Author Topic: Error during installaltion OS2  (Read 511 times)

Wojciech Gajny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Error during installaltion OS2
« on: January 09, 2019, 11:47:55 am »
Hi,

I have to install OS/2 system on PAC computer, but during installation i have SYS3175 error in FTPD.exe.
I think it's hardware problem cos I changed computer and it's works fine.
I used same hard drive and same installation image.
Any idea what can be wrong?

I think that in that moment computer tried to connect with external card via Ethernet.
I've installed Win98 and ping google.com (works) but no other websites work.
Ehernet card is visiable and ip address is correct. [/img]

I attached photos.

Thanks a lot.

Ian Manners

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 37
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 321
  • I am the computer, it is me.
    • View Profile
    • ComKal Networks Australia
Re: Error during installaltion OS2
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2019, 04:18:11 pm »
Hi Wojciech,

Are there differences between the computers, like one is multi processor and the other not?
Do they have the same amount of RAM?

Quote
I've installed Win98 and ping google.com (works) but no other websites work.

That's likely to be a packet problem, being able to ping anything ok tends to tell me that your network hardware is good, and the problem for Win98 is in the settings somewhere.
Cheers
Ian B Manners

Wojciech Gajny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Error during installaltion OS2
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2019, 07:28:12 pm »
Yes.
Those computers are same Pentium 233 MMX with 32MB RAM. (same motherboard)

I think that I could check Network Card aswell, cos during startup OS2 shows that RJ45 is connect.

Any other ideas?

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 46
  • Posts: 1234
    • View Profile
Re: Error during installaltion OS2
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2019, 08:40:39 pm »
Since it works on other, identical, systems, it would seem to be something in the network setup. Have you physically moved the "bad" computer, to use the cable, and ports, used by one that works? When you do that, inspect the RJ45 connector, to be sure that it isn't damaged. Change the network card, for a known good one (if possible).

If that doesn't help, I think we need more information:

Exactly which version of OS/2 are you using?

Have you installed updates? Which ones?

What network software are you using? (SAMBA, NETBIOS over TCPIP, NETBIOS).

What network card(s) is (are) being used? What settings?

t may help to post CONFIG.SYS (be sure there are no passwords in it).

Wojciech Gajny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Error during installaltion OS2
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2019, 09:40:58 pm »
It's RTL8139B network card soldered on board.

I used same system to install several computers (same configuration), so my OS2 copy should be fine.

I thought about faulty memory cos GPT error.
Is it means that I could have a trouble to read or write memory at 1bf91d54?
I ran Memtest and it's looks fine. (10 hours)

I will post CONFIG.SYS tommorow.