Author Topic: XWP v1.0.12 Beta 1  (Read 3788 times)

David Graser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: XWP v1.0.12 Beta 1
« Reply #30 on: January 04, 2018, 06:01:46 am »
Andreas

Thanks for the info.

I touched up 4 of my xwp logos.  Although not perfect, they are better.  I made the T_XWPlace.bmp a little smaller and named it T_XWPlace_6.bmp.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2018, 06:12:50 am by David Graser »

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 309
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: XWP v1.0.12 Beta 1
« Reply #31 on: January 11, 2018, 05:59:02 am »
What does it mean when I get a message like the one shown in the attachment? This is eCS 2.2 b2 with whatever eWorkplace that was.

Is this a known, fixed issue?
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 93
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: XWP v1.0.12 Beta 1
« Reply #32 on: January 11, 2018, 06:13:22 am »
Just what it says, your ini files have corruption and have lost your desktops handle. I've had that happen on Warp 4 but never seen that dialog. You could follow the directions are restore your ini files from a backup. IIRC, I've also used checkini to fix it.
Actually, one possibility is that they've grown too big and need something like checkini ran against them.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
Re: XWP v1.0.12 Beta 1
« Reply #33 on: January 11, 2018, 04:11:08 pm »
...Actually, one possibility is that they've grown too big and need something like checkini ran against them.

Whenever I see this issue my first option is to run checkini, if that fails, I restore my INI from backups.

Checkini will almost immediately tell you if it can fix the issue or not. The DESKTOP handle is one of the very first things it checks, if it can not find it nor determine what it should be, it basically stops, at which point in time you know the only other fix is the INI restore.

FYI, there may be other ways of dealing with this, but the above is what my process is, similarly to Dave's I believe.

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 331
    • View Profile
Re: XWP v1.0.12 Beta 1
« Reply #34 on: January 11, 2018, 04:36:24 pm »
Quote
The DESKTOP handle is one of the very first things it checks, if it can not find it nor determine what it should be, it basically stops, at which point in time you know the only other fix is the INI restore.
Checkini tells you how to run with the option to set the desktop entry (IIRC /DC:\DESTOP, or for me /DM:Arbeitsoberfläche). This was sometimes useful to me in the past. But of course the inis got corrupted in some way or the other and maybe restoring it from a backup would be a better option in such cases.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
Re: XWP v1.0.12 Beta 1
« Reply #35 on: January 12, 2018, 09:07:26 pm »
..Checkini tells you how to run with the option to set the desktop entry (IIRC /DC:\DESTOP, or for me /DM:Arbeitsoberfläche)...

Andi, great point, I completely forgot about this option since I rarely (if ever?) use it.

I look at the OS2 INI files as the proverbial Achilles Heel of OS/2. They are so touchy, break down so often, or maybe it is just that after years of adding to a base system, then removing stuff, then adding again too much stufff is crammed into a structure that never had the design architecture to permit the growth and/or changes I put it through.

Rich Walsh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: XWP v1.0.12 Beta 1
« Reply #36 on: January 12, 2018, 10:50:34 pm »
In a case like this, I'd add "SET DESKTOP=C:\DESKTOP" (or whatever) to config.sys, then reboot and run checkini rather than letting XWP try to fix it.

Note: the nature of the error message ("PrfQueryProfileSize failed on handles data block from OS2SYS.ini") suggests that os2sys.ini is hosed and that both INIs may need to be restored from backup. Nonetheless, try the simple fix(es) first.