Author Topic: configuring the rpm release of cups  (Read 3178 times)

Andreas Kohl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
    • warpserver.de
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2017, 07:27:31 pm »
In most cases this so-called CUPS from RPM packages is only a makeshift. There are better workarounds for printing from OS/2 applications than this half-baked stuff. It's simply a waste of drive space on almost every client machine. And why should somebody in real world run CUPS under Warp Server? It's easier to keep it on UNIX servers where it really works and can be managed reliably. I'm only aware of a few Java applications that use IPP only for communication with IPP-capable servers like CUPS. It seems also to be a waste of time to explain UNIX printing system administration to unseasoned OS/2 users which simply want to print something with their local or network printers at home. A good example for an alleged solution that creates more problems than it solves.

Andreas Kohl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
    • warpserver.de
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #16 on: April 18, 2017, 07:37:43 pm »
I checked cupsd.exe using pmdll with directory set to /usr/sbin - and no errors... Either pmdll is not working right or cupsd.exe goes into "hiding" after starting and cannot be seen by any system tools or the browser pointed at http://localhost:631/

Please first check your IP configuration. The particular interface has to be actived and up when cupsd shall run. The next step would be to examine your name resolvers. Should be quite easy by using netstat.

Everything else at this state would be pure guess.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 07:41:08 pm by Andreas Kohl »

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 312
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #17 on: April 18, 2017, 08:26:08 pm »
Is localhost configured? You can post your \mptn\bin\setup.cmd to check.

cupsd runs from command line fine. Just type 'cupsd' from your %unixroot%\usr\sbin directory. If it immediately exits then which return value do you see? Cupsd exist immediately f.i. if another cupsd is running. Use 'prompt $r $p$g' before starting cupsd if you've not set up your prompt for displaying return values. No entry in popuplog.os2? Nothing in %unixroot%/var/log/cups?

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #18 on: April 18, 2017, 10:16:26 pm »
Hi All

Yes, localhost is configured - the non-rpm cups had no trouble accessing the cups browser interface.

I tried entering cupsd on the command line. The prompt returns with no return value:-

[I:\USR\SBIN]prompt $r$p$g

0I:\USR\SBIN>cupsd

1I:\USR\SBIN>


There are no cups related entries in popuplog.os2 and no cups error log is generated.

@Andreas
Not sure what your solution is for getting printed output from recent/current inkjet printers but the only thing I have found that works is the (non-rpm) port of cups.


Regards

Pete

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 38
  • Posts: 928
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #19 on: April 19, 2017, 12:59:00 am »
Quote
My best guess is that cupsd.exe is not running and that a(some) support file(s) is(are) missing.

That would be my best guess too, but it is possible that the current version in netlabs-rel, is not the same as what ArcaOS is installing. According to ANPM, it is cups 2.1.3-7 i686 version, with:
cups-client 2.1.3-7
cups-filters 2.1.3-7
cups filters-libs 2.1.3-7
cups-libs 2.1.3-7
ghostscript-fonts 6.0-1
gnu-ghostscript 9.14-1
gutenprint 5.2.11-3
gutenprint-cups 5.2.11-3
gutenprint-libs 5.2.11-3

I also have the hplip stuff, which you may not need. There are probably other things involved, which is why you should use ANPM (RPM/YUM) to install it..

Quote
How is cupsd.exe started on a working rpm-cups system? - Just wondering if there is any special incantation required.

It is the same as before:
Code: [Select]
Path and file name:  CMD.EXE
Parameters:   /c detach cupsd.exe
in the STARTUP folder.

Try this: go to a command line, and type "PKILL CUPSD" (without the quotes). If it is running, it will kill it, and tell you so (you need to do that 4 times to completely kill it). When it is dead, PKILL will say that it failed to find CUPSD. If CUPSD is already running, detached, and you try to start it from the command line, it will just terminate, with no messages (which seems to be what you are seeing). If CUPSD is running, you should be able to open your browser, and go to web page:  localhost:631 and the CUPS home page should open (but you know that part).

So, first, lets Pkill CUPSD, to see if it is, or is not, running. Once it is dead, try starting it from a command line (no paths should be needed), without using detach. Then, you should be able to see what it is doing. It will simply start, and nothing more will happen, if it is running.

One other thought: Do you have a firewall that is blocking it?

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #20 on: April 19, 2017, 03:19:42 am »
Hi Doug

I've removed my non-rpm cups/ghostscript/gutenprint installations from the system completely to avoid any possibility of the wrong files being used.

I uninstalled the rpm cups packages using ANPM and rebooted - probably not necessary...

I fired up ANPM: Selecting to install cups results in the same cups 2.1.3-7 packages being installed as you have listed, the cups filters packages are 1.8.2-5 plus cups-filesystem 2.1.3-7 with ghostscript 9.18-5 and ghostscript-fonts 6.0-1. No gutenprint packages installed - but that should not make a difference to whether cupsd.exe runs.

No, cupsd.exe does not run; PKILL "Failed to find PID for CUPSD.EXE" - pretty much what TOP had already indicated.

There is not a firewall blocking cupsd.exe - the non-rpm version ran fine.

My best guess is still that support file(s) is(are) missing as cupsd.exe does not start - not a good advert for the yum/rpm way of doing things I'm sorry to say.

Where do I report a problem with a rpm package?


Regards

Pete




Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 38
  • Posts: 928
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #21 on: April 19, 2017, 04:42:59 am »
Quote
Where do I report a problem with a rpm package?

https://trac.netlabs.org/rpm should work. You may need a logon ID, if you haven't got one for Netlabs Trac. However, it may be better to go to the CUPS Trac.

Quote
No gutenprint packages installed - but that should not make a difference to whether cupsd.exe runs.

You wouldn't think so, but that stuff is so tightly integrated that I wouldn't bet on it.

Anyway, using an ArcaOS system, here is a PMDLL analysis of CUPSD.EXE:

Code: [Select]
DLL tree - M:\USR\SBIN\CUPSD.EXE                                         Page 1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CUPSD.EXE┐
         ├LIBC066.DLL─┐
         │            ├DOSCALL1.DLL┐
         │            │            └SESMGR.DLL──┐
         │            │                         └DOSCALL1.DLL
         │            ├NLS.DLL─────┐
         │            │            └DOSCALL1.DLL
         │            ├KBDCALLS.DLL┐
         │            │            └DOSCALL1.DLL
         │            └VIOCALLS.DLL┐
         │                         └DOSCALL1.DLL
         ├CUPS.DLL────┐
         │            ├LIBC066.DLL
         │            ├URPO.DLL────┐
         │            │            ├LIBC066.DLL
         │            │            ├DOSCALL1.DLL
         │            │            └GCC1.DLL────┐
         │            │                         └LIBC066.DLL
         │            ├GCC1.DLL
         │            ├Z.DLL───────┐
         │            │            └Z1.DLL──────┐
         │            │                         ├LIBC066.DLL
         │            │                         └LIBCX0.DLL──┐
         │            │                                      ├LIBC066.DLL
         │            │                                      ├DOSCALL1.DLL
         │            │                                      └GCC1.DLL
         │            ├PTHR01.DLL──┐
         │            │            ├LIBC066.DLL
         │            │            ├DOSCALL1.DLL
         │            │            └GCC1.DLL
         │            ├TCPIP32.DLL─┐
         │            │            ├DOSCALL1.DLL
         │            │            └MSG.DLL─────┐
         │            │                         └DOSCALL1.DLL
         │            └DOSCALL1.DLL
         ├CUPSMIM.DLL─┐
         │            ├LIBC066.DLL
         │            ├CUPS.DLL
         │            └GCC1.DLL
         ├URPO.DLL
         ├GCC1.DLL
         ├TCPIP32.DLL
         └DOSCALL1.DLL
DLL tree - M:\USR\SBIN\CUPSD.EXE                                         Page 2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Module        : LIBC066.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBC066.DLL
File size     : 1,361,663 bytes
File date/time: 08-08-16 10:16:20 am

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : SESMGR.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\SESMGR.DLL
File size     : 1,536 bytes
File date/time: 04-08-17 05:12:26 pm

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : NLS.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\NLS.DLL
File size     : 512 bytes
File date/time: 04-08-17 05:12:28 pm

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : KBDCALLS.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\KBDCALLS.DLL
File size     : 1,024 bytes
File date/time: 04-08-17 05:12:26 pm

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : VIOCALLS.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\VIOCALLS.DLL
File size     : 2,048 bytes
File date/time: 04-08-17 05:12:26 pm

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : CUPS.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\CUPS.DLL
File size     : 280,632 bytes
File date/time: 05-12-16 02:18:50 pm

DLL tree - M:\USR\SBIN\CUPSD.EXE                                         Page 3
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Module        : LIBC066.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBC066.DLL
File size     : 1,361,663 bytes
File date/time: 08-08-16 10:16:20 am

Module        : URPO.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\URPO.DLL
File size     : 2,944 bytes
File date/time: 06-30-16 10:51:26 am

Module        : LIBC066.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBC066.DLL
File size     : 1,361,663 bytes
File date/time: 08-08-16 10:16:20 am

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : GCC1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\GCC1.DLL
File size     : 28,871 bytes
File date/time: 02-01-15 03:32:06 pm

Module        : LIBC066.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBC066.DLL
File size     : 1,361,663 bytes
File date/time: 08-08-16 10:16:20 am

Module        : GCC1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\GCC1.DLL
File size     : 28,871 bytes
File date/time: 02-01-15 03:32:06 pm

Module        : Z.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\Z.DLL
File size     : 3,140 bytes
File date/time: 01-25-17 04:47:20 am

Module        : Z1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\Z1.DLL
File size     : 58,794 bytes
File date/time: 01-25-17 04:47:20 am

Module        : LIBC066.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBC066.DLL
File size     : 1,361,663 bytes
File date/time: 08-08-16 10:16:20 am

Module        : LIBCX0.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBCX0.DLL
File size     : 22,128 bytes
File date/time: 01-18-17 03:51:16 pm

DLL tree - M:\USR\SBIN\CUPSD.EXE                                         Page 4
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Module        : LIBC066.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBC066.DLL
File size     : 1,361,663 bytes
File date/time: 08-08-16 10:16:20 am

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : GCC1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\GCC1.DLL
File size     : 28,871 bytes
File date/time: 02-01-15 03:32:06 pm

Module        : PTHR01.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\PTHR01.DLL
File size     : 6,894 bytes
File date/time: 12-29-15 09:06:24 am

Module        : LIBC066.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBC066.DLL
File size     : 1,361,663 bytes
File date/time: 08-08-16 10:16:20 am

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : GCC1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\GCC1.DLL
File size     : 28,871 bytes
File date/time: 02-01-15 03:32:06 pm

Module        : TCPIP32.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\MPTN\DLL\TCPIP32.DLL
File size     : 87,504 bytes
File date/time: 08-16-11 06:01:00 am

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : MSG.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\MSG.DLL
File size     : 512 bytes
File date/time: 04-08-17 05:12:26 pm

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

DLL tree - M:\USR\SBIN\CUPSD.EXE                                         Page 5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

Module        : CUPSMIM.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\CUPSMIM.DLL
File size     : 11,163 bytes
File date/time: 05-12-16 02:18:50 pm

Module        : LIBC066.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\LIBC066.DLL
File size     : 1,361,663 bytes
File date/time: 08-08-16 10:16:20 am

Module        : CUPS.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\CUPS.DLL
File size     : 280,632 bytes
File date/time: 05-12-16 02:18:50 pm

Module        : GCC1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\GCC1.DLL
File size     : 28,871 bytes
File date/time: 02-01-15 03:32:06 pm

Module        : URPO.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\URPO.DLL
File size     : 2,944 bytes
File date/time: 06-30-16 10:51:26 am

Module        : GCC1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\usr\lib\GCC1.DLL
File size     : 28,871 bytes
File date/time: 02-01-15 03:32:06 pm

Module        : TCPIP32.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\MPTN\DLL\TCPIP32.DLL
File size     : 87,504 bytes
File date/time: 08-16-11 06:01:00 am

Module        : DOSCALL1.DLL
Loaded from   : M:\OS2\DLL\DOSCALL1.DLL
File size     : 132,401 bytes
File date/time: 11-24-11 03:24:00 am

M: is the drive where %UNIXROOT% lives. It is also the boot drive (but they don't need to be the same drive). This list is also much larger than what I see in an older version, as installed by WarpIn. Also note, that there is a DOSCALL1 package in RPM/YUM. That one is probably down level, and you should use the one that comes with the USB drivers that you are using.

Andreas Kohl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
    • warpserver.de
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #22 on: April 19, 2017, 10:29:05 am »
Hi All

Yes, localhost is configured - the non-rpm cups had no trouble accessing the cups browser interface.

I tried entering cupsd on the command line. The prompt returns with no return value:-

Please run from command line: cupsd -t

Quote
There are no cups related entries in popuplog.os2 and no cups error log is generated.

It's certainly possible that the RPM package contains erroneous configuration files. Simply remove or rename them. It seems the packager or half-porter has no clue about CUPS administration.

Quote
Not sure what your solution is for getting printed output from recent/current inkjet printers but the only thing I have found that works is the (non-rpm) port of cups.

Simply using PCL or PostScript to network connected printers. It works also for chinese devices from the garbage disposal.

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 46
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #23 on: April 19, 2017, 11:44:37 am »
Hey Pete,

I've removed my non-rpm cups/ghostscript/gutenprint installations from the system completely to avoid any possibility of the wrong files being used.

I uninstalled the rpm cups packages using ANPM and rebooted - probably not necessary...

I fired up ANPM: Selecting to install cups results in the same cups 2.1.3-7 packages being installed as you have listed, the cups filters packages are 1.8.2-5 plus cups-filesystem 2.1.3-7 with ghostscript 9.18-5 and ghostscript-fonts 6.0-1. No gutenprint packages installed - but that should not make a difference to whether cupsd.exe runs.

No, cupsd.exe does not run; PKILL "Failed to find PID for CUPSD.EXE" - pretty much what TOP had already indicated.

There is not a firewall blocking cupsd.exe - the non-rpm version ran fine.

My best guess is still that support file(s) is(are) missing as cupsd.exe does not start - not a good advert for the yum/rpm way of doing things I'm sorry to say.

Where do I report a problem with a rpm package?

Firstly, I have ZERO experience with rpm, and in particular the rpm version of cups, however, the concepts should be the same as the non-rpm cups.

1) Enable debug logging - on a non-rpm system, this is done my tweaking /cups/etc/cups/cupsd.conf - this is likely in /etc ? - change the line that is something like 'Loglevel info' to 'Loglevel debug' - then restart cupsd
2) check error_log - liek in /var/log/cups/error_log - post the output here.... it will likely show something enlightening...

Cheers,

Paul

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #24 on: April 19, 2017, 04:20:36 pm »
Hi All

@Paul
I think I can honestly say that I have some experience of tracking down problems with non-rpm builds of cups  :-)
Yes, LogLevel has been set to debug.
No, there is no log generated. It seems that cupsd.exe is not starting at all hence my suspicion that a(some) required support file(s) is(are) missing.

@Andreas
I entered cupsd -t at a command prompt in /user/sbin.
The result is:-
"/@unixroot/etc/cups/cups-files.conf" contains errors.

I had a look at cups-files.conf but have idea what the error(s) are. Having copied cups-files.conf to a new name and deleted cups-files.conf I entered cupsd -t at the command line resulting in:-
"/@unixroot/etc/cups/cups-files.conf" is OK.
"/@unixroot/etc/cups/cupsd.conf" is OK.

I do wonder what cupsd is checking as cups-files.conf no longer exists - and, No, cupsd.exe is not running. I thought cupsd may be using cups-files.conf.default so copied that to cups-files.conf. That results in the "/@unixroot/etc/cups/cups-files.conf" contains errors. message when trying to start cupsd so I guess that is not the answer.

Also of interest: When cups-files.conf exists no logs are created. With cups-files.conf deleted access, error and page logs get created. Sadly they are not very helpful being 0 bytes in length...

I guess it indicates that cupsd.exe did try to start.


@Doug
Yes, the pmdll tree matches. There are some differences in file versions in use but seem to be "re-dating" exercises ie I have the following which have earlier dates than yours which look like they are dated 2017 (AN OS5?)
DOSCALL1.DLL 132,401 bytes 17-01-13
SESMGR.DLL 1,536 bytes 08-03-02
NLS.DLL 512 bytes 08-03-02


Maybe the answer is to try a known to be working cups-files.conf - although I am surprised that the supplied file contains errors. I also suspect this could be a symptom rather than the cause of cupsd.exe not running.


Regards

Pete

Andreas Kohl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
    • warpserver.de
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #25 on: April 19, 2017, 07:55:35 pm »
@Andreas
I entered cupsd -t at a command prompt in /user/sbin.
The result is:-
"/@unixroot/etc/cups/cups-files.conf" contains errors.

I had a look at cups-files.conf but have idea what the error(s) are. Having copied cups-files.conf to a new name and deleted cups-files.conf I entered cupsd -t at the command line resulting in:-
"/@unixroot/etc/cups/cups-files.conf" is OK.
"/@unixroot/etc/cups/cupsd.conf" is OK.
At least it means you can run cupsd and don't have to go through DLL hell further. ;-)

Quote
I do wonder what cupsd is checking as cups-files.conf no longer exists - and, No, cupsd.exe is not running. I thought cupsd may be using cups-files.conf.default so copied that to cups-files.conf. That results in the "/@unixroot/etc/cups/cups-files.conf" contains errors. message when trying to start cupsd so I guess that is not the answer.

Comment the following line from cupsd.conf:
Listen /@unixroot/var/run/cups/cups.sock
I don't believe that those kinds of "ports" really use unix domain sockets. At least I could not find any indication in the sources that there are calls to local socket functions from AnyNet/2 or DCE. I don't know about the used C library, but that would be a surprise. So I hope somebody can prove me wrong.

And then simply run cups -f without erroneous cups-files.conf of course.

Quote
Also of interest: When cups-files.conf exists no logs are created. With cups-files.conf deleted access, error and page logs get created. Sadly they are not very helpful being 0 bytes in length...

I guess it indicates that cupsd.exe did try to start.

There should be something in file error_log now.

The best advise I can give: Stay away from as much crappy rpm packages as possible! Better use the latest CUPS compiled by Paul. It's not perfect or complete but it works to some degree if you really want to play with cups.

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 38
  • Posts: 928
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #26 on: April 19, 2017, 11:06:11 pm »
Quote
@Doug
Yes, the pmdll tree matches. There are some differences in file versions in use but seem to be "re-dating" exercises ie I have the following which have earlier dates than yours which look like they are dated 2017 (AN OS5?)
DOSCALL1.DLL 132,401 bytes 17-01-13
SESMGR.DLL 1,536 bytes 08-03-02
NLS.DLL 512 bytes 08-03-02

They are likely updated for ArcaOS, but I don't think any of them would cause, or fix, your problem. I could be wrong.

Quote
Maybe the answer is to try a known to be working cups-files.conf - although I am surprised that the supplied file contains errors. I also suspect this could be a symptom rather than the cause of cupsd.exe not running.

There should be a default file, and it should work. If not, I don't know what else you can do. As I noted before, there may be something new in ArcaOS, that isn't in the RPM packages, yet, but I would think that CUPSD.EXE should run.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #27 on: April 19, 2017, 11:11:22 pm »
Hi Andreas

I had already commented out the Listen /@unixroot/var/run/cups/cups.sock line in cupsd.conf - mainly because there is no file /var/run/cups/cups.sock which may have been totally the wrong reason but works fine with Pauls cups builds.

Using cupsd -f with no cups-file.conf present seems to work though - which seems to indicate that cups-files.conf does really contain errors - and I can now access printer configuration using a browser. I have no idea what beh.exe is or why it should be offered as a network connection though.

Of course that leads on to a different problem when trying to print the cups testpage - "Filter failed". Now to troll through the error_log and see what happened...

Oh that is helpful - a username and password is required to access the log files using the browser interface.

I killed cupsd and opened the log with a text editor. aha!  gstoraster stopped with status 11. Which means absolutely nothing to me except that the process failed...


Regards

Pete




Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 46
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #28 on: April 19, 2017, 11:59:59 pm »
Hi Pete,

I killed cupsd and opened the log with a text editor. aha!  gstoraster stopped with status 11. Which means absolutely nothing to me except that the process failed...

11 should be the value of errno.
From /usr/include/sys/errno.h
#define   EDEADLK      11      /* Resource deadlock avoided */

This probably isn't helpful though :) debug2 logging might have some more output that tells us why gstoraster failed.

Cheers,

Paul

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: configuring the rpm release of cups
« Reply #29 on: April 20, 2017, 03:27:43 am »
Hi Paul

LogLevel is already at debug2... which is very verbose, 598Kb, and even when chopped down to the section that covers just the print job is still 433Kb.

All 4 filters involved -  bannertopdf, pdftopdf, gstoraster and rastertogutenprint.5.2 - are reported as successfully started as is the bjnp backend.
2 filters - bannertopdf and pdftopdf - are reported as "exited with no errors".
The next thing that catches my eye is the gstoraster stopped with status 11 with no obvious reason in the log.

I used pmdll to check gstoraster should work ie no support files missing.

What would cause a "Resource deadlock"? Could gstoraster be trying to process a file that is not yet ready for processing? Or is this a hardware resource problem?


Regards

Pete