_FILE_NAMES=netgui
SET INIT_FILE_RANGES=200
SET IPF_KEYS=SBCS
SET JAVA_HIGH_MEMORY=1
REM SET JAVA_HOME=C:\PROGRAMS\JAVA142
SET KEYS=ON
SET LANG=it_IT_EURO
SET LANINSTEP=S:\cid\server\IBMLS
SET LOGFILES=C:\var\log
SET MMBASE=C:\MMOS2;
SET MMSTREAM=/S:64 /P:64 /H:256 /Q:1024 /E:1024
SET MMYIELD=10
SET MOZILLA_HOME=C:\HOME\DEFAULT
SET NCDEBUG=4000
SET NOLARGENTEXEICON=1
SET NSPR_OS2_NO_HIRES_TIMER=1
SET OS2_SHELL=C:\OS2\CMD.EXE
SET OS=ecs
SET OSDIR=C:\ecs
SET PROGRAMS=C:\PROGRAMS
SET PROMPT=[$p]
SET RESTARTOBJECTS=STARTUPFOLDERSONLY,REBOOTONLY
SET RUNWORKPLACE=C:\OS2\PMSHELL.EXE
SET SANE_CONFIG_DIR=C:\PROGRAMS\TAME\conf
SET SCCANBENUKED=ON
SET SCKILLFEATUREENABLED=ON
SET SHELLHANDLESINC=20
SET SMB_EXE=C:\ECS\SYSTEM\Samba
SET SOMDDIR=C:\OS2\ETC\DSOM
SET SOMIR=C:\OS2\ETC\SOM.IR;C:\OS2\ETC\WPSH.IR;C:\OS2\ETC\WPDSERV.IR;C:\OS2\ETC\REXX.IR;
SET SYSTEM_INI=C:\OS2\OS2SYS.INI
SET TCPLANG=en_US
SET TZ=CET-1CES,3,-1,0,7200,10,-1,0,10800,3600
SET UNZIPOPT=-C
SET USER=ECS_USER
SET USER_INI=C:\OS2\OS2.INI
SET USE_HOSTS_FIRST=1
SET WPS_COMMUNICATION=YES

REM [ Executables ]
CALL=C:\ECS\BIN\CACHEF32.EXE /S /F
RUN=C:\OS2\SYSTEM\LVMALERT.EXE
RUN=C:\OS2\EXTENDFS.EXE *
CALL=C:\IBMCOM\PROTOCOL\NETBIND.EXE
RUN=C:\IBMCOM\LANMSGEX.EXE
REM CALL=C:\OS2\CMD.EXE /Q /C C:\MPTN\BIN\MPTSTART.CMD >NUL
RUN=C:\MPTN\BIN\CNTRL.EXE
CALL=C:\OS2\CMD.EXE /Q /C C:\MPTN\BIN\MPTSTART.CMD >NUL
RUN=C:\IBMCOM\PROTOCOL\NBTCP.EXE
RUN=C:\MPTN\BIN\VDOSCTL.EXE
RUN=C:\OS2\SMSTART.EXE
RUN=C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG\LSDAEMON.EXE
RUN=C:\IBMLAN\NETPROG\VNRMINIT.EXE
RUN=C:\PROGRAMS\RSJCD\CDWFSD.EXE -p "C:/var/temp" -c20000 -b2048 -t2 -i3 -s0
RUN=C:\MMOS2\mmfix.exe
RUN=C:\MMOS2\mididmon.exe
RUN=C:\MMOS2\mmhelpdd.exe
RUN=C:\MMOS2\qrymmcd.exe
RUN=C:\ECS\BIN\EVFSCTL.EXE

REM [ Remarks ]
REM -> TESTCFG2.SYS has been patched to support ACPI

REM [ Temporary Directories ]
SET TMP=C:\var\temp
SET TEMP=C:\var\temp
SET TMPDIR=C:\var\temp

RUN=C:\OS2\ACPIDAEMON.EXE
REM SET S3_FPSCALING=ON
DEVINFO=SCR,VGA,C:\OS2\BOOT\VIOTBL.DCP
SET VIDEO_DEVICES=VIO_SVGA
SET VIO_SVGA=DEVICE(BVHVGA,BVHSVGA)
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VSVGA.SYS
SET GRADD_CHAINS=C1
DEVICE=C:\OS2\GRADD.SYS
DEVICE=C:\OS2\MDOS\VMANWIN.SYS
SET VCFG_NO_DDC=TRUE
SET GREEXT=SDDGREXT
SET C1=SDDGRADD
DEVICE=C:\OS2\SDDHELP.SYS /Q
SET UNIXROOT=C:

We are talking about a Thinkpad T23.
Thanks in advantage.



David McKenna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2013, 03:51:34 pm »
 Maybe the plugins are disabled? Go to 'Tools' -> 'Add-ons Manager' -> 'Plugins'. Are they listed as 'Disabled'?

guzzi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2013, 04:00:19 pm »
All I can think of is that these don't point to the right directory:

SET MOZILLA_HOME=C:\HOME\DEFAULT
SET MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH=C:\PROGRAMS\MOZ_PLUG


Barbara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2013, 04:32:34 pm »
No, in Add-ons Manager plugins simply are not present and statements point to the right folders.
Very strange, i'm still in grope in the dark.

guzzi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2013, 05:42:24 pm »
Are your bookmarks still there? In other words, does FF start up with the right profile? Is your profile not corrupted (do you have a backup of it)

Barbara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2013, 06:38:31 pm »
Yes, bookmarks still there, FF starts right and profiles are not corrupted and yes, i've a backup, and results are the same  :(

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 87
  • Posts: 1095
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2013, 07:19:29 pm »
Try going to C:\home\default\mozilla and search for and rename all copies of pluginreg.dat with the browser closed then restart the browser.

Barbara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2013, 07:33:37 pm »
That was, problem solved, thanks Dave  ;D !
Also does anyone know what was the problem of the video, it can happen again, I can do something?
Thanks.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 630
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2013, 09:28:06 pm »
Barbara, I have a computer here that every so often does something to the video similar to what you described.  With ours it is if someone is using firefox and closes it then tries to start something else before firefox fully closes.  The best way I've found is to give the box the three finger salute  a couple of times in quick succession - the box restarts and all is well until the next time.  One day we will retire this box and replace it with something newer.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 243
  • -Receive: 46
  • Posts: 1638
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2013, 02:47:07 pm »
Hi.

Maybe it will be interesting to know which are the hardware specs (mainboard/processor and Video card) that produce this display problem.

Regards
Martin
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Barbara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2013, 06:39:14 pm »
Mine is a IBM Thinkpad T23:
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Category:T23
CPU:1200, RAM 1GB, 14.1" TFT display with 1400x1050 resolution, Intel 82801CAM (ICH3) Audio controller.
Really i should also try the original video drive from IBM, available on Hobbes (http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/system/drivers/video/s3_savage_chipsets.zip).
Maybe simply this can solve the problem waiting for an SNAP/Panorama upgrade.
I hope this can help someone.

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 38
  • Posts: 925
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2013, 01:45:30 am »
You may want to consider removing a couple of lines in your CONFIG.SYS:

According to the ConfigTool database:

SET PM_ASYNC_FOCUS_CHANGE=ON 9000
is for warp 3 only, and should be set in the warp4 (and up) settings, not in CONFIG.SYS.

SET QUEUE_SIZE_THRESHOLD=20000
is also for warp3 only.

You could also try adding the line:
dllbasing=off
near the top of your CONFIG.SYS

Barbara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: Migration problems
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2013, 08:30:26 am »
I do not know, however when configtool says that these statements are only for Warp 3, does not mean that were deleted or no longer needed in later versions, apart from those introduced from Warp 3 Fixpack 17, they have only changed the setting methods because all of them are accessible via the Warp 4 WPS and up versions, including eComStation:
PM_ASYNC_FOCUS_CHANGE and QUEUE_SIZE_THRESHOLD are both localized in System Setup-> Workplace Shell-> User Interface (User Input), DLLBASING is in the System Setup-> eComStation Kernel-> Memory (Advanced). Notebook.
I have explicitly included them in CONFIG.SYS just for setting custom values ​​searching for more appropriate to my needs (eg PM_ASYNC_FOCUS_CHANGE default is 2000) and the rest ConfigTool also says explicitly that with Warp 4 and later versions these statements  "may" does not appear in the CONFIG.SYS, so, I believe that is not bad and however my system seems much more stable with them (or so it seems).
However, I will try also to disable them, I'll know.