Author Topic: TOR and FF  (Read 649 times)

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
TOR and FF
« on: August 12, 2019, 07:22:53 pm »
I'm trying to use TOR.
I installed it and it start well (ready) (with help of Vidalia)
I than tried to configure FF as it should using proxy, the given port used by TOR etc...
I tried 9050 - 9051 - 9150 - 9151 (DNS checked, no proxy for 127.0.0.1 etc...
I never could get any web page under FF (38 or 45) using TOR !
How do you do to be able to use FF with TOR ?

Thanks

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 381
  • -Receive: 77
  • Posts: 2339
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2019, 08:02:44 pm »
Hi

Uhm.. my 2014 discussion notes are not working anymore.

General FYI:
Latest version is 0.4.0.5 - updated 2019-05-11
available on: https://os2ports.smedley.id.au/index.php?page=tor

More comments are welcome.

Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Valery Sedletski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2019, 08:14:36 pm »
2Remy: Unfortunately, it seems, proxies are broken in current versions of FF and SM. So, I won't be able to use Tor or any Http or
Socks proxy in FF / SM. Trying different proxy-related settings didn't help.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2019, 08:27:24 pm »
How are proxies broken? I just started squid and am using it for a proxy and it seems to work.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 381
  • -Receive: 77
  • Posts: 2339
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2019, 09:56:08 pm »
Hi.

I just tried it on Firefox 45.9.0, ArcaOS 5.0.4 and TOR 0.4.0.5.
I configured the socks as the picture.

It is not working, but it seems to be something more related to DNS, if you call the IP directly you can get some pages, but if some other URL with DNS is called, you will get nothing on your screen.

Any tip is welcome.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2019, 11:30:48 pm »
Hi

Uhm.. my 2014 discussion notes are not working anymore.

General FYI:
Latest version is 0.4.0.5 - updated 2019-05-11
available on: https://os2ports.smedley.id.au/index.php?page=tor

More comments are welcome.

Thanks Martin, this is the Tor I installed and it connects well but as for over users, going in the net from firefox seems to be a problem ...

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2019, 11:32:05 pm »
Hi.

I just tried it on Firefox 45.9.0, ArcaOS 5.0.4 and TOR 0.4.0.5.
I configured the socks as the picture.

It is not working, but it seems to be something more related to DNS, if you call the IP directly you can get some pages, but if some other URL with DNS is called, you will get nothing on your screen.

Any tip is welcome.

Regards

Hi Martin, you'll have to add 127.0.0.1 into the no proxy.
But I'm unable to get any web pages...
Did someone get ff working in proxy mode with tor ?   
« Last Edit: August 12, 2019, 11:36:55 pm by Remy »

David McKenna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2019, 12:17:42 am »
 I can use Tor and Firefox (or SeaMonkey) with any unencrypted website like http:\\hobbes.nmsu.edu. But encrypted, like https:\\www.youtube.com will not work. The last version I know of that worked was Firefox 17. It was reported way back then, but nothing was ever done...

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2019, 01:36:35 am »
I can use Tor and Firefox (or SeaMonkey) with any unencrypted website like http:\\hobbes.nmsu.edu. But encrypted, like https:\\www.youtube.com will not work. The last version I know of that worked was Firefox 17. It was reported way back then, but nothing was ever done...

Hi David,

I just redo Vidalia torcc conf file and updated vidalia conf file.... Now, I can access HTTP: sites but like you, HTTPS: will not work !
ex: http://trac.netlabs.org/qtapps/wiki/QT4%20Networking  < works

Here is what I set under Vidalia torcc
ControlPort 9051
ControlPortWriteToFile W:/home/.tor/port.conf
CookieAuthentication 1
DataDirectory W:/home/.tor
Log notice stdout
SocksPort 9050

Under conf:
I added
[Tor]
TorExecutable=W:\\Programs\\tor\\bin\\tor.exe
AuthenticationMethod=cookie                                 <<== this which was missing here

Firefox proxy setting on port 9050
Socks5 and DNS checked
Under no proxy, I've added:
localhost,127.0.0.1

Since https will not work, what is the raison of Tor ?
How to acces https from firefox via tor ?

Update: I just tested to add under firefox config for DoH
network.trr.mode
network.trr.uri
But it didn't help to make https links working with tor !
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 02:06:13 am by Remy »

Valery Sedletski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2019, 02:21:02 am »
2dryeo: I didn't tried HTTP proxies, but socks5 proxies like Tor or SSH tunnel, doesn't work.

You just create a SSH tunnel from local host to your.server.org:

ssh -D 2222 -N you@your.server.org

and use it as a Socks 5 proxy on address 127.0.0.1:2222, and it does not work

The same works fine in FF under Linux. I complained about that to Dmik, he says that it is
some hidden default proxy settings are not correct. But I checked all proxy settings in about:config
and did not found anythin suspicious. All was correct. So, this is indeed Socks proxy settings are broken.
As I said, everything is working fine under Linux. And I don't see why some defaults in OS/2 should be
different than in Linux.

And the same is with SSH and Tor.

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2019, 03:28:50 am »
Like Valery, I'm now thinking something is broken (TLS or else)

Here are proxy parms from under FF. All are well setted.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile

Alexander

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2019, 03:09:08 am »
Modern FF work with tor socks only with help of os/2 tcp stack ability to route some traffic into socks proxy

d:\mptn\etc\socks.cfg :
sockd @=127.0.0.1 8.8.8.8 255.255.255.255 *=root *=test
sockd @=127.0.0.1 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 *=root *=test

d:\mptn\etc\socks.env :
SOCKS_FLAG ON
SOCKS_DOMAIN mydomaiN
SOCKS_NS 8.8.8.8
SOCKS_SERVER
SOCKS_USER
SOCKS_PASSWORD

d:\mptn\etc\resolv2 :
domain
nameserver 127.0.0.1

torrc :
DNSPort 53
DNSListenAddress 127.0.0.1
PidFile /tor/etc/tor/tor.pid
ClientOnly 1
SocksPort 1080 # Default: Bind to localhost:9050 for local connections.




Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: TOR and FF
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2019, 07:38:49 am »
Perhaps test with this add-on, https://github.com/foxyproxy/firefox-extension/blob/master/archive/dist/foxyproxy-standard/4.6.5/foxyproxy_standard-4.6.5-fx%2Bsm%2Btb.xpi

This is not socks proxy but http proxy (no tor)

It does have a wizard for tor, not that it seems to work.
Have to test with a different browser I guess.