Author Topic: using yum  (Read 1755 times)

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
using yum
« on: March 27, 2016, 04:01:12 pm »
I'm using yum, mostly from command line, but sometimes checking my work with ANPM. While installing prerequisites for Mozilla, OpenOffice and a few others, yum does something and all invocations that do any work end with an error condition

Code: [Select]
Warning: RPMDB altered outside of yum.
  Installing : libc-0.6.6-26.oc00.i386



Rpmdb checksum is invalid: dCDPT(pkg checksums)

This is harmless, except for the non-zero return code from yum. I want to call yum and check the return code, so a wrong return code is less convenient. Is there a way to fix the Rpmdb or get yum to ignore the error?

rpm --repairdb does not appear to make the error go away.


Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: using yum
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2016, 03:50:03 pm »
Following up, I see no fix for this, but bug number #117 is open for the issue.

http://trac.netlabs.org/rpm/ticket/117

The Arca Noae Package manager suffers from the same error. At the very least, you cannot rely on the return code from yum to judge the success of any operation.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 244
  • -Receive: 46
  • Posts: 1641
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: using yum
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2016, 03:44:39 pm »
Hi Neil.

I agree with you that you cannot rely on the return code. I used to got errors that said that the package did not get installed and at the end it got installed on some installation.

But the good part on my side is that it still works and do it has to do even if the error message says anything.

Note: Since I always forget the YUM commands I created a "note to myself here".

Regards
« Last Edit: April 04, 2016, 03:51:59 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Silvan Scherrer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: using yum
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2016, 05:02:37 pm »

Note: Since I always forget the YUM commands I created a "note to myself here".
you know that the netlabs yum/rpm wiki always contains the last info about yum commands I hope

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: using yum
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2016, 05:19:10 pm »
There is an issue on the yum/rpm wiki regarding Platform selection.

I need to use platform selection in order to install Firefox 38. One library, pango, is only available built for 686. So I need to use platform selection to get pango. However, then the rest of my system is inconsistent and I get quite a few errors from yum about that.

The errors persist until I issue a yum reinstall * command. If this is how it's supposed to operate, then a note to reinstall everything after platform selection would be good.

Of course my original error still appears, and yum reports failure for all operations, even though they appear to work.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Silvan Scherrer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: using yum
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2016, 05:42:04 pm »
There is an issue on the yum/rpm wiki regarding Platform selection.
that's not really true. As if you have updated os2-base when it was available then your platform would be set right.
I will add a note on that.
Quote
Of course my original error still appears, and yum reports failure for all operations, even though they appear to work.
Sure it is, as this is a known one and not fixed. Even it does not hurt at all.