Author Topic: Strange error display at os2wolrd www  (Read 1629 times)

Bogdan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« on: March 19, 2018, 06:56:47 pm »
I don't use this website evrery day, but all the time this message pops up at the start page (www.os2world.com):
0: cURL Error Message: The requested URL returned error: 404

Andy Willis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2018, 07:43:29 pm »
That error has been there since a database crash a few months ago. 

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 406
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 2403
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2018, 09:28:24 pm »
Hi.

I have no idea how to fix that yet.  Some people says it is the Joomla Cache, or it may be the JFusion plugins that connects Joomla-MediaWiki and SMF forum.

Any tips are welcome.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Bogdan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2018, 09:43:09 pm »
The validator from w3.org shows 250 to 280 errors for this page (~1200 lines). Tidy can perhaps correct more than 90% of them. Most of them are caused by space characters or other control characters in wrong location.

Jomla web pages normally has only 3 minor errors and 3 warning.

Eduardo Vila Echagüe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2018, 01:52:01 pm »
When I open  www.os2world.com in my ArcaOS 5.0 (with many RPM updates), I get the error

When I do the same in my ArcaOS 5.0.2 (with no updates), there is no error.

I hope this helps.

Eduardo Vila Echagüe
Santiago, Chile

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 440
    • View Profile
Re: Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2018, 06:30:24 pm »
Eduardo, it seem to happens on every system. I get it just when I open the page the first time. On each reload, it doesn't occur.

Eduardo Vila Echagüe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2018, 08:36:40 pm »
Andreas:

I checked again in my ArcaOS 5.02, with Firefox 38.0 and 45.9. I don't get the error message neither in the first opening nor later. No idea why.

Eduardo

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 472
    • View Profile
Re: Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2018, 08:39:49 pm »
Funny, I had never seen that mistake. With none of the pc. Could it be something of the language?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2168
    • View Profile
Re: Strange error display at os2wolrd www
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2018, 10:50:38 pm »
I haven't seen it either, using en_CA.