Author Topic: An os2ahci question  (Read 560 times)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 635
    • View Profile
An os2ahci question
« on: July 17, 2017, 02:19:09 pm »
I have a question about the OS2AHCI driver for all those of you that have and are using it from eCS2.2 to ArcaOS

My ASRock AM1H-ITX board has two SATA controllers
    2 x SATA3 6.0 Gb/s Connectors by AMD AM1 Series Socket 25W Quad-Core APU, support NCQ, AHCI and Hot Plug
    2 x SATA3 6.0 Gb/s Connectors by ASMedia ASM1061, support NCQ, AHCI and Hot Plug
Which can be individually switched on or off by the UEFI setup program.

Now, since I want to use at least 3 of those SATA sockets do I need to have the os2ahci listed as first and second driver in the initial setup for ArcaOS?

Logic says I should, there are two controllers, but I don't know if os2ahci is capable of having more than one instance running like the SCSI drivers did.

Any help is appreciated.
 



Lars

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 03:08:47 pm »
As far as I know one instance of OS2AHCI.ADD should be able to handle all SATA adapters that you have (and all ports attached to those adapters) just like DANIS506.ADD does for PATA/IDE.

My practical experience is that for some reason OS2AHCI.ADD (at least version 1.32) needs the /!R switch set to properly work with the AMD chipset implementation (I don't know off the top of my head what AMD chipset I exactly have). Otherwise, the System won't boot (and a SATA attached CD-ROM will also not work).

I don't know about the ASMedia HW.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2017, 03:52:36 pm »
Hi ivan

On my system with 2 SATA controllers only 1 instance of os2ahci.add is required in config.sys - but it needs to be the eCS2.2beta2 supplied version.


@lars
Which os2ahci.add v1.32 are you using? - Arca Noae or eCS?


Regards

Pete





Lars

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2017, 04:47:16 pm »
I am using the 1.32 Version that came with eCS beta 2.2.
That is the one you are having the least problems with ...

We also discussed this elsewhere: since I have an AMD chipset I HAVE TO specify the /!r switch, also already on installation (in short: on eCS beta 2.2 installation, I did specify this switch in the installation text menu and I have to do so each time I boot from the eCS Installation CD-ROM if I need to access my hard disks). Otherwise my hard disks are not accessible at all.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 635
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2017, 06:23:35 pm »
Thanks.

What you are saying explains why the DVD reader stops working almost straight-away.

Do either of you have a list of the switches and what they are for that you could let me have? 

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2017, 06:59:13 pm »
Hi ivan

The \sys\doc\AHCI\README.TXT (ArcaoS) or \ecs\DOC\OS2AHCI\README (eCS) has a list of switches/options.


Regards

Pete

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 635
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2017, 08:11:26 pm »
Thanks Pete,

I just found it on the ArcaOS DVD in the AHCI.WPI (thank goodness for WPIView).

Now I'm wondering if I need to use the /G switch for the ASMedia adapter (/G:1B21:1611).  At least that is something to test because the DVD drive still vanishes.

I thought retirement meant less thinking not more ;)

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2017, 02:37:11 am »
Hi ivan

The Marvel eSATA controller in my system is seen without the /G switch; the command copy os2ahci$ > os2ahci.trc shows it is identified as "Generic":-
      Adapter 1: PCI=3:0:0 ID=1b4b:9172 Generic Generic irq=47 addr=0xfe810000 version=10000


Time to turn on the thinking bit again  :-)

When you say "... the DVD drive still vanishes." is it seen at boot by the BIOS?

If "Yes" when does it "vanish"?

Is it just the dvd or the port or the controller that vanishes? - use the copy os2ahci$ > os2ahci.trc command and open the trc file in an editor to check what os2ahci "sees".

Have you tried the /!R switch?


Regards

Pete

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 635
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2017, 01:55:45 pm »
Sorry for the delay in responding - been in Spain for a couple of days.

Bios shows the DVD drive and allows it to be set to boot from first.

os2ahci$ gives:
Adapter 0: PCI=0:17:0 ID=1022:7801 AMD Generic irq=19 addr=0xffb6a000 version=10300
  Port 0:
    Drive 0: 60801 cylinders, 255 heads, 63 sectors per track (476937MB) (LVM)
             Model: TOSHIBA DT01ACA050                     
  Port 1:
    Drive 0: 60801 cylinders, 255 heads, 63 sectors per track (476937MB) (LVM)
             Model: TOSHIBA DT01ACA050                     
Adapter 1: PCI=1:0:0 ID=1b21:0612 Generic Generic irq=28 addr=0xffa00000 version=10200
  Port 0:
    No drive present

The !R setting does nothing in solving the problem.

I have tried changing the second disk and DVD but booting hangs after checking the partitions on the first disk.  If the DVD is back on the ASMedia adapter the boot process stalls just after OS2CDROM.DMD is loaded (if I wait for a half hour it eventually gets to starting the WPS but then throws a kernel fault.

So far the state of play is any combination of drive, DVD on adapter 0 with nothing on adapter 1 works without problems.  Add anything to adapter 1 and everything comes to a crashing halt.

I now have a replacement ITX board on order just in case this one is faulty.  I suppose the acid test would be to dig out a win7 dvd and see if that works.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 635
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2017, 04:41:30 pm »
I needed to go into my old workplace this afternoon so I dug out the the motherboard cd while I was there.

Found something interesting about the ASMedia SATA controller. 

From the readme:

* 2.  SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
************************************************************

1.  The system must contain one of the following ASMedia products:

   - Asmedia 106x SATA Controller   

2.  The system must be running on one of the following
    operating systems:
    - Microsoft* Windows* XP Home Edition
    - Microsoft* Windows* XP Professional
    - Microsoft* Windows* XP x64 Edition 
    - Microsoft* Windows* Server 2003
    - Microsoft* Windows* Server 2003 x64 Edition
    - Microsoft* Windows* Vista
    - Microsoft* Windows* Vista x64 Edition
    - Microsoft* Windows* Server 2008
    - Microsoft* Windows* Server 2008 x64 Edition 

     - Microsoft* Windows* Server 2008R2
     - Microsoft* Windows* Server 2008R2 x64 Edition
     - Microsoft* Windows* Win7
     - Microsoft* Windows* Win7 x64 Edition
     - Microsoft* Windows* Win8
     - Microsoft* Windows* Win8 x64 Edition
     - Microsoft* Windows* Win8.1
     - Microsoft* Windows* Win8.1 x64 Edition         

3. The following operating systems are not supported:

    Any version of the following Microsoft operating systems:
    - MS-DOS
    - Windows 3.1
    - Windows NT 3.51
    - Windows 95
    - Windows 98
    - Windows Millennium Edition (Me)
    - Windows NT 4.0
    - Windows 2000 Datacenter Server

    Any version of the following operating systems:
    - Linux
    - UNIX
    - BeOS
    - MacOS
    - OS/2
***********************************************************

So it looks as if it is a 'no go' as far as OS/2 ArcaOS is concerned although there appear to be some Linux drivers for it.


André Heldoorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 46
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 276
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2017, 05:09:00 pm »
So it looks as if it is a 'no go' as far as OS/2 ArcaOS is concerned although there appear to be some Linux drivers for it.

Yes, no support doesn't mean 'no go', albeit IRL no support promotes a 'no go'.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2017, 06:55:31 pm »
Hi ivan


Looks like Asmedia only supplies drivers for the supported OS's rather than the hardware will not work with any other OS's.

As you stated the ASMedia supports 2 SATA devices but only 1 port is reported by os2ahci$ for Adapter1 (ASMedia) the problem seems to be lack of support for the ASMedia in the os2ahci.add driver in use.

Which port is the dvd attached to?

Did you use the Win7 dvd to test hardware is working as expected?


Regards

Pete


« Last Edit: July 20, 2017, 08:21:24 pm by Pete »

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 635
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2017, 10:57:10 pm »
Tried the three versions of os2ahci that I have, one from each of the ArcsOS versions and the eCS one I that was sent to me for testing.  All gave the same results.

Installed win7 ultimate 64 without any problems (setup with three hard disks and the DVD drive, the third HD is on the ASMedia controller and has the win7 installed on it).  When I say no problems the win7 DVD booted up while the ArcaOS DVD wouldn't even boot if there was anything on the ASMedia controller.  It installed and I could use it without the ASMedia driver being installed.  Installing the driver made the OS a little quicker in disk intensive usage.

Now I have two choices:
1) find another ITX board that has 4 SATA ports that os2ahci can see and use and also uses an AMD 25W processor.
2) use a single 2TB drive in place of the two smaller units and give up on the idea of using a removable SATA drive carrier or give up using the DVD (since I need the DVD writer that is a 'no go').

Maybe someone knows if an ITX board that fits those requirements (no Intel processors please) but so fat I haven't been able to find one.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: An os2ahci question
« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2017, 12:17:38 am »
Hi ivan

Looks like none of the os2ahci.add drivers currently available can work with the ASMedia controller...

Have you tried using /VW as the ACPI parameter along with the AHCI parameter /!R? - if it is an iRQ related problem it may help.

I also suggest posting a bug report with Arca Noae about the problem - more chance of a fix if the problem is known  :-)


Regards

Pete