• Welcome to OS2World OLD-STATIC-BACKUP Forum.

News:

This is an old OS2World backup forum for reference only. IT IS READ ONLY!!!

If you need help with OS/2 - eComStation visit http://www.os2world.com/forum

Main Menu

Developer looking for VisualAge C++

Started by RTB2011, 2011.04.25, 13:41:32

Previous topic - Next topic

RTB2011

Hello all, pretty much all that needs to be said is in the description.  I'm a pretty skilled developer at C and C++ on other platforms, and would like to try my hand at OS/2.  I need a decent compiler however, and it's looking as though VisualAge C++ is still required for many things.  If anyone could help me obtain a new or second hand copy I'd be willing to pay a fair fee.

Thanks in advance!

miturbide

Hi RTB2011

Are you looking to develop something specific that requires VisualAge C++.

I'm not an expert in development, but the problem with VisualAge C++ is that compiler that is no longer improved or sold anymore.  Currently the OS/2 and eCS community is also looking at more open source solutions for development like GCC and the QT libraries.

Other thing that I remember about VisualAge C++ is that there was a big difference between version 3 and version 4. Even some developers preferred to stay on version 3, since they don't considered version 4 bugfixed.

Or are you planning to develop something that specifically requires VisualAge c++?

Martin

Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com

abwillis