Author Topic: Qt6 Application Testing  (Read 304780 times)

TeLLie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #750 on: January 15, 2025, 09:24:29 pm »
Hi Paul,

F.e Tea comiled fine, but doodle or some other progs i get this error..


David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #751 on: January 15, 2025, 11:03:54 pm »
 Hey Paul,

  Went thru all the examples of 6.8 and results are almost exactly like for 6.6, except maybe fewer actual crashes (only http and rhiwindow actually crashed). The 'quick' and 'quickcontrols' had the most issues, and they were all related to the 'maximum call stack size exceeded' error. Some of the quick examples didn't work because the 'shared' folder was missing though.

  On a related note, I was browsing at the QT website (https://www.qt.io/blog/qt-6.5-lts-released) and noticed in the 'QT Multimedia' section this:

"The FFmpeg media backend is now the default for macOS, Windows, Android, and desktop Linux - on embedded systems, GStreamer continues to be the default, but FFmpeg can be enabled explicitly. This backend makes the same functionality available consistently on almost all platforms."

 Would it be possible to enable ffmpeg for the OS/2 port to use as its multimedia backend?

Regards,




Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5168
  • Karma: +118/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #752 on: January 16, 2025, 01:19:49 am »
Is there anything in popuplog.os2? I wonder if a larger stack would help for the quick controls and maybe other stuff. IIRC, the default is 1MB, which you'd think would be fine but any recursion like what was likely happening to git will blow through a MB.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2370
  • Karma: +183/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #753 on: January 16, 2025, 02:39:31 am »
Is there anything in popuplog.os2? I wonder if a larger stack would help for the quick controls and maybe other stuff. IIRC, the default is 1MB, which you'd think would be fine but any recursion like what was likely happening to git will blow through a MB.

Easy enough to check with something like:
Code: [Select]
emxstack -s8096 executablename.exe

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2370
  • Karma: +183/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #754 on: January 16, 2025, 02:40:23 am »
Hi Paul,

F.e Tea comiled fine, but doodle or some other progs i get this error..

Looks the same as the TRP I was getting with qmlcachegen.ex, which stemmed in qhash.h - will have to see what changed compared to earlier Qt builds...

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #755 on: January 16, 2025, 12:10:01 pm »
 No POPUPLOG for any of the examples with the 'Maximum call stack size exceeded' error. Tried the 'emxstack' size increase trick, but it made no difference on any example I tried...

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2370
  • Karma: +183/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #756 on: January 16, 2025, 08:39:13 pm »
No POPUPLOG for any of the examples with the 'Maximum call stack size exceeded' error. Tried the 'emxstack' size increase trick, but it made no difference on any example I tried...

I need to review the code that triggers the 'stack size exceeded' error - I think it may be a furphy...

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5168
  • Karma: +118/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #757 on: January 16, 2025, 08:54:19 pm »
You can try setting LIBC_THREAD_MIN_STACK_SIZE to a larger size then the default of 4096 bytes. Perhaps as high as 65636, though 32768 or 16384 might be enough.

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #758 on: January 16, 2025, 10:26:04 pm »
Dave,

You can try setting LIBC_THREAD_MIN_STACK_SIZE to a larger size then the default of 4096 bytes. Perhaps as high as 65636, though 32768 or 16384 might be enough.

  Tried that on a few examples, but no change...

  Maybe the error is a result of something else entirely. Here is a typical result:

C:\qt6.8\examples\quick\models\stringlistmodel\bin\stringlistmodelexample
qrc:/qt/qml/stringlistmodel/view.qml:12:15: QML Component: Cannot create delegate
qrc:/qt/qml/stringlistmodel/view.qml: Maximum call stack size exceeded.
qrc:/qt/qml/stringlistmodel/view.qml:12:15: QML Component: Cannot create delegate
qrc:/qt/qml/stringlistmodel/view.qml: Maximum call stack size exceeded.

 A small blank window opened for this example. Maybe the 'Cannot create delegate' results in an overflowed stack?

Regards,
« Last Edit: January 16, 2025, 10:32:48 pm by David McKenna »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2370
  • Karma: +183/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #759 on: January 17, 2025, 08:13:52 am »
Teaser screenshot.... Still need to get plugins working....

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2370
  • Karma: +183/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #760 on: Today at 01:00:10 am »
Plugins working now - need to work on packaging and making it portable, so it can be moved out of /scribus

https://smedley.id.au/tmp/scribus-1.7.0svn-os2-qt6-6.8.x-20250118.zip - needs Qt 6.8.x

I'll try sort out the packaging either this evening or tomorrow.
« Last Edit: Today at 01:08:14 am by Paul Smedley »