Author Topic: How to make Tor work on eCS  (Read 5955 times)

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
How to make Tor work on eCS
« on: April 01, 2014, 08:58:20 pm »
Tor is a program to facilitate anonymous web browsing. Paul Smedley ported it, but there aren't instructions on how to make Tor work on eCS.


http://os2ports.smedley.id.au/index.php?page=tor

There are two applications of Tor. The first is just to get Tor to work with Firefox and use the existing Tor network.

The second is to run a Tor server as a part of the Tor network to let others browse anonymously.

I don't know which of these applications have been ported, or even, as I suspect that both functions are part of the Tor executable.

I have no idea how to begin doing either of these applications. Any Tor users out there care to comment?


Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 255
  • -Receive: 49
  • Posts: 1708
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 12:08:23 am »
Hi Neil.

Run tor.exe and wait until it gets to 100%, I think it is connecting to the network.

Open Firefox and on Settings,  Advanced put your localhost as a socks server and port 9050.

Try: http://whatismyipaddress.com/
And check your up address.

Google does not work fine when you use this socks thing.

I'm not sure if that is a way to use it, but that is the way that website see you with another IP.  Other comments are welcome.

« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 01:57:51 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2014, 04:26:22 am »
I installed Tor, and configured Firefox, and I found it to work. As you mention, google will no longer search.

I also installed Vidalia, which is a control panel for tor. I changed my setup to put Vidalia in the startup folder instead of tor. Now I have a nice control panel for tor.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2014, 05:11:16 am by Neil Waldhauer »
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2014, 03:39:36 am »
Hi All

Just started experimenting with Seamonkey and tor - Seamonkey requires the proxy changes in Edit, Preferences, Advanced, Proxies.

Seems to be working as sites like http://www.myipnumber.com/my-ip-address.asp get my ip address wrong  :-)

However, I now find that I cannot access my Virgin SuperHub configuration and see this instead:-

Failed to Connect       
       
          The connection was refused when attempting to contact 192.168.0.1.

Looks like tor works too well. Guess I need to look into setting up a tor configuration file to allow me access to my router/cable modem configuration. All help welcome.

I thought I'd give vidalia a try as it looks like a neat frontend to tor but it is unable to start tor. Looking at the message log I see this:-

May 15 02:00:13.441 [Notice] Tor v0.2.4.20 (git-3cb5c70beec5bf46) running on OS/2 with Libevent 2.0.21-stable and OpenSSL 1.0.0g.
May 15 02:00:13.441 [Notice] Tor can't help you if you use it wrong! Learn how to be safe at https://www.torproject.org/download/download#warning
May 15 02:00:13.441 [Warning] Unable to open configuration file "J:/PROGRAMS/TOR/VIDALIA/I:\USERS\PETER\HOME\.vidalia\torrc".
May 15 02:00:13.441 [Error] Reading config failed--see warnings above.


Looks like there is a problem with vidalia as it seems to be appending the configuration file drive:\path\filename to the drive:\path that vidalia is installed in and then passing the resulting mess to tor which then bitches that it cannot open(find) the configuration file.

I've created a bug report http://trac.netlabs.org/qtapps/ticket/82#ticket


Regards

Pete



Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 91
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2014, 05:29:13 am »

However, I now find that I cannot access my Virgin SuperHub configuration and see this instead:-

Failed to Connect       
       
          The connection was refused when attempting to contact 192.168.0.1.

Looks like tor works too well. Guess I need to look into setting up a tor configuration file to allow me access to my router/cable modem configuration. All help welcome.


Just go to SeaMonkeys proxy preferences and add localhost, 127.0..1, 192.168.0.1 etc to the No Proxy for box. See the example right under the box
Dave

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2014, 09:00:25 pm »
Hi Dave

Thanks, that worked fine.

The Vidalia problem was *not* a Vidalia problem. The problem was in Tor v0.2.4.20 and is resolved in Tor v0.2.4.21

Anyone looking for Tor documentation should probably start here https://www.torproject.org/docs/documentation.html.en
Obviously nothing specific to eCS (OS/2)...


Regards

Pete

Boris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 310
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2014, 09:43:20 am »
LIABILITY DISCLAIMER: this is how I understand and what I know, I may be highly inaccurate, or even completely wrong! There are no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of my posts. Think on your own!

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 46
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2014, 09:26:04 am »
updated tor version for testing:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/76425158/tor-0.2.5.10-os2-20141108.zip

Note, only minimally tested locally
« Last Edit: November 08, 2014, 09:33:43 am by Paul Smedley »

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 46
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2016, 11:55:36 am »

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2016, 07:10:59 pm »
Hi Paul

Seems to work as well as previous versions; still has the "[Error] libevent call with select failed: Bad address" problem though  :-(


Regards

Pete

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 91
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2016, 02:29:21 am »
Paul, perhaps this would help, https://github.com/bitwiseworks/mozilla-os2/blob/master/ipc/chromium/src/third_party/libevent/select.c and of course above this is other fixes that dmik did.

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 46
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
Re: How to make Tor work on eCS
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2016, 11:33:32 am »
Hi Dave,

Paul, perhaps this would help, https://github.com/bitwiseworks/mozilla-os2/blob/master/ipc/chromium/src/third_party/libevent/select.c and of course above this is other fixes that dmik did.

Thanks, but I shoplifted these fixes a while ago. I'd also hoped that the select() changes in libcx would help, but unfortunately not.

Cheers,

Paul