Author Topic: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error  (Read 2759 times)

R.M. Klippstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« on: February 07, 2019, 01:41:22 am »
I just finally got around to updatng ANPM's listed necessary updates and re-booted and now Firefox 45.9 throws the error "Couldn't load XUL.DLL (OS2 error 87). Any ideas as to what is needed to make Firefox work once again?
Thanks for any responses

klipp

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 36
  • Posts: 844
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2019, 02:25:50 am »
Hi klipp

I just did a Google for OS2 error 87 and the most interesting result is here https://github.com/bitwiseworks/mozilla-os2/issues/255

It may be worth checking which libcx package is installed. I seem to recall Seamonkey had problems with libcx which were resolved by installing the netlabs-exp version, 0.64-1.

I seem to recall adding netlabs-exp by the simple method of installing it from the Available list.


Regards

Pete

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2156
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2019, 03:21:28 am »
Hi Klipp, did you check popuplog.os2? Which version of Firefox?
I doubt that you need to enable the exp repository if it was previously running.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 470
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2019, 08:59:38 am »
I do not know if this will work for your mistake. But I'm running firefox and SM in / safe-mode
I have also removed the exceptq package from the anpm.
And it went very well.
I am not using neither highmem or the mozturbo.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 36
  • Posts: 844
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2019, 06:50:51 pm »
Hi Dave

The reason I mention libcx is that seamonkey did not work here with 0.6.3-1 which seems to be the current release version but works fine with 0.6.4.1 which is only available from netlabs-exp.

May be worth klipp checking...


Regards

Pete

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2156
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2019, 07:18:38 pm »
Hi Pete, that's because I'd upgraded before building the most recent releases and didn't think of downgrading, so linked against the most recent that had new exports. This may also be true for my last Firefox build but not for earlier builds or Bitwise builds. In Klipp's case, his problems started after doing a yum upgrade, which shouldn't have downgraded libcx. Also why I asked which version/build.
Bitwise has been adding functionality to libcx for a while, this includes functions that were previously unsupported on OS/2, configure finds them and uses different code paths.
It'll get more interesting as Bitwise has decided to fork libc, as libcn, which I'd assume will also rapidly evolve.

Hi Roberto, the exceptq DLL is dynamically loaded, so usually not used and more and more projects use it as the functionality is now in libcx. While things will work fine without it, crashes will be much less informative.
As for safe-mode, you should be able to make everything permanent, add-ons, plugins and such all turned off.
It's usually add-ons that create problems, especially if you have lots and there's a conflict somewhere, though as Ivan found, some plugins also cause problems

R.M. Klippstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2019, 01:47:00 am »
Hey Pete,Good to hear from you, Its been quite a while since you last bailed me out! Turns out I didn't have Netlabs-exp installed, so I installed it,- but no cigar. It upgraded libcx to 0.4.1, Should I maybe try 0.3.1?
Dave, Looking at popuplog.os2 it shows Firefox at the bottom of the list, but I don't see anything that gives an indication of version/build. What should I be looking for?
This is a pretty old version of 45.9, and I have no idea if I can re-install a newer version over it or not.
Thanks for the help guys!
Oh, One last thought, ANPM can't upgrade heimdal-libs package, its got bad problems, could that affect Firefox 45.9 maybe?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2156
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2019, 02:04:11 am »
The question is, what is the last entry or entries if at the same time, in popuplog related to Firefox?
What are the dates of the binaries? Wouldn't hurt to update to the latest. Heimdal libs shouldn't matter

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 36
  • Posts: 844
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2019, 02:09:45 am »
Hi Dave

Does Firefox  45.9 use any of the libs that have been replaced by libs with the "-legacy" bit tagged onto the original name? eg libvpx and libvpx-legacy or fontconfig and fontconfig-legacy

I ask as updating libs screwed up OpenOffice for me a while back until I discovered 1 of the libs now needed had the "-legacy" bit added.

Just a thought...


Regards

Pete

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2156
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2019, 03:22:46 am »
No, not yet. Some older versions of FF depend on the legacy packages,38 needs libvpx-legacy and older needs the legacy fontconfig.
Generally the legacy packages have older versions of DLLs that aren't binary compatible as the API has changed and the DLLs themselves are usually versioned to co-exist. foo1.dll and foo2.dll with foo-legacy containing foo1.dll

R.M. Klippstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2019, 10:42:14 pm »
I'm still stuck without the ability to run Firefox 45.9, I cant get it working with the latest updates to ANPM installed, and I can't downgrade libc and libcx. Is there any way of getting a copy of the .RPM version? I see now that supposedly it is only available to beta testers.

Thanks klipp

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2156
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2019, 10:55:03 pm »
You shouldn't need to downgrade libc and libcx. The RPM version is available through Arca Noae's RPM repository, you should have got instructions on how to access I believe.
You still haven't posted your popuplog errors so it hard to say what the problem is.
Have you tried to start in safe mode? Incompatible plugins are a known issue, for example the Java iced tea ones.
firefox.exe --safe-mode

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 59
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2019, 11:02:51 pm »
I'm still stuck without the ability to run Firefox 45.9, I cant get it working with the latest updates to ANPM installed, and I can't downgrade libc and libcx. Is there any way of getting a copy of the .RPM version? I see now that supposedly it is only available to beta testers.

Thanks klipp

The YUM installer

https://ecsoft2.org/rpmyum-os2

and here for a good explanation and how to install components

https://ecsoft2.org/firefox

R.M. Klippstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2019, 12:21:08 am »
Hi Dave, Here are the last Firefox entries in popup.log:
02-12-2019  10:22:57  SYS3175  PID 0053  TID 0001  Slot 0079
K:\USR\BIN\FIREFOX.EXE
c0000005
11aca9cb
P1=00000001  P2=0000000c  P3=XXXXXXXX  P4=XXXXXXXX 
EAX=00000000  EBX=16e95b5c  ECX=ffffffff  EDX=00000000
ESI=16e95ae0  EDI=00000000 
DS=0053  DSACC=d0f3  DSLIM=5fffffff 
ES=0053  ESACC=d0f3  ESLIM=5fffffff 
FS=150b  FSACC=00f3  FSLIM=00000030
GS=0000  GSACC=****  GSLIM=********
CS:EIP=005b:164e14f5  CSACC=d0df  CSLIM=5fffffff
SS:ESP=0053:0013ff6c  SSACC=d0f3  SSLIM=5fffffff
EBP=0013ff78  FLG=00010297

PSPRINT.DRV 0001:0001a9cb

------------------------------------------------------------

02-12-2019  11:49:26  SYS3175  PID 0157  TID 0001  Slot 0079
K:\USR\BIN\FIREFOX.EXE
c0000005
11aca9cb
P1=00000001  P2=0000000c  P3=XXXXXXXX  P4=XXXXXXXX 
EAX=00000000  EBX=16d65b5c  ECX=ffffffff  EDX=00000000
ESI=16d65ae0  EDI=00000000 
DS=0053  DSACC=d0f3  DSLIM=5fffffff 
ES=0053  ESACC=d0f3  ESLIM=5fffffff 
FS=150b  FSACC=00f3  FSLIM=00000030
GS=0000  GSACC=****  GSLIM=********
CS:EIP=005b:164514f5  CSACC=d0df  CSLIM=5fffffff
SS:ESP=0053:0013ff64  SSACC=d0f3  SSLIM=5fffffff
EBP=0013ff70  FLG=00010297

PSPRINT.DRV 0001:0001a9cb

Safe mode gives the same error and I've added or installed no plugins. I'm really dumb on browseres,

David G Thanks for the help  I've got RPM installed and rpm'ed firefox-highmem-45.9.0-1.oc00.i686.rpm  and it looks like it installed but can't see where to go to see if it runs!  Maybe I should delete usr/bin/firefox.exe? and run it again?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2156
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox 45.9 XUL.DLL error
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2019, 01:53:23 am »
Hi Klipp, now that is a weird crash that I haven't seen. Let me understand your situation.
This is the latest Firefox from Github? Installed into @UNIXROOT?
It was running fine until you updated with ANPM and you just had the regular Netlabs repository enabled when you updated?
What version of OS/2 (eCS or ArcaOS) are you running?
What printer are you using and how is it being used? Through cups or a regular printer object?

As for the firefox-highmem package, that just marks the DLLs to load into high memory. I take it you did that after the crashes started?

Have you tried one of my Firefox builds?