Author Topic: RPM team issues, anyone else had this experience?  (Read 10937 times)

Dariusz Piatkowski

• View Profile
RPM team issues, anyone else had this experience?
« on: May 24, 2017, 02:21:08 am »
This is a bit of a vent/rant, but I figured that's what the forum is for where I can share my experience at the very least, and if I am DEAD wrong, I want to hear from you guys.

So recently I logged a ticket for the RPM team (http://trac.netlabs.org/rpm/ticket/254)

My ANPM installation was failing to update the 'rpm' package. The log contained information which I uploaded to the ticket. The individual who picked up my ticket, alias 'diver', right from the start assumed that I could apparently read his mind and despite the fact that I requested multiple times that he provide detailed CLI command to troublshoot the issue with, he failed to do so.

Finally I got fed up with the BS. You see, I have some 20+ yrs of IS industry experience, a lot of it at the front line(s) of customer support, and given the type of bahaviour I saw in this ticket exchange I can tell you plain and simple: no corporation would allow a customer to face such poor behaviour. I stated so in the ticket, at which point in time I was told point blank by 'dmaik': "...your behavior is clearly arrogant...".

Am I the only one to encounter this? I do not know who these individuals are, although I am guessing who 'dmaik' maybe be. Anyways, what floors me is that in such a small community that OS/2 is today we still have this type of an attitude, that almost condesending "I know stuff and you do not" type of a talk-down.