Author Topic: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!  (Read 541 times)

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« on: April 16, 2017, 01:43:30 am »
As with the previous 1.4.0 RC3 drop during the poppler RPM/YUM upgrade the previously functioning PDF plug-in got "killed". The workaround was to install both versions of poppler packages, those being:

poppler-legacy-63 (0.47.0-1)
poppler-legacy-65 (0.49.0-2)

This time around with the 1.4.0 GA drop even the above two are not sufficient, result is no ability for Lucide to display PDFs.

I logged a ticket, see => http://trac.netlabs.org/lucide/ticket/346



Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 32
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2017, 08:06:24 am »
Start by deleting %HOME%\,config\trolltech.ini. That thing causes more trouble for QT apps than anything else. I put a command into STARTUP.CMD to delete it at every boot, and I have had no more problems with it.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2017, 08:11:25 am by Doug Bissett »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2017, 05:44:09 am »
Good news...solution was easy: move to poppler 0.52 release, which is the current & latest release.

The other two can be deleted, which is what I have done and it's working....BUUUTTTT....working in this case simply means I can open ONE (1) document only...attempting to open multiple PDFs produces a TRAP, or to be more precise, attempting to open another instance of Lucide produces a TRAP...so off I went, new ticket created, see => http://trac.netlabs.org/lucide/ticket/347

André Heldoorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2017, 08:49:36 am »
attempting to open another instance of Lucide produces a TRAP...

Same problem here, FWIW, with a manual eCS 1.2 install of a minimum of required DLLs (LUCIDE1.DLL access violation, reading address 00000000).

In another case Lucide couldn't find LUCIDE1.DLL in "C:\Lucide's dir;%BEGINLIBPATH%" while SM was running (may be related to the JPEG.DLL hell). Does this error message imply that "SET BEGINLIBPATH=x:\yyy" is not required when "x:\yyy" is the WPS STARTUPDIR setting?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 01:10:35 pm by André Heldoorn »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2017, 04:25:46 am »
Problem fixed you guys!

Working through the ticket I did un-install, clean the directory and re-install...still the same problem...however, once I installed the GBMDLL RPM package things finally "clicked" together!

Sooo...bottom line, it appears Lucide was either picking up the gbm.dll file from my \mmos2\dll directory, which appears to be a 2002 install and that was causing the problem, or inherently the fact that the RPM package was missing was causing some issue.

Since the 1st instance was OK I tend to lean towards the lack of lastest DBM.DLL from the RPM package being the root cause.

André Heldoorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2017, 09:27:00 pm »
Which RPM ZIP file package contains (presumably) GBM.DLL?

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #6 on: Today at 01:19:22 am »
Which RPM ZIP file package contains (presumably) GBM.DLL?

Sorry, no idea there, I just pulled it using AN Package Mgr, the RPM pacakge name was: GBMDLL-1.76-1.oc00.i686.rpm

Andy Willis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: Lucide 1.4.0 GA has a PDF plug-in problem...FYI!
« Reply #7 on: Today at 02:36:35 am »
Which RPM ZIP file package contains (presumably) GBM.DLL?
There is a zip and wpi available on hobbes.