Author Topic: OS/4 (technical details only)  (Read 136544 times)

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #255 on: April 06, 2021, 04:47:41 pm »
When killing acpidaemon setproc enables and disables cores like expected. But whithout ascpidaemon running my freece problems are gone. I have tried to disable two of my four cpu cores, becouse I have an application which freezes my quad core machine an does not freeze my dual core machine. And now it seems that the acpidaemon freezes my quadcore machine.

Strange ...

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4751
  • Karma: +96/-1
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #256 on: April 06, 2021, 05:26:20 pm »
Sounds like perhaps you should open an issue with Arca Noae, assuming you have an up to date subscription.

Ibrahim Hakeem

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #257 on: April 07, 2021, 04:23:09 am »
I thought AN isn't providing support for anything involving the OS/4 kernel.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4751
  • Karma: +96/-1
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #258 on: April 07, 2021, 05:08:57 am »
Yes, you'd have to show the problem with a supported kernel. Guess I lost track and thought you had the same problem with both kernels.

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #259 on: April 07, 2021, 07:59:39 am »
Yes, that's with both kernels (ibm and os4)!

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1314
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #260 on: April 07, 2021, 03:51:22 pm »
Yes, that's with both kernels (ibm and os4)!

Log an issue while using the official AOS/IBM kernel...AN policy is that they will not support anything other than their known and approved configurations (which I cannot blame them for, regardless how much tougher it makes it for us on this tiny little island of OS/2 to make a "go" of things).

OS4User

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #261 on: March 27, 2023, 12:38:52 pm »
Can anything be done to fix the DMI table?

A little background. ANPM uses the output of dmidecode to hash/encrypt ID/PASS credentials for subscription repos. I was working through an issue where on the OS2 kernel this process was failing. Turned out to be caused by the board maker (MSI) putting/leaving generic identifier string in a specific DMI table field. Alex fixed this, so now that works.

I subsequently booted up using my OS4 config and came to find out that ANPM credentials check on the sub repos failed again. This time I looked through the debug, reviewed the outputs from dmidecode and indeed, the output is broken. In case someone else is attempting to use ANPM on an OS4 configured system they will likely fail as well.

FYI, here is what I'm seeing:

Code: [Select]
[G:\]dmidecode
# dmidecode 3.1
Scanning /dev/mem for entry point.
SMBIOS 2.5 present.
54 structures occupying 1934 bytes.
Table at 0x0009F800.

Invalid entry length (0). DMI table is broken! Stop.

I have just come to know. To have working dmidecode you should use testcfg.sys supplied with ArcaOS. The issue does not have any relation to OS/4.

OS4User

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #262 on: August 18, 2023, 08:53:37 pm »
OS/4 Kernel swaps memory directly with 4Gb+ region, without involving IFS, etc. (starting from ver 6254 ).

No setup is necessary. If  4Gb+ mem is installed, 1.2Gb of it  will be used for swapping.

Enjoy a really fast swapping.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4751
  • Karma: +96/-1
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #263 on: August 22, 2023, 02:44:44 am »
Only 1.2GB? Lots of recent systems only have less then 2GB or less then 1.5 GB of memory visible to the system and with 1.5 GB of ram installed in an old system, I've managed to overflow the swap file, 2.1GB IIRC. Same error as if you ran out of disk space when it overflows.

OS4User

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #264 on: August 22, 2023, 10:18:32 am »
- it expected to be tunable in next versions of OS/4 kernel
- OS/2 can swap no more than 80000h 4K pages (2Gb totally) (If necessary, OS/4 (with modifications) will be able to do twice as much)
- now it works as follows: first swaps to 4Gb+ memory, if you need more, swaps to disk as usual.

TeLLie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #265 on: August 22, 2023, 01:36:44 pm »
Hi

Arcaos 5.1 will have UEFI.
My new laptop have only UEFI
Will os4 works with UEFI

  Regards, Tellie

OS4User

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #266 on: August 22, 2023, 01:44:52 pm »
Arcaos 5.1 will have UEFI.
My new laptop have only UEFI
Will os4 works with UEFI ?

Hi

I do not have Arca,
I do not have UEFI
I do not know :)

TeLLie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #267 on: August 22, 2023, 03:12:30 pm »
Hi OS4

Ok, thankz for answer :)

Roderick Klein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #268 on: August 22, 2023, 08:25:25 pm »
Hello,

Currently with QS INIT  I  have a ram disc above the 4 GB memory region (PAE memory).
Dixie his ram disc driver is loaded with /4 for higher performance (formatted as HPFS).
And my swapper file is on the ram drive.

I assume the OS/4 kernel also has to swttch to PAE mode and back to 4 GB adress mode (do not know the proper term).
How often does this switch occur ?

What is the difference in peformance between Dixie his ram disc wih HPFS and the OS4KRNL ?
Is the difference you have no IFS layer ? Is this raw traffic to the ram disc ?

Just curious...

Thanks,

Roderick
« Last Edit: August 22, 2023, 08:32:30 pm by Roderick Klein »

Roderick Klein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #269 on: August 22, 2023, 08:36:46 pm »
Hello,

Currently with QS INIT I  have a ram disc above the 4 GB memory region (PAE memory).
Dixie his ram disc driver is loaded with /4 for higher performance (formatted as HPFS).
And my swapper file is on the ram drive.

I assume the OS/4 kernel also has to swttch to PAE mode and back to 4 GB adress mode (do not know the proper term).
How often does this switch occur ?

What is the difference in peformance between Dixie his ram disc wih HPFS and the OS4KRNL ?
Is the difference you have no IFS layer ? Is this raw traffic to the ram disc ?

Just curious...

Thanks,

Roderick