Author Topic: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???  (Read 5377 times)

Greg Pringle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #30 on: June 25, 2018, 11:18:01 pm »
This might sound academic but have you changed the cables? I have found some cables will not work at high speeds. Change to cat Cat 6 between your computer and router and see if it performs better.

Here is a speed test I just did between an ArcaOS machine and an Ecomstation machine on the local net with the Ecomstation machine on the other side of a local router. (So the trafic is routed instead of switched).

ftp> bin
200 Type set to I.
ftp> put efs097v11a4_all.tar
200 PORT command successful.
150 Opening Binary mode data connection for /tmp/efs097v11a4_all.tar
Sent 13178880 bytes
226 Binary transfer complete.
local: efs097v11a4_all.tar remote: efs097v11a4_all.tar
13178880 bytes sent in 1.36 seconds (9463 Kbytes/s)


massimo s.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #31 on: June 26, 2018, 02:15:59 pm »
hey, all CAT7 SFTP here, the switch is a gigabit ethernet layer3 cisco sg300-28  :)

NIC is binded at 1Gigabit full duplex

anyway doing ftp from other machines in my lan i get about 22MegaBytes/sec
the issue is only with downloading from the internet
where all W10 machines are a very lot faster, even the very old netbook asus eee pc and the smartphone :(

i've tried right now to download a big file from a eCS2.1 server in my LAN and it download via the old ibm ftp at 13MegaBytes/sec
that is not excellent, but surely quite good and sufficient for me

i repeat the issue is downloading http/s or ftp from the internet only
of course i see performances not real (in downstreaming) also from the varius speedtests (eg. ookla speedtest.net)

massimo
« Last Edit: June 26, 2018, 02:51:46 pm by massimo s. »

Rich Walsh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 64
  • ONU! (OS/2 is NOT Unix!)
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #32 on: June 27, 2018, 06:42:06 am »
i repeat the issue is downloading http/s or ftp from the internet only

Since no one else has mentioned these:

MTU - are you absolutely sure each system's MTU  is set correctly for your WAN? I was getting half-speed out of my connection until I realized MTU was set to the default of 1500 while my ISP's network needed 1492. Once that was corrected, I started getting the same speed I get with Win or Lin.

Injoy Firewall - I know almost nothing about this product but recall seeing a recent bug report somewhere claiming a major slow-down when it was active. Regardless, a direct connection to your provider's box by a machine that isn't weighed-down by IP-addons like a software firewall might be informative.

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #33 on: June 27, 2018, 08:07:17 am »
Hi!

I use Injoy (latest build) too and I could do test without it (same results) as well checked and set the correct maximum MTU.
I have a similar problem, speed didn't go above 15Mbps while I have 75Mbps under windows.

Regard,
Rémy

(older network specialist)
 

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 1514
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #34 on: June 27, 2018, 08:37:48 am »
i repeat the issue is downloading http/s or ftp from the internet only

Since no one else has mentioned these:

MTU - are you absolutely sure each system's MTU  is set correctly for your WAN? I was getting half-speed out of my connection until I realized MTU was set to the default of 1500 while my ISP's network needed 1492. Once that was corrected, I started getting the same speed I get with Win or Lin.

I was going to mention this, a problem that was particularly bad on eCS as they had mtudiscover mis-configured to not discover the mtu. Worth trying to force a small number such as 576 and working up. Might have to set mtudiscover to zero before testing with something like "ifconfig lan0 mtu 576'

Greg Pringle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #35 on: June 27, 2018, 03:49:57 pm »
There is an easier way to find the actual MTU size using OS/2.

From a command prompt run ping like this:
ping www.yahoo.com 1472 2
PING atsv2-fp.wg1.b.yahoo.com: 1472 data bytes
1480 bytes from 72.30.35.10: icmp_seq=0. time=20. ms
1480 bytes from 72.30.35.10: icmp_seq=1. time=20. ms

Shown are the actual results.
If this shows results then do it again and increase the number 1472 until the ping does not return results.

If this does not return then lower the number 1472 until the ping returns values.

Once the highest number is found that returns results then add 28 to that for the MTU size.

So, in the above 1472 + 28 = 1500

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 1514
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #36 on: June 28, 2018, 05:50:05 am »
Interesting, didn't realize that our ping could do that. do get weird result though,
Code: [Select]
E:\test>ping www.yahoo.com 996 2
PING atsv2-fp.wg1.b.yahoo.com: 996 data bytes
1004 bytes from 98.137.246.8: icmp_seq=0. time=50. ms
1004 bytes from 98.137.246.8: icmp_seq=1. time=60. ms

----atsv2-fp.wg1.b.yahoo.com PING Statistics----
2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip (ms)  min/avg/max = 50/55/60

E:\test>ping www.yahoo.com 997 2
PING atsv2-fp.wg1.b.yahoo.com: 997 data bytes

----atsv2-fp.wg1.b.yahoo.com PING Statistics----
2 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

Which implies that my MTU should be 1024, yet things seem to work fine with it at 1500.
Testing with SpeedSmart, the numbers are all over the place no matter which MTU I use, have to test when the neighbours aren't watching Netflix :)

Lars

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 28
  • Posts: 238
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #37 on: June 28, 2018, 08:12:56 am »
For everyone using the (lousy) OS/2 DHCP client (dynamic IP address served by a DHCP server instead of static address), you need to add this line to %ETC%\dhcpcd.cfg:

ifconfig_options "mtu 1492 -trailers"

Adjust to your needs. "-trailers" promises some speed improvement, I don't know if that helps.

Ian Manners

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 35
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 287
  • I am the computer, it is me.
    • View Profile
    • ComKal Networks Australia
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #38 on: June 28, 2018, 06:10:06 pm »
If you are using static IP's, put it in your x:\mptn\bin\setup.cmd file on the ipconfig line for your interface, ie

    ifconfig lan0 192.168.1.4 netmask 255.255.255.0 -trailers

trailers have been off for linux/unix for a long time, though there it is specified as 'notrailers', it applies to static as well as dynamic IP's.
If you are only using dhcp, you can add it as "ifconfig lan0 -trailers" to your setup.cmd file or as you say, to your dhcpcd.cfg file.

I looked at it decade(s) ago and could not see any difference. YMMV

For OS/2, '-trailers'  means turn it off, 'trailers' means turn it on. From memory that's how it worked.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2018, 05:48:20 am by Ian Manners »
Cheers
Ian B Manners

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 1514
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #39 on: June 29, 2018, 01:55:27 am »
According to the TCPIP documentation on ifconfig, -trailers is the default. For DHCP, it is less clear,but to quote the DHCP server documentation,
Quote
This option is specified only at the DHCP server.

Client negotiates (1) or does not negotiate (0) the use of trailers when using Address Resolution Protocol (ARP).   For more information, see RFC 893.

Configuration file format: Boolean

So not much point if adding it to the clients DHCPCD.CFG file and the templates for the server default to off. Now to read RFC 893, http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc893.html
« Last Edit: June 29, 2018, 01:57:37 am by Dave Yeo »

Andy Willis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #40 on: June 29, 2018, 05:47:28 am »
For everyone using the (lousy) OS/2 DHCP client (dynamic IP address served by a DHCP server instead of static address), you need to add this line to %ETC%\dhcpcd.cfg:

ifconfig_options "mtu 1492 -trailers"

Adjust to your needs. "-trailers" promises some speed improvement, I don't know if that helps.

Is this equivalent to:
option 34 on
or
option 34 off
?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 1514
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #41 on: June 29, 2018, 05:56:21 am »
For everyone using the (lousy) OS/2 DHCP client (dynamic IP address served by a DHCP server instead of static address), you need to add this line to %ETC%\dhcpcd.cfg:

ifconfig_options "mtu 1492 -trailers"

Adjust to your needs. "-trailers" promises some speed improvement, I don't know if that helps.

Off.
Quote
Is this equivalent to:
option 34 on
or
option 34 off
?
« Last Edit: June 29, 2018, 04:25:31 pm by Dave Yeo »

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #42 on: June 29, 2018, 01:19:40 pm »
For everyone using the (lousy) OS/2 DHCP client (dynamic IP address served by a DHCP server instead of static address), you need to add this line to %ETC%\dhcpcd.cfg:

ifconfig_options "mtu 1492 -trailers"

Adjust to your needs. "-trailers" promises some speed improvement, I don't know if that helps.

Does not improve performance here.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 1514
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #43 on: July 12, 2018, 08:22:13 am »
Found this for testing,
Code: [Select]
wget -O speedtest-cli https://raw.githubusercontent.com/sivel/speedtest-cli/master/speedtest.py
python speedtest-cli

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Moved to UltraFibre 120 Mb/s but OS/2 chugs at 10 Mb/s...???
« Reply #44 on: July 12, 2018, 06:29:08 pm »
I have a 200 Mbit/s connection
And i get this:
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Testing from Xs4all Internet BV (83.161.157.109)...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by Tilaa B.V. (Amsterdam) [6.94 km]: 5.833 ms
Testing download speed...............................
Download: 208.87 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed.................................
Upload: 176.00 Mbit/s

I use ArcaNoa