Author Topic: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro  (Read 3122 times)

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« on: February 25, 2016, 07:08:26 pm »
I'm seeing a font problem in Lotus Word Pro. On one machine, it can render almost any fonts except Ariel and Times New Roman. Unfortunately, these are commonly used fonts.

I see that in older documents I have not used these fonts, even though they are the default fonts for SmartSuite. Does anyone know about this issue, or how to fix it?


Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 255
  • -Receive: 49
  • Posts: 1708
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2016, 07:34:48 pm »
Hi Neil.

Is it the issue in just one machine? Can you post a Wordpro sample of the issue so I can compare the fonts to my installation?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2016, 04:56:21 pm »
I attached a copy of one document that fails. On my default eCS machine, this works perfectly, but on most others, it fails with all the characters much too close together.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Sigurd Fastenrath

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2016, 05:25:26 pm »
Hi Neil,

that is what it looks like on my machine.


Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2016, 02:39:10 am »
I already have one machine where it works. I'll publish a screen shot of what it looks like on a machine where it does not work.

I imagine not many people on OS/2 World use Lotus.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Alex Taylor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2016, 03:46:51 am »
The first question to ask is what version of the fonts do you have installed?

Are you using the OS/2 default Type 1 version of Times New Roman?  Or the also-included Win16 TTFs of TNR and Arial?  Or the Microsoft Core Fonts versions of either or both?  Or something else?

Second, does this problem apply on screen, when printed, or both?

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2016, 04:28:11 pm »
The image shows the situation on one machine. Other machines render this OK.


I'm also attaching a screen shot of part of the Fonts folder.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 38
  • Posts: 938
    • View Profile
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2016, 08:55:04 pm »
Just a WAG, but LSS was always pretty picky about printer drivers. Perhaps uninstalling what you have, and re-installing them might change the situation.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2016, 09:16:20 pm »
I have no lotus , but I would:
I would close the lotus , select another printer different default to the laserjet 3700.
Put Pmpdf as default, or other printer.
Open again Lotus and file.
If now is ok, Take a picture of your printer 3700, Font manager, if you have any font, and send it.
If no is ok,I do not know what could be the problem.
Saludos

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2016, 10:30:44 am »
Sorry, *pmpdf* i want said Pdf Writer

Alex Taylor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #10 on: February 29, 2016, 04:53:37 am »
Well, for Times at least  you have conflicting versions installed.  I suggest you uninstall the TTF versions of Times New Roman.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #11 on: February 29, 2016, 03:12:49 pm »
Thanks, everyone, for the suggestions.

1. About the printer driver. I'd like to find one printer driver that works with all applications. These machines have been using the IBM Laserjet drivers, and when I switch back, I get a correctly formatted document. The corruption is only with the PSPRINT driver. The IBM laserjet driver crashes instantly (in PMMERGE.DLL) on Thunderbird and Firefox. PSPRINT doesn't crash.

2. Thanks for the advice about fonts. I removed the Times TTF  and Arial TTF fonts. The document now renders properly, even with the PSPRINT driver. You mention conflicting versions. What is the key for a printer driver? Is it the name (Times New Roman)? I'd like to remove all the conflicts.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2016, 01:49:23 am by Neil Waldhauer »
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Alex Taylor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2016, 03:42:26 am »
The font (face) name is the key, which is what GPI uses to resolve the font (and that gets passed on to the printer driver).  So if you have multiple fonts with the same face name, the results will be unpredictable.  It's possible that WordPro was somehow getting the metrics (character dimension) data from the Type 1 font, but loading the characters themselves from the TTF font; since the two use different coordinate systems, that's going to cause problems.

I can't see why the printer driver would affect on-screen rendering. Or is there specifically a problem with printouts as well?  You mention this happens only with PSPRINT as compared to LASERJET. Did you try with PSCRIPT?

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2016, 11:15:44 pm »
I'm hoping Font Face is the same as Title in the Font Folder. The TTF fonts I removed had the same Title. On one machine, I still have one case of damaged text. Arial comes on OS/2  both as a Type 1 font, in \psfonts and a TrueType font, in \os2\mdos\winos2\system.

I'm going to try removing the WinOS2 TTF font, to see if it will help.

I didn't try the IBM PSCRIPT driver. I don't know why the printer makes any difference to Lotus, but perhaps it's trying to display on screen just as it would be on the printer, in some WYSIWYG sense.

I have what I believe is the same set of drivers and fonts on another machine, and Lotus Word Pro is fine.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Andy Willis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Fonts in Lotus Word Pro
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2016, 12:26:18 am »
I can't see why the printer driver would affect on-screen rendering. Or is there specifically a problem with printouts as well?  You mention this happens only with PSPRINT as compared to LASERJET. Did you try with PSCRIPT?
Because Lotus was WYSIWIG, if you changed the print driver it would potentially change the printout which meant that the screen changed to match what it would print so everything hinged around the driver in use and called into it for deciding how to render.