Author Topic: Problems with Tame  (Read 1647 times)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 632
    • View Profile
Problems with Tame
« on: March 25, 2016, 01:19:27 am »
Does anyone have the magic incantation to get tame working on an updated computer?

Tame used to work on my computer with an Epson Perfection 640U USB scanner.  The scanner was needed in the outer office and was moved there several months ago (the computer it is hooked up to is an unmodified WSeB install that also acts as e-mail server).

Tonight I needed to do some scanning so got the scanner and hooked it back to my computer.  It is seen by Tame but when I try to scan anything scanimage flashes on screen for an instant and nothing gets scanned.

Scanimage -L finds the scanner backend (epson2) but again trying to get scanimage to actually scan results in failure.

I am assuming that we have reached DLL hell as my computer has been updated with all the latest DLLs that are needed for such programs as OpenOffice, Firefox etc.  Something in that lot has broken Tame and I would like to know what I need to do to get it back working on my computer again and keep the other programs working as well.

Any suggestions?
 



Daniel Carroll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Tame
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2016, 08:13:50 am »
I left a note in my Tame directory to myself.
------
Tame with my scanner (Scanjet 5200c) connected via USB does not work unless
the usbresmg.sys and usbcalls.dll that came with Tame are used.

Usbresmg.sys goes in x:\os2\boot and usbcalls.dll in x:\os2\dll. Where
x is the boot partition.
------
Perhaps you have the same problem. Tame had stopped working after I updated my USB DLLs.




















ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 632
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Tame
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2016, 07:01:49 pm »
Thank you Daniel, that is what I assumed.  I also assume there is no way round it at the moment other than using an unmodified OS/2 install.

Daniel Carroll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Tame
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2016, 03:01:14 am »
The other USB DLLs in the update worked fine. It was only those two from the original install of Tame that were needed.

Wim Brul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 28
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Wim's home page
Re: Problems with Tame
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2016, 04:02:37 pm »
There is a test version of sane that works well on my system. It uses the libusb-1.0 port to OS/2 from Paul Smedley.
It is libusb-1.0.16-rc6-20130525.zip with sane-1.0.23-os2-20130426.zip and scanimage-20130525.zip

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 632
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Tame
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2016, 05:13:46 pm »
Do those work if plugged into the Tame install or do you use something else to scan with?

Wim Brul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 28
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Wim's home page
Re: Problems with Tame
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2016, 06:29:59 pm »
Do those work if plugged into the Tame install or do you use something else to scan with?
I must say that I did not use the Tame/2 install nor do I use Tame/2 to scan with my Canon CanoScan LIDE210 scanner. This scanner is not available in the list of scanners shown by Tame/2. My Tame/2 installation came with eComStation 2.0 and could be too old. I don't know. I use scanimage.exe directly. I did not yet send Paul Smedley the 'device.txt' file for my scanner.

Wim Brul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 28
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Wim's home page
Re: Problems with Tame
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2016, 09:29:12 pm »
I now successfully :) scanned using Tame/2. Only libusb-1.0.16-rc6-20130525.zip and scanimage-20130525.zip are required.

1). I copied LIBUSB10.DLL into D:\ECS\DLL and 2). I copied SCANIMAGE.EXE into D:\PROGRAMS\TAME

Ivan, for you these 2 steps are sufficient since Tame/2 already knows your scanner.

3). I added my scanner to D:\PROGRAMS\TAME\CONF\GENESYS.CONF

Code: [Select]
#Canon LiDE 210
usb 0x04a9 0x190a

I needed to select Canon LiDE60 from the list of supported scanners.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 632
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Tame
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2016, 02:02:53 pm »
Thank you Wim.

That worked.  I had tried that some time ago but for some reason I had a slightly older version of SCANIMAGE (scanimage-20130512) which does not work with Tame/2