Author Topic: ArcaOS 5.0.4 install only sees 1 hard drive  (Read 1625 times)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS 5.0.4 install only sees 1 hard drive
« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2019, 10:00:14 am »
Hi Keith,

If you need to backup your data on the 1 TB disk the easiest way is to pull the disk and put it into a USB/SATA adapter (for example https://www.amazon.co.uk/External-Docking-Station-Charging-Adapter/dp/B01N9M2UHW  make sure you get one with an external power supply that fits your power sockets).  Then you can copy all data to an external USB drive and you have a backup.

The attachment shows the backup of one of my computers.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2019, 06:48:15 pm by Martin Iturbide »

Keith Marjerison

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS 5.0.4 install only sees 1 hard drive
« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2019, 05:45:59 am »
Reinstalled to new primary volume,
REMed out BASEDEV=OS2AHCI.ADD
System will now boot and see all volumes.
Whats the advantage of OS2AHCI.ADD?
Are there any tools to migrate from eCS to ArcaOS?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2170
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS 5.0.4 install only sees 1 hard drive
« Reply #17 on: October 09, 2019, 06:18:56 am »
Reinstalled to new primary volume,
REMed out BASEDEV=OS2AHCI.ADD
System will now boot and see all volumes.
Whats the advantage of OS2AHCI.ADD?

AHCI is a newer SATA interface, can be faster, allows queuing and generally better if your system supports it. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Host_Controller_Interface
Quote
Are there any tools to migrate from eCS to ArcaOS?

Not really. I believe it is on the to do list but far in the future.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 475
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS 5.0.4 install only sees 1 hard drive
« Reply #18 on: October 09, 2019, 09:29:11 am »
You can try installing the Airboot 114.
You don't need any partition for it.
With lvmmini.exe you can install it system - bootmenu --- install