Author Topic: oddities with OS2AHCI version 2.04  (Read 1597 times)

mike

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: oddities with OS2AHCI version 2.04
« Reply #15 on: January 01, 2018, 08:14:48 pm »
I cannot find any proof for this claims. In fact the Advanced Host Controller Interface is a specification by Intel.
It is true that Intel introduced this AHCI specification but its a general standard like most interface specifications.

Quote
The OS2AHCI adapter device driver is based on older code from Linux or BSD. There has never been a certification process (that would fail) at all.
If I'm not mistaken then the core driver was ported around 2012, BSD code.  A "funny" thing is when we still need to bother with AHCI but should already move to NVMe.  Somebody has an open ticket at AN for a non working AHCI driver on a current system? What is not working, the initialization ?  Lars should open a ticket for his issue anyway.

mike

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: oddities with OS2AHCI version 2.04
« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2018, 08:26:07 pm »
That is interesting, could you please ask them to give us some information.  I have not been able to do that on boards with the X370 chipset, the B350 chipset and the A320 chipset using both a Ryzen 7 and Ryzen 5 CPU.  Even an A12 APU with those chipsets is problematic.
I will try to find out.. Also don't forget that with Ryzen some ports are severed directly by the integrated chipset from the CPU, with the A12 (Bristol Ridge?) its integrated chipset is disabled when used together with a external chipset like in your case. What means problematic? Write errors?

Quote
Also, any board with as ASMedia chipset for AHCI is a no go.  From that the only conclusion that can be drawn is that there is NO standard unless it is an Intel or Intel supported chipset with our OS2AHCI driver.
This ASMedia ship is not a so called fake raid adapter? There is a standard, just because new hardware doesn't work from the start is another issue, or why work older amd ahci chipsets with no problem?

Ian Manners

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 262
  • I am the computer, it is me.
    • View Profile
    • ComKal Networks Australia
Re: oddities with OS2AHCI version 2.04
« Reply #17 on: January 02, 2018, 04:27:02 am »
A quick side question,

what size is the ahci-2.04.exe package? I see the latest version is a lot smaller, I haven't been able to install it as the file is corrupt so after a couple of weeks I have just re downloaded it but it still shows as corrupt, unable to run the exe or extract the files.

252988         342  ahci-2.03.exe
 98876           0  ahci-2.04.exe
Cheers
Ian B Manners

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 93
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: oddities with OS2AHCI version 2.04
« Reply #18 on: January 02, 2018, 04:53:31 am »
The version on the 5.0.1.6 ISO is 98876 bytes and it installs fine. Retesting, warpin says it is 2.04. The driver is 63KB and the documentation is 53KB according to Warpin. I pressed cancel at the install phase as I've already installed this version of ArcaOS a few times.

David Graser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: oddities with OS2AHCI version 2.04
« Reply #19 on: January 02, 2018, 06:53:35 am »
A quick side question,

what size is the ahci-2.04.exe package? I see the latest version is a lot smaller, I haven't been able to install it as the file is corrupt so after a couple of weeks I have just re downloaded it but it still shows as corrupt, unable to run the exe or extract the files.

252988         342  ahci-2.03.exe
 98876           0  ahci-2.04.exe

Are you using XWP with turbo folders enabled?  When installing with FM/2 and Filestar 2, my wpi would not install because the WPS default thought they were text files and was trying to read them as text files.  I disabled Turbo folders and all WPIs and EXEs installed nicely.

David

Ian Manners

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 262
  • I am the computer, it is me.
    • View Profile
    • ComKal Networks Australia
Re: oddities with OS2AHCI version 2.04
« Reply #20 on: January 02, 2018, 08:28:32 am »
Hi Dave and David,

WPI files open Warpinstaller ok here, my wifes complaining about corrupt files as well so looks like somethings not right with our internet depending on location. I know the Perth(Australia)-Singapore undersea cable is down again so we are going to the world via USA undersea cable at present via Sydney(Australia). I'll try d/ling file again in a weeks time. Thanks for checking.
Cheers
Ian B Manners

Yoda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: oddities with OS2AHCI version 2.04
« Reply #21 on: January 03, 2018, 02:51:20 pm »
Quote
Not sure how, but some people got a "OS/2" to work on a Ryzen based system.

That is interesting, could you please ask them to give us some information.  I have not been able to do that on boards with the X370 chipset, the B350 chipset and the A320 chipset using both a Ryzen 7 and Ryzen 5 CPU.  Even an A12 APU with those chipsets is problematic.

Also, any board with as ASMedia chipset for AHCI is a no go.  From that the only conclusion that can be drawn is that there is NO standard unless it is an Intel or Intel supported chipset with our OS2AHCI driver.

AHCI driver is an Open standard, but it is not a fixed standard. Just like USB it evolves, and the driver really should be updated to latest standards.
That said, I have a Ryzen 7 1700X  system with X370 chipset. Trying to get that running with ACPI from Mensys or Arca is impossible, but it does
work without any ACPI. The board also have an ASMedia controller, which I am uncertain about if it works, as I currently am not using it. A third
controller is for a SATA attached NVMe/PCIe card. One of these controllers have to be ignored in the driver, or it takes 3 minutes to boot.

To get the Ryzen 7 CPU up to full speed, you need the OS4kernel. Combined with OS4 ACPI driver, This works with all 8 CPUs + SMT
aka 16 threads. It runs very stable here.

The OS4kernel also gives you support for AVX instructions, which many video related apps use (browers video players etc)

Tested here with AHCI 2.0 - 2.03