Author Topic: C0000005 error  (Read 1621 times)

brick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
C0000005 error
« on: September 07, 2018, 11:34:13 am »
I"m trying to install W4.5  and I'm getting a C0000005 Error on the floppy disk install.    Any idea on its where to look?

 I  spent 4 1/2 hours trying to install v4.5 on Dell e510;  tried multiple Dani1S506 (and DaniATAPI) drivers but kept getting "unable to operate your hard disk" errors, so I switched back to the 2003 versions of IBM1S506 and IBMATAPI. Success! kind of ...     now I get to the "Loading..."  screen, but then it stops with this.
   Search brings up a few hits but none are the same as this so I'm clueless. 


 

Silvan Scherrer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2018, 03:03:59 pm »
I"m trying to install W4.5  and I'm getting a C0000005 Error on the floppy disk install.    Any idea on its where to look?

 I  spent 4 1/2 hours trying to install v4.5 on Dell e510;  tried multiple Dani1S506 (and DaniATAPI) drivers but kept getting "unable to operate your hard disk" errors, so I switched back to the 2003 versions of IBM1S506 and IBMATAPI. Success! kind of ...     now I get to the "Loading..."  screen, but then it stops with this.
   Search brings up a few hits but none are the same as this so I'm clueless.
If it's really worth trying to install W4.5 is questionable. I suggest you try ArcaOS. As with this version you also get support.
You can buy ArcaOS from different locations. Where http://www.bitwiseworks.com/shop or http://www.arcanoae.com are some of them.

regards
Silvan
kind regards
Silvan
CTO bww bitwise works GmbH

Please help us with donations, so we can further work on OS/2 based projects. Our Shop is at https://www.bitwiseworks.com/shop/index.php

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 34
  • Posts: 980
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2018, 03:39:03 pm »
Since you got the unable to operate your hard disk error I assume you did not add the set copyfromfloppy=1 to the config.sys on disk 1.

The other thing to try is to rename Dani1s506 to ibm1s506 - we did that before using set copyfromfloppy=1 was known about.

Edit:  I forgot to mention TRAP 0005 - BOUND RANGE EXCEEDED: A Bound instruction exceeded the specified limits
« Last Edit: September 07, 2018, 03:40:59 pm by ivan »

OS4User

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 28
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2018, 06:19:28 pm »
Edit:  I forgot to mention TRAP 0005 - BOUND RANGE EXCEEDED: A Bound instruction exceeded the specified limits

To be accurate:  C0000005 is not the same with Trap 0005.

C0000005 means exception  "ACCESS VIOLATION"  and in this case "SPACE ACCESS" to the selector 560h.

brick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2018, 09:08:08 am »
Closer!  I removed 3/4 of the RAM, so its down to 512mb.   On the third disk, it gets to "Loading, please wait...",  it beeps, the CD drive spins up and the access light flashes a few times...  and then the system halts with "System Installation failed to start the session."   

Yes, set copyfromfloppy=1 is in the config.sys so that the drivers are loaded from the floppy diskettes rather than the installation CD. 

 

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 146
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2018, 06:19:46 pm »
You might need a newer kernel to install on the Pentium D. Not sure what you'd need though to go on the floppy.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 815
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2018, 09:09:37 pm »
Hi

I seem to recall there was a P4 fix to install w4.5 on later pentium processors - I think it was necessary for P4's with >512Mb RAM, not sure if it will help in this instance though. Could be worth trying if anyone knows where to download it...


Regards

Pete

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 34
  • Posts: 980
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2018, 10:18:37 pm »
Pete, are you thinking about the Intel Speedstep Fix?  If so that came out in FP14 for warp4.

We never looked at anything for Intel processors, we were always AMD or other non Intel processors from the start.

Fixpaks for warp 4 and 4.5 are still available at ftp://ftp.software.ibm.com/ps/products/os2/  you just have to drill down to what you want.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 146
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2018, 01:02:09 am »
I seem to recall there was a P4 fix to install w4.5 on later pentium processors - I think it was necessary for P4's with >512Mb RAM, not sure if it will help in this instance though. Could be worth trying if anyone knows where to download it...


I downloaded w420050811.zip from the os2supersite. It does mention fixes for booting on some P4's. But if I remember correctly, the floppy install disks had a different kernel then was installed.
Another possible fix is going into the BIOS and going with the most conservative settings, especially turning off cache if possible and turning off one CPU.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 815
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2018, 04:00:46 am »
Hi

I thought I'd have a brief hunt for p4fix using Google and found on this page https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/comp.os.os2.setup.misc/_Eth2rwDTj8/NvOhdCN8tqUJ a brief reference from an Andreas Kohl

"Only MCP2/ACP2 Refreshed CDs (XR?C4503 with Kernel version 14.089)
include the Pentium 4 fix."

I also read somewhere that it was available as p4fix.zip

So, looks like it was a Software Choice subscription fix, probably why I have not found a download available...


Regards

Pete

brick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2018, 11:35:02 am »
Hmm..  yep, I disabled Speedstep and the multiple cores;  no effect. I seem to remember finding instructions on updating the Kernel on the disks, but haven't been able to re-find it.   Still searching. Google seems to be going out of its way to not give relevant results. 
  Could it be the atapi or ibm1s506 drivers?  Needing a switch?   I hit alt-f2 and all the drivers loaded fine.  It seems to crap out immediately after CD spins up and the access light flashes, like the handoff isn't established.   Maybe the CD is corrupted;  i"ll burn a new one and try it.   I tried REMming out the RUN NPConfig.EXE;  no difference.  I've re-re-tried multiple dani1S506 versions (with respective DaniATAPI driver), with forced bus mode etc.  Maybe I'll try it with the IBM1s506 set next.   

Honey Badger Mode Activated. 

Eugene Tucker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 23
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2018, 02:57:02 pm »
One more reason to purchase a Arca OS 5.03 license.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 815
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2018, 04:18:16 pm »
Hi brick

You may find that later releases of OS/2 such as eComstation and ArcaOS install without problems as they have previous IBM OS/2 fixpacks incorporated.

ArcaOS is a current product so I suspect the only way to get a download will be to purchase a license.

If you hunt around you can find some eComstation releases and betas available for download - this page looks handy http://download.unirc.eu/OS2/Iso/ - but I suggest you avoid any package that includes beta or rc in the filename. This is probably your best option from the above url http://download.unirc.eu/OS2/Iso/eCS20_cd1_en_us.zip along with, possibly, a working Registration Key http://download.unirc.eu/OS2/Iso/Serials,%20Keys,%20&%20Cracks%20For%20Os2%20Warp%20&%20Ecomstation%20Programs2.rar


Regards

Pete

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 561
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2018, 08:03:05 pm »
brick,
Not sure if the p4fix.zip contents are a fix, but I've attached the read.me file from that release and specifically here are the notes regarding the TRAPs it addresses:

Code: [Select]
This file describes the procedure to install the fix for
IBM(R) OS/2(R) Convenience Package 2 (CP2) when installing on
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 machines greater than 512MB.


The following APARs are the only items included in this fix. This fix
is for Convenience Package 2 systems only:

  APAR     ABSTRACT

  PJ28355  SYS3175 in DOSCALL1.DLL when booting a Pentium 4 machine
           when initializing testcfg.sys or apm.sys
  PJ28362  traps in os2krnl running theseus/4
  PJ28379  disallow alt-f4 and alt-f5 in the presence of altf1sec.cmd
  IC32279  Trap 000e in TKDeclareInversion after killing a process
           while it's doing DosDelete processing.

....would this help?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 146
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
Re: C0000005 error
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2018, 08:41:50 pm »
WarpUpdates used to be  great site for this kind of stuff and is still worth looking at even with many links now dead, at least it gives file names to search for. http://web.archive.org/web/20060926004818/http://www.warpupdates.mynetcologne.de/english/site_contents.html and for updated install floppies, http://web.archive.org/web/20060926010038/http://www.warpupdates.mynetcologne.de/english/inst_diskettes.html#w4c which includes pointers to some updated floppies.