Author Topic: new remote desktop client ?  (Read 2922 times)

Richard Dunkle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
new remote desktop client ?
« on: August 01, 2016, 11:51:17 am »
Is there any current solution for a remote desktop client to connect to Windows?  There does not appear to be any application to connect to Win10.

Greggory Shaw

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 37
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 418
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2016, 12:07:21 pm »
Add a VNC server to Windows.

http://www.tightvnc.com/download.php

Richard Dunkle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2016, 12:14:49 pm »
Yes, I am aware of vnc.
It would be impractical to add a vnc server to each windows host I need to work on.

David McKenna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 187
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2016, 12:54:38 pm »
 Haven't tried it myself, but there is 'RDesktop' on Hobbes. Might be worth a try....

Richard Dunkle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2016, 02:12:28 pm »
That was a great idea! 
The program works well.

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 39
  • Posts: 1007
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2016, 06:32:12 pm »
That was a great idea! 
The program works well.

I have looked at that program, but I can't seem to find the secret incantation to make it actually work. I am pretty sure that my problem is understanding how to set up windows, and what it actually needs. Any possibility that you could produce some simple instructions?

Thanks...

Greggory Shaw

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 37
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 418
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2016, 11:01:03 pm »
Richard, what the setup string that you used ?

RDESKTOP.EXE -g75p -r disk:home=D:\home -r clipboard:PRIMARYCLIPBOARD -r sound -u WinUser -p ChangeMe 192.168.1.10

Getting this error:

Failed to connect, CredSSP required by server.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2016, 02:54:47 am by Greggory Shaw »

Richard Dunkle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2016, 11:08:34 am »
Maybe you are missing one of those required addon dll -   libc  libgcc1  openssl   ?
I used the Arca Noae Pkg Manager to get one of them before I tried rdesktop.

Make sure on the Windows side to enable  RDP server
Right mouse click on "This PC"  |  Properties  |  Remote Setting  | check "Allow remote connections to this computer"
uncheck "allow connections only from computers running Remote Desktop with NLA"

I connect to a wide variety of Windows machines with the rdesktop.  Here is the simple command line I use:

rdesktop -g1358x1018 -a16 -uusername  -0 -5 -z -xRDP5 hostname

Many times I am using rdesktop over a ssh tunnel. I make an ssh connection then using port forwarding to connect to the actual Windows machine

rdesktop -g1358x1018 -a16 -uusername  -0 -5 -z -xRDP5 localhost:3389


Greggory Shaw

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 37
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 418
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2016, 11:35:17 am »
...
uncheck "allow connections only from computers running Remote Desktop with NLA"



That did the trick thanks

Greggory

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 39
  • Posts: 1007
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2016, 05:00:02 pm »
Okay, this is what I was missing:
Quote
uncheck "allow connections only from computers running Remote Desktop with NLA"

Now I can experiment with other things. THANKS.

RickCHodgin

  • Guest
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2016, 01:20:41 am »
TeamViewer allows a remote system to maintain a number and password which allow you to access it from anywhere on Windows, Mac, or Linux.  It's free for non-commercial use.

We used a tool at a large business I worked at called DameWare.  It was amazing for its time (2011).  It allowed remote network installation on any Windows PC, so we didn't have to do anything in front of the remote machine, just know the IP address.  It was fee-based, but well worth it in the time it saved us.

Best regards,
Rick C. Hodgin
« Last Edit: August 03, 2016, 01:33:11 am by Rick C. Hodgin »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 403
    • View Profile
Re: new remote desktop client ?
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2016, 04:15:47 am »
I just spent some time today getting this configured across my multiple Win7 machines and my OS/2 box.

In short, as already mentioned used the Win option for "simple" RDP connection...do not rely on the more complex authentication, versioning checks, etc.

On the OS/2 side of things I am a little curious about the following parameters...I emailed Andrey (the author) and waiting for feedback at the moment.

1) -P: use persistent bitmap caching

2) -b: force bitmap updates

3) -D: hide window manager decorations

4) -x: RDP5 experience (m[odem 28.8], b[roadband], l[an] or hex nr.)

It looks like using this properly might produce an optimized (smaller traffic, etc) experience...???