Author Topic: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!  (Read 915 times)

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« on: April 16, 2017, 01:43:30 am »
As with the previous 1.4.0 RC3 drop during the poppler RPM/YUM upgrade the previously functioning PDF plug-in got "killed". The workaround was to install both versions of poppler packages, those being:

poppler-legacy-63 (0.47.0-1)
poppler-legacy-65 (0.49.0-2)

This time around with the 1.4.0 GA drop even the above two are not sufficient, result is no ability for Lucide to display PDFs.

I logged a ticket, see => http://trac.netlabs.org/lucide/ticket/346



Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 34
  • Posts: 876
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2017, 08:06:24 am »
Start by deleting %HOME%\,config\trolltech.ini. That thing causes more trouble for QT apps than anything else. I put a command into STARTUP.CMD to delete it at every boot, and I have had no more problems with it.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2017, 08:11:25 am by Doug Bissett »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2017, 05:44:09 am »
Good news...solution was easy: move to poppler 0.52 release, which is the current & latest release.

The other two can be deleted, which is what I have done and it's working....BUUUTTTT....working in this case simply means I can open ONE (1) document only...attempting to open multiple PDFs produces a TRAP, or to be more precise, attempting to open another instance of Lucide produces a TRAP...so off I went, new ticket created, see => http://trac.netlabs.org/lucide/ticket/347

André Heldoorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2017, 08:49:36 am »
attempting to open another instance of Lucide produces a TRAP...

Same problem here, FWIW, with a manual eCS 1.2 install of a minimum of required DLLs (LUCIDE1.DLL access violation, reading address 00000000).

In another case Lucide couldn't find LUCIDE1.DLL in "C:\Lucide's dir;%BEGINLIBPATH%" while SM was running (may be related to the JPEG.DLL hell). Does this error message imply that "SET BEGINLIBPATH=x:\yyy" is not required when "x:\yyy" is the WPS STARTUPDIR setting?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 01:10:35 pm by André Heldoorn »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2017, 04:25:46 am »
Problem fixed you guys!

Working through the ticket I did un-install, clean the directory and re-install...still the same problem...however, once I installed the GBMDLL RPM package things finally "clicked" together!

Sooo...bottom line, it appears Lucide was either picking up the gbm.dll file from my \mmos2\dll directory, which appears to be a 2002 install and that was causing the problem, or inherently the fact that the RPM package was missing was causing some issue.

Since the 1st instance was OK I tend to lean towards the lack of lastest DBM.DLL from the RPM package being the root cause.

André Heldoorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2017, 09:27:00 pm »
Which RPM ZIP file package contains (presumably) GBM.DLL?

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2017, 01:19:22 am »
Which RPM ZIP file package contains (presumably) GBM.DLL?

Sorry, no idea there, I just pulled it using AN Package Mgr, the RPM pacakge name was: GBMDLL-1.76-1.oc00.i686.rpm

Andy Willis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2017, 02:36:35 am »
Which RPM ZIP file package contains (presumably) GBM.DLL?
There is a zip and wpi available on hobbes.

André Heldoorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2017, 01:06:51 pm »
There is a zip and wpi available on hobbes.

Same version of GBM.DLL, apparently, and already installed here by a human package manager.

Nevertheless I have copied GBM.DLL to x:\LUCIDE.

LIBPATHSTRICT=T and BEGINLIBPATH=x:\LUCIDE are in use, because of yet another JPEG.DLL.

With FF running, opening a first PDF file by using the WPS association, Lucide returns that it can't find the module Lucide1.dll in 'x:\LUCIDE;%BEGINLIBPATH%' (SYS0087).

Without FF running, opening a second PDF file by using the WPS association, results in the same type of trap, despite of using the same GBM.DLL version and despite of a copy in the directory x:\LUCIDE:

Code: [Select]
Exception C0000005 - Access Violation
______________________________________________________________________

 Process:  x:\LUCIDE\LUCIDE.EXE (04/07/2017 16:50:07 17,707)
 PID:      37 (55)
 TID:      01 (1)
 Priority: 200

 Filename: x:\LUCIDE\LUCIDE1.DLL (04/07/2017 16:50:06 1,413,425)
 Address:  005B:1D5CDBEC (0001:0001DBEC)
 Cause:    Attempted to read from 00000000
           (not a valid address)

______________________________________________________________________

 Failing Instruction
______________________________________________________________________

 1D5CDBDF  NOT         ECX              (f7d1)
 1D5CDBE1  LEA         EDX, [ECX-0x1]   (8d51 ff)
 1D5CDBE4  MOV         ECX, 0xffffffff  (b9 ffffffff)
 1D5CDBE9  MOV         EDI, [ESI+0x4]   (8b7e 04)
 1D5CDBEC >REPNZ SCASB                  (f2 ae)
 1D5CDBEE  NOT         ECX              (f7d1)
 1D5CDBF0  DEC         ECX              (49)
 1D5CDBF1  MOV         [ESP+0x10], ECX  (894c24 10)

______________________________________________________________________

 Registers
______________________________________________________________________

 EAX : 00000000   EBX  : 00000000   ECX : FFFFFFFF   EDX  : 00000009
 ESI : 16E05938   EDI  : 00000000
 ESP : 0012E4A0   EBP  : 0012F7D8   EIP : 1D5CDBEC   EFLG : 00012246
 CS  : 005B       CSLIM: FFFFFFFF   SS  : 0053       SSLIM: FFFFFFFF

 EAX : not a valid address
 EBX : not a valid address
 ECX : not a valid address
 EDX : not a valid address
 ESI : read/write memory at 0002:00005938 in LUCIDE1
 EDI : not a valid address

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2017, 03:01:27 pm »
Hi André,

...With FF running, opening a first PDF file by using the WPS association, Lucide returns that it can't find the module Lucide1.dll in 'x:\LUCIDE;%BEGINLIBPATH%' (SYS0087)...

I would say log a ticket at http://trac.netlabs.org/lucide/report, these guys were very quick to review my issue, troubleshoot and provide some feedback...

André Heldoorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2017, 09:35:20 pm »
Now an apparently updated v1.4.0.0 (?) can open two files, so GBM.DLL may be unrelated.

There's still an unreported x:\LUCIDE;%BEGINLIBPATH% error when executed for the first time (with LIBPATHSTRICT=T and BEGINLIBPATH, because of yet another JPEG.DLL).

And there's a new, unreported error because it won't process an old PDF file (PDF v1.2?) correctly. Pages are blank, and Lucide only displays lines of tables and the line of Question. No text outside nor inside tables.

The WPI package includes two files called LUCIDE.LNG and the last one (7 April) will overwrite the newer file (20 April) LUCIDE.LNG. That's an unreported error too. I tend to try to not create accounts to report possible bugs, and I tend to try to not use yet another ICT system of a "supplier" to report possible bugs.

I'll consider a downgrade, as such I'm not a demanding PDF power user.