Author Topic: Wireshark port  (Read 2510 times)

David McKenna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2017, 12:53:26 pm »
 Paul,

  If you want to use my instructions I'd be honored. .. thanks.

Regards

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2017, 12:01:52 pm »
Hi Dave,
  If you want to use my instructions I'd be honored. .. thanks.

They are included in readme.os2 for v2.28, which is available from http://smedley.id.au/tmp/wireshark-2.2.8-os2-20170721.zip

This also includes an icon, converted from the wireshark.ico in the source package using winico.exe

Not tested other than to see that it loads :)

Cheers,

Paul

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2017, 06:02:01 pm »
Hi Paul,

..They are included in readme.os2 for v2.28, which is available from http://smedley.id.au/tmp/wireshark-2.2.8-os2-20170721.zip...Not tested other than to see that it loads :)

Loads here fine, able to process the very same trace file I used in my previous testing. There are however a couple of things I noted, and it may be just that I simply did not notice these in the past. Here they are:

1) the COLOUR processing is not active, or at least it does not to work here...meaning, no even though the 'Colorize Packet List' is set to ON the display remains in black & white

2) ICON...umm, not sure if it is just my system but the actual wireshark.ico file does not appear to display properly in WPS, I've attached a screenshot of what this looks like, even though the program running icons are all fine...so this may be a moot point, just wanted to note it though

OK, more thoughts re: #1, I did some more research into this based on my 2.2.7 install in Win7. In this case it appears to be a simple issue of missing 'Coloring Rules'...lol, so should our OS/2 install have these? Judging by the web page the built-in HELP system takes you to (https://www.wireshark.org/docs/wsug_html_chunked/ChCustColorizationSection.html) the following is stated:

"...If this is the first time using the Coloring Rules dialog and you’re using the default configuration profile you should see the default rules, shown above..."

I am using the default profile with the install, so I think I should be able to see these default rules.

Here is a link to a decent page showing all the different configuration locations (https://www.wireshark.org/docs/wsug_html_chunked/ChAppFilesConfigurationSection.html), but I'm still not sure if this is a setup issue, or should I simply export my Win7 stuff and import?

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2017, 06:15:59 pm »
...quick update...

...I am using the default profile with the install, so I think I should be able to see these default rules.

Here is a link to a decent page showing all the different configuration locations (https://www.wireshark.org/docs/wsug_html_chunked/ChAppFilesConfigurationSection.html), but I'm still not sure if this is a setup issue, or should I simply export my Win7 stuff and import?

So I did export the Win7 rules and imported into my OS/2 install...the end result is the creation of a NEW rules file in: G:\HOME\.config\wireshark\colorfilters, so this is the 'Personal Configuration' folder in the attached screenshot in my previous post.

I think this is OK, just curious why this was not showing up to start off with as part of the DEFAULT profile install?

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2017, 11:45:14 pm »
Hi Dariusz,

...quick update...

...I am using the default profile with the install, so I think I should be able to see these default rules.

Here is a link to a decent page showing all the different configuration locations (https://www.wireshark.org/docs/wsug_html_chunked/ChAppFilesConfigurationSection.html), but I'm still not sure if this is a setup issue, or should I simply export my Win7 stuff and import?

So I did export the Win7 rules and imported into my OS/2 install...the end result is the creation of a NEW rules file in: G:\HOME\.config\wireshark\colorfilters, so this is the 'Personal Configuration' folder in the attached screenshot in my previous post.

I think this is OK, just curious why this was not showing up to start off with as part of the DEFAULT profile install?

It may be that 'make install' (which I run to package the distro) puts the profile somewhere on *my* system. There may be a Windows code path to create the profiles in %HOME% on first run.
Edit: looks like it's looking in c$/HOME/root/.config/wireshark for profiles - will investigate...

I'll try and investigate this afternoon!

Thanks for the report!

Cheers,

Paul
« Last Edit: July 21, 2017, 11:50:19 pm by Paul Smedley »

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2017, 07:28:48 am »
OK, more thoughts re: #1, I did some more research into this based on my 2.2.7 install in Win7. In this case it appears to be a simple issue of missing 'Coloring Rules'...lol, so should our OS/2 install have these? Judging by the web page the built-in HELP system takes you to (https://www.wireshark.org/docs/wsug_html_chunked/ChCustColorizationSection.html) the following is stated:

"...If this is the first time using the Coloring Rules dialog and you’re using the default configuration profile you should see the default rules, shown above..."

I am using the default profile with the install, so I think I should be able to see these default rules.

Here is a link to a decent page showing all the different configuration locations (https://www.wireshark.org/docs/wsug_html_chunked/ChAppFilesConfigurationSection.html), but I'm still not sure if this is a setup issue, or should I simply export my Win7 stuff and import?

OK - I think I see the problem.  I've tidied up some code relating to home directory, but in you case, it looks like you've installed wireshark into g:/apps/tcpip/wireshark - but there are some hardcoded paths of /wireshark/.....

I'll need to make wireshark look in a path that's related to where it's run from - hopefully there is win32 code to do this already :)

Stay tuned.

Cheers,

Paul

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #21 on: July 22, 2017, 10:54:51 am »
OK, more thoughts re: #1, I did some more research into this based on my 2.2.7 install in Win7. In this case it appears to be a simple issue of missing 'Coloring Rules'...lol, so should our OS/2 install have these? Judging by the web page the built-in HELP system takes you to (https://www.wireshark.org/docs/wsug_html_chunked/ChCustColorizationSection.html) the following is stated:

"...If this is the first time using the Coloring Rules dialog and you’re using the default configuration profile you should see the default rules, shown above..."

I am using the default profile with the install, so I think I should be able to see these default rules.

Here is a link to a decent page showing all the different configuration locations (https://www.wireshark.org/docs/wsug_html_chunked/ChAppFilesConfigurationSection.html), but I'm still not sure if this is a setup issue, or should I simply export my Win7 stuff and import?

OK - I think I see the problem.  I've tidied up some code relating to home directory, but in you case, it looks like you've installed wireshark into g:/apps/tcpip/wireshark - but there are some hardcoded paths of /wireshark/.....

I'll need to make wireshark look in a path that's related to where it's run from - hopefully there is win32 code to do this already :)

OK, http://smedley.id.au/tmp/wireshark-2.2.8-os2-20170722.zip should help.

1) it should find the share directory, even if the wireshark directory isn't in root
2) 'make install' wasn't running to completion, so the share directory wasn't fully populated - all config files should be there now

Cheers,

Paul

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2017, 03:17:26 pm »
Hi Paul,

...OK, http://smedley.id.au/tmp/wireshark-2.2.8-os2-20170722.zip should help.

1) it should find the share directory, even if the wireshark directory isn't in root
2) 'make install' wasn't running to completion, so the share directory wasn't fully populated - all config files should be there now...

Looks good now, the profile config is found without any problems, it successfully creates a NEW profile as well and brings-in all the defaults with it.

One thing I see is that the "user specific" profile is no longer created in \HOME\.config\.wireshark, instead it is now directly in \HOME\.wireshark. So those who have modified their configurations will need to account for this if you want your settings to be preserved. I simpy copied my preferences, recent and recent_common config files to the new location and all was good.

I am curious about a couple of thigns though:

1) can I simply delete the immediate contents of the /lib subdirectory (I am talking just the *.a and *.la files)? I think these are the build libraries, etc?

2) the Extcap plug-ins folder is identified as /wireshark/lib/wireshark/extcap, but that directry does not exist assuming that /wireshark points to a root of a drive...so I suspect the stuff that's located in (my specific install used to illustrate) g:\apps\tcpip\wireshark\lib\wireshark\extcap is not accessible by the program

Thanks again!
-Dariusz

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #23 on: July 23, 2017, 10:11:13 pm »
Hi Darcio,

...OK, http://smedley.id.au/tmp/wireshark-2.2.8-os2-20170722.zip should help.

1) it should find the share directory, even if the wireshark directory isn't in root
2) 'make install' wasn't running to completion, so the share directory wasn't fully populated - all config files should be there now...

Looks good now, the profile config is found without any problems, it successfully creates a NEW profile as well and brings-in all the defaults with it.

One thing I see is that the "user specific" profile is no longer created in \HOME\.config\.wireshark, instead it is now directly in \HOME\.wireshark. So those who have modified their configurations will need to account for this if you want your settings to be preserved. I simpy copied my preferences, recent and recent_common config files to the new location and all was good.

I am curious about a couple of thigns though:

1) can I simply delete the immediate contents of the /lib subdirectory (I am talking just the *.a and *.la files)? I think these are the build libraries, etc?

2) the Extcap plug-ins folder is identified as /wireshark/lib/wireshark/extcap, but that directry does not exist assuming that /wireshark points to a root of a drive...so I suspect the stuff that's located in (my specific install used to illustrate) g:\apps\tcpip\wireshark\lib\wireshark\extcap is not accessible by the program

- I can probably fix things so they go in .config/.wireshark - this wasn't intentional - although people may be more likely to find in in %HOME%/.wireshark?
- lib directory is probably safe to remove - I'll investigate modifying 'make install' to not install libs
- extcap directory needs modifying similar to share - I ran out of time for this - I'll update that for the next drop. I don't believe the extcap filters actually work yet anyway so it's not a deal breaker :)

Thanks for testing!

Paul

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #24 on: July 23, 2017, 10:41:27 pm »
HI Paul!

...
- I can probably fix things so they go in .config/.wireshark - this wasn't intentional - although people may be more likely to find in in %HOME%/.wireshark?
...

I would say leave it in the NEW location, that being %HOME%/.wireshark...I think that makes it more consistent with many other apps which do this.

Thanks for the confirmation on the lib directory contents as well.

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #25 on: July 24, 2017, 11:58:08 am »
Hi Dariusz,

HI Paul!

...
- I can probably fix things so they go in .config/.wireshark - this wasn't intentional - although people may be more likely to find in in %HOME%/.wireshark?
...

I would say leave it in the NEW location, that being %HOME%/.wireshark...I think that makes it more consistent with many other apps which do this.

Thanks for the confirmation on the lib directory contents as well.

http://smedley.id.au/tmp/wireshark-2.2.8-os2-20170724.zip should fix the extcap directory

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #26 on: July 24, 2017, 06:23:26 pm »
Hi Paul,

...http://smedley.id.au/tmp/wireshark-2.2.8-os2-20170724.zip should fix the extcap directory...

Sir...I would say that about "does it" for me...LOL!!!  ;D

Everything appears to be in the right place, thanks for removing the lib stuff that does not need to be distributed. Filters, colouring rules, etc, etc all appear to work fine with my test trace file. I will experiment with a few more within the next couple of days as I have a pesky problem with IIS on Win7 Pro install NOT responding to https requests.

Again, thank you...your efforts to keep on bringing awesome software to our OS/2 platform have always been, and continue to be greatly appreciated!

-Dariusz

BTW: I've attached the current 'Config Folder' snaptshot from Wireshark...this shows all the folders as being mapped to recognized system folders.

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #27 on: July 25, 2017, 12:55:17 am »
Hi Dariusz,

...http://smedley.id.au/tmp/wireshark-2.2.8-os2-20170724.zip should fix the extcap directory...

Sir...I would say that about "does it" for me...LOL!!!  ;D

Everything appears to be in the right place, thanks for removing the lib stuff that does not need to be distributed. Filters, colouring rules, etc, etc all appear to work fine with my test trace file. I will experiment with a few more within the next couple of days as I have a pesky problem with IIS on Win7 Pro install NOT responding to https requests.

Again, thank you...your efforts to keep on bringing awesome software to our OS/2 platform have always been, and continue to be greatly appreciated!

BTW: I've attached the current 'Config Folder' snaptshot from Wireshark...this shows all the folders as being mapped to recognized system folders.

Great! Appreciate the feedback.I'll look at adding the build to my site asap rather than it being just posted here.

Cheers,

Paul.

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #28 on: July 28, 2017, 11:21:15 pm »
Unfortunately, seems we're going to be stuck at v2.2.x of Wireshark for a while - v2.4.0 requires a minimum Qt level of 4.8.0 - which we of course, don't have :(

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Wireshark port
« Reply #29 on: July 31, 2017, 11:45:56 am »
Unfortunately, seems we're going to be stuck at v2.2.x of Wireshark for a while - v2.4.0 requires a minimum Qt level of 4.8.0 - which we of course, don't have :(

FWIW - I'm trying to update Qt to v4.8.x so we have the latest wireshark. If that's successful, I'll see how much has changed between 4.8.x and 5.x and see how I go, no promises :)