OS/2, eCS & ArcaOS - Technical > Networking

Intel 6205 Wireless, GenMAC, GenMU Test, and ArcaOS

(1/3) > >>

Eric:
Hi,

This is my first time attempting to configure wireless, so I am not sure what output I should be expecting on some screens.  Whatever the case, I can't connect to my test open network using my Intel 6205 Wireless card on my laptop (Thinkpad X230) running ArcaOS5.  I have installed Genmac 2.20 (from the website) and the Intel TEST drivers (0.4.6) from http://www.os2world.com/wiki/index.php/GenMU.  I can add a network device of my card type and code (8086:0085).  I then use xwlan (3.12) to try and connect to my open network (using a profile).

I think the driver is installed based off the Genmac wireless scan output (attached genmac scan output) and the ifconfig lan1 having different flags than lan2 (attached ifconfig output).

The one weird thing I've noticed is that on the Device tab of xwlan properties, there's no Wireless LAN device driver listed in the dropdown, however driver version and capabilities are listed as the doco says (attached wxlan devices tab screenshot).  I think this is because GenMac isn't listing a name for the device in its output though, so it probably is carrying over.

Are there any logs I can look at?  Can anyone point me in the proper direction?  I looked at the Genmac log in C:\genmac\driver\wrnd32.log, but I think that's all OK (no obvious errors that I can spot at least).  I'm running out of ways to debug, besides looking at random files I come across on the filesystem ;)  Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Pete:
Hi Eric

You can have a look through \ibmcom\lantran.log and also check \ibmcom\protocol.ini looks right.

Due to the problems I bumped into trying to get an Intel 5100 working I can only offer some advice - you may not like it as it means reinstalling ArcaOS. These are the steps I needed to take to get an Intel (Dell) 5100 wireless nic working - hopefully I have not missed anything out.