Author Topic: How to move c:\home to d:\home ? In special thunderbird profiles  (Read 1881 times)

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 313
    • View Profile
How to move c:\home to d:\home ? In special thunderbird profiles
« on: February 02, 2016, 10:09:03 pm »
I've been looking backwards, d: \ home to c: \ home, and it's easy you just have to copy the folder D:\HOME to C:, modify the CONFIG.SYS and the two lines of home D: to C:
SET HOME = D: \ HOME \ DEFAULT
SET MOZILLA_HOME = D: \ HOME \ DEFAULT

And it is running, but not backwards.
What else would have to edit files? for c:\ to d:\
Saludos



ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Re: How to move c:\home to d:\home ? In special thunderbird profiles
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2016, 11:47:30 pm »
Are you sure that the mozilla_home is d:\home\default and not d:\home\default\mozprofiles?

Don't forget set moz_plugin_path=d:\home\default\??\plugins where ?? could be mozprofiles.

You will also need to change the mozilla path in the os2.ini with an ini editor.

Then, depending on what other programs you have in home\default you may have to change their ini path settings and correct the path, dpath, libpath and any other reference to them in config.sys

Olafur Gunnlaugsson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
Re: How to move c:\home to d:\home ? In special thunderbird profiles
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2016, 02:16:37 am »
Are you sure that the mozilla_home is d:\home\default and not d:\home\default\mozprofiles?
That is sort of irrelevant as he is only about to change the drive letter in his config.sys file, everything he moves will retain the same hierarchy as the original data

Programs are usually not in x:\ HOME, only data programs are supposed to be in x:\PROGRAMS, and I have repeatedly successfully moved the mozilla data hierarchy and everything else by simply changing the drive letter in config.sys and never have had to mess about with ini files, and similarly ping-ponged mozilla data  between OS/2 <> Windows without any problems for over a decade.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 88
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
Re: How to move c:\home to d:\home ? In special thunderbird profiles
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2016, 05:26:04 pm »
If you're moving your Thunderbird profile, there are quite a few hard coded paths to adjust, mostly in prefs.js, that also need to be updated otherwise your mail etc will still be at the old location.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 313
    • View Profile
Re: How to move c:\home to d:\home ? In special thunderbird profiles
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2016, 09:00:26 am »
I've been looking backwards, d: \ home to c: \ home, and it's easy you just have to copy the folder D:\HOME to C:, modify the CONFIG.SYS and the two lines of home D: to C:
SET HOME = D: \ HOME \ DEFAULT
SET MOZILLA_HOME = D: \ HOME \ DEFAULT
And it is running, but not backwards.
What else would have to edit files? for c:\ to d:\
Closse all programs firefox,open office, thunderbird.
With a ini editor, in os2.ini, modify MOZILLA path c to D and the config.sys
Copy the folder c:\home to D:
And the thunderbird do not lost the profil, retaining all the files and mails. Maintaining the pre-change profile.
Saludos

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 88
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
Re: How to move c:\home to d:\home ? In special thunderbird profiles
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2016, 07:07:05 am »
And are new emails being saved to the old profile on C: or the new one on D: ?

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 313
    • View Profile
Re: How to move c:\home to d:\home ? In special thunderbird profiles
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2016, 12:02:00 pm »
The new one on D:
Indeed delete c: \ home , and empty trashcan.
I do not comment restart the system after modify the config.sys .
Saludos