Author Topic: Lotus 123 DOS version  (Read 1860 times)

Mike Kölling

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #15 on: July 24, 2020, 03:22:25 pm »
The ideal solution would be to find working hardware. The IBM Thinkpad T43 works on eCS and probably therefore ArcaOS. The Lenovo Thinkpad X250 fails on ArcaOS.

My X250 runs DOS in full screen mode on AOS505. There has been a patch (viop-1.0.wpi) provided by Arca Noae that enables at least the full screen mode for the X250.
Greetings,
Mike

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 613
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #16 on: July 24, 2020, 03:25:40 pm »
Merely running a DOS full screen is not adequate. It has to run IBM Lotus 123 DOS r 34. And X250 does not even come close.

I have no data between T43 (April 2005 release) and X250 (2015 release). Obviously, the BIOS has been in decline since UEFI came out. But what is the last laptop that will work?
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 523
  • -Receive: 103
  • Posts: 2832
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #17 on: July 24, 2020, 05:45:37 pm »
Hi Neil

If I understand right you have a Thinkpad X250 with ArcaOS 5.0.5 running CSM in legacy mode. According to what you post DOS VDM full screen is working.

You said that it fails on the X250 DOS VDM full screen, what error are you getting when you run 123.exe on the X250 ArcaOS DOS VMD Full screen? Black screen? a message?

Regards

Update: I just tried Lotus 1-2-3 R34 for DOS on a full screen VDM, on ArcaOS 5.0.5, Thinkpad L420, with your DOS session settings. Lotus 1-2-3 R34 for DOS runs but it does not shows the right bar. This hardware is a non UEFI BIOS. I don't have something with UEFI available right now to try it out.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2020, 06:36:12 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 613
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #18 on: July 27, 2020, 05:34:46 am »
My x250 is out of commission for now, so I got a T540p. I have customer complaints that DOS does not work on any machine newer than T43. I don't use DOS myself, so I can't easily troubleshoot.

I don't have 123.EXE, I have tried the install disks. Disk1 still gives the error listed above in the DOS Full Screen.

I think the L420 would be new enough if it only worked. But not being a DOS user, I have no idea.

Others are trying UEFI, which is good. There ought to be a way to do this, but often so often, DOS users cannot or will not use Internet.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

JTC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #19 on: July 27, 2020, 06:11:31 pm »
Hello.
To run a specific version of DOS you need to go into the Command Prompt folder and select "Run Dos From Floppy".  Then you can use a DOS 3.x floppy to boot that version of DOS into an OS/2 DOS VDM.  Be aware that the default is to go to what OS/2 considers Drive A:\  for the diskette. This can be changed in the properties folder where the startup string specifies drive A:\ as the default.  I have ArcaOS installed on my T530. I can Open the OS/2 full-screen DOS  and use ALT + HOME to turn it into a DOS window on the OS/2 Desktop.   Hope this can help.  I remember doing this back on the OS/2 red box back in the 90's.  ArcaOS still has this feature.

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 68
  • Posts: 618
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #20 on: July 27, 2020, 07:59:59 pm »
I wonder if DOS can be run from a virtual disk.

Virtual floppy disk 6.0 and necessary control programs

https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/system/drivers/filesys/vfdisk60.zip


Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 191
  • Posts: 2627
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #21 on: July 27, 2020, 08:25:40 pm »
Should be able to use the virtual disk to build your image file with VMDISK. Start with "help vmdisk" There's also "Starting a specific version of DOS" in the Command Reference.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 523
  • -Receive: 103
  • Posts: 2832
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #22 on: July 27, 2020, 09:42:20 pm »
Hi Neil

Disk1 still gives the error listed above in the DOS Full Screen.

For what I tested with NON-UEFI, if you add to the DOS Full screen configuration this:
DOS_VERSION
123.EXE,3,40,255
123DOS.EXE,3,00,255
LOTUS.EXE,3,40,255
INSTALL.EXE,3,40,255
(notice that I added INSTALL.EXE), the installer seems to work.  Give it a try to Lotus1-2-33.4a3.5-Dos.7z

Question: I had tried it on a VirtualBox VM when you can mount a .IMG file very easy as a diskette. Does "Virtual Floppy Disk Driver" on OS/2 supports IMG files?

Regards
« Last Edit: July 27, 2020, 10:23:31 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 613
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #23 on: July 28, 2020, 03:48:48 am »
I had INSTALL.EXE marked in the DOS settings. I still get the error. I have no idea if my disks are the problem. I made real disks since I do not have a Virtual system. Like you, for me it would be more useful to mound .img files than to use real floppy disks.

I got new information from the user. The T540p does work. Now the question is: why does it work?

Question: does your Thinkpad L420 use the VIOP.SYS driver? I'm pretty sure his T540p does use it.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 523
  • -Receive: 103
  • Posts: 2832
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #24 on: July 28, 2020, 05:54:08 pm »
Hi
I got new information from the user. The T540p does work. Now the question is: why does it work?
That's strange.
Question: does your Thinkpad L420 use the VIOP.SYS driver? I'm pretty sure his T540p does use it.
The Thinkpad L420 is non UEFI, it has a regular BIOS with ArcaOS 5.0.5.
On the config.sys it is loading VIOP.SYS driver. (1.00 - 19 Mar 2018)

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

JTC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #25 on: July 28, 2020, 09:03:31 pm »
Hey ! Glad to see you have it working !  I was going to suggest using a USB diskette drive and use the ASSIGN command to assign A: or B: to the drive. But you seem to have got there anyway.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 613
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #26 on: July 28, 2020, 09:56:43 pm »
OK, I have it working on my T540p. Now on to repair the X250 and try it there.

I'm trying to remember how to save/restore DOS Settings so I don't have to type in the whole thing each time.

Thanks to Martin for the Lotus DOS files.

I'm also going to give it a try on the UEFI-boot system when I get some time.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 613
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Lotus 123 DOS version
« Reply #27 on: August 05, 2020, 12:22:23 am »
There is some interesting background information on running Lotus in a DOS window

http://www.os2museum.com/wp/running-1-2-3-r3-in-a-vm/
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com