Author Topic: Problems with configure  (Read 3021 times)

Jochen Schäfer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Problems with configure
« on: January 28, 2016, 08:38:09 am »
Hi there.

I have a problems with this configure from SDL, I'm working on.
I get the message
Code: [Select]
./configure.lineno: 23670: Syntax error: "fi" unexpected (expecting "then")I don't know why. If I remove the offending code, then the error moves to another part of the script.
So I think the error is somewhere. As I'm no expert in shell programming, I don't know where to look at.
Autoconf is 2.69, automake is 1.14.1-3.



Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 87
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2016, 09:50:25 am »
These errors are horrible to trace down. The problem can be way up the page and is probably a unterminated if or missing semi-colon.
Did you generate the configure file or is it the original?

Jochen Schäfer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2016, 11:17:06 am »
I generated it, because I'm working on building SDL 1.2.15 with gcc.

Silvan Scherrer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2016, 08:27:29 pm »
I hope you use all rpm tools. As autoreconf works great with those.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 87
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2016, 09:27:06 pm »
I hope you use all rpm tools. As autoreconf works great with those.

Not always. I've had problems like the parent where I was better off not using the autotools or even using the autotools on Linux to work around issues. Last time was with Pango.

Jochen Schäfer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2016, 10:19:30 pm »
I hope you use all rpm tools. As autoreconf works great with those.
Yes, I do.

Silvan Scherrer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2016, 09:03:00 pm »
I hope you use all rpm tools. As autoreconf works great with those.

Not always. I've had problems like the parent where I was better off not using the autotools or even using the autotools on Linux to work around issues. Last time was with Pango.
This sounds somehow strange, as Dmitriy for sure uses the RPM tools and he built Pango w/o problems. Eventually you had some old stuff?

regards
Silvan

Silvan Scherrer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2016, 09:05:13 pm »
I hope you use all rpm tools. As autoreconf works great with those.
Yes, I do.

Which command's did you use to regenerate configure?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 87
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2016, 09:37:57 pm »
I hope you use all rpm tools. As autoreconf works great with those.

Not always. I've had problems like the parent where I was better off not using the autotools or even using the autotools on Linux to work around issues. Last time was with Pango.
This sounds somehow strange, as Dmitriy for sure uses the RPM tools and he built Pango w/o problems. Eventually you had some old stuff?

Well there was http://trac.netlabs.org/ports/ticket/89 as well as with some versions I was getting a similar error as this thread is about, IIRC when trying to remove the docbooks dependency, perhaps the same Perl issue And why do we have a configure.lineno?

Jochen Schäfer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2016, 10:00:07 pm »
Which command's did you use to regenerate configure?
The supplied autogen.sh, which concats the files in acinclude/ to aclocal.m4 and then does a plain autoconf.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 87
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2016, 04:51:51 am »
Try running autoreconf -fvi

Jochen Schäfer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with configure
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2016, 07:37:54 am »
Try running autoreconf -fvi
Well, now I get another error at another line. I don't know what to make out of that.