Author Topic: eCS connected to another monitor: black screen  (Read 1237 times)

agena@alex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
eCS connected to another monitor: black screen
« on: September 12, 2014, 05:33:33 pm »
Hello,

I just installed eCS onto a computer and unfortunately chose a screen resolution that the
monitor that I want to use permanently with eCS does not support. Now, when booting,
the screen goes black.

Is there a way to change the screen resolution at boot-time ?  My PC has a pecularity: eCS
could only be installed with a PS2 keyboard plugged in. At home, I only have USB keyboards -
so I cannot use the installation DVD for a possible fix.

Thank you,

Alex

« Last Edit: September 12, 2014, 07:26:45 pm by agena@alex »



Eugene Gorbunoff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Re: eCS connected to another monitor: black screen
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2014, 05:43:35 pm »
you can reset video mode:

boot system, press Ctrl-Alt-Del one time, goto command line and ..

http://ecomstation.ru/projects/panorama/?action=common-faq
-> reset


agena@alex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: eCS connected to another monitor: black screen
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2014, 06:07:06 pm »
Eugene,

thank you for your help: now everyting works fine again.  :)

Alex

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 87
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
Re: eCS connected to another monitor: black screen
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2014, 04:52:48 am »
You can also hit alt-F1 at the very beginning of the boot process and revert to 800x600 if needed.

agena@alex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: eCS connected to another monitor: black screen
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2014, 09:46:46 am »
Dave,

thanks to Eugene's and your help I finally managed to reach this blue screen admin screen.

Previous attempts just froze eCS.

It is marvelous to use eCS natively, I really like it.

I am currently writing down suggestions for new end-user features of eCS.

Alex

« Last Edit: September 13, 2014, 09:49:14 am by agena@alex »