Author Topic: print won't go to default tray  (Read 1545 times)

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
print won't go to default tray
« on: April 04, 2016, 11:01:45 pm »
I've seen this on a few printers. I'm using the PSPRINT postscript drivers in one case and the eCups postscript driver in another case. After installation, printing works normally, but then, after a while, the printer demands to have paper from the other tray.

I'm also curious if anyone has seen support for an IBM Infoprint 1352 printer.  Thanks!


Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Lars

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 166
    • View Profile
Re: print won't go to default tray
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2016, 01:28:18 pm »
http://www.sourcetech.com/downloads/infoprint-1352-40ppm-manual.pdf

says it's accepting PCL5 and PCL5e. Have you tried with the printer driver that does PCL5 (I think there is an OS/2 printer driver that does PCL5 but I cannot remember which one ...)

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: print won't go to default tray
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2016, 03:36:30 pm »
Well, HP Laserjet 4 works for old programs like Lotus SmartSuite, but no printing possible for Firefox or Thunderbird. I have the 31 builds for those installed, so printing should be possible, but they crash instead.

Is there some way to have a printer driver work for both cases?
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 331
    • View Profile
Re: print won't go to default tray
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2016, 10:36:41 pm »
... but no printing possible for Firefox or Thunderbird. I have the 31 builds for those installed, so printing should be possible, but they crash instead. ....

Where I can download these builds 31?  I can try out if I have more luck.

Saludos

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: print won't go to default tray
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2016, 02:47:21 am »
Here is the link for Thunderbird. The others are similarly named. These were from last July. Newer versions don't print at all.

http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/apps/internet/www/browser/thunderbird-31.8.0.en-US.os2.zip
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 91
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: print won't go to default tray
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2016, 07:37:08 am »
SeaMonkey 2.35 should support printing. Perhaps I should build versions of TB and FF that support printing? I thought that Bitwise would fix this sooner.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: print won't go to default tray
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2016, 03:51:25 pm »
Thanks, but printing in the latest Firefox/Thunderbird won't solve this situation entirely.

The use case is in printing envelopes from Lotus SmartSuite where the IBM Laserjet4 PCL driver does work, but the PostScript driver with my best-guess PPD does not work.

Firefox/Thunderbird will crash if they use this driver. I made another thread some time ago for that crash, which is a known problem with IBM graphics, and Firefox development will eventually work around it. I guess what would really fix this is if Firefox/Thunderbird did not crash while using the laserjet4 PCL driver.

If separate printer objects are provided, one per driver, then I suppose everything prints, but then in Thunderbird, the alternate printer driver has to be selected or it will crash. If Thunderbird could be set to print from the alternate printer, while all other programs continue to use the default printer, then that would be a slick solution.

Is there any way to force Thunderbird to default to an alternate (non-default) printer?
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com