Author Topic: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9  (Read 1341 times)

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 669
    • View Profile
Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
« Reply #15 on: January 25, 2020, 06:51:26 pm »
re: Chatzilla...

I had disabled mine for quite some time now, probably around the time we were doing the FF 45.x testing. I seem to recall that it was positively identified as causing the CPU spikes.

Alright, but this post's conversation sort of re-kindled my interest in the good ol' IRC days. So I re-enabled it, using 0.9.93 version here. For whatever reason I do not see any CPU spikes here. Maybe it is the mix of the parameter changes I had previously implemented to deal with the overall FF CPU usage?

Anyways, @Dave, 0.9.93 working fine here, I did not attempt to replace the file with your version either.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 167
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2020, 07:44:09 pm »
It works fine in Firefox as Firefox doesn't display the gif like SM, which displays it in the lower left corner of the frame along with some other icons and has since Netscape.
BTW, my instability seems to have gone away with disabling ublock.

_Hermit_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2020, 09:33:47 pm »

Thanks, seems I forgot to commit changes previously, fixed locally.

Not sure who I could ask, Mozilla refuses to have anything to do with such old versions. I'll revisit it but the source is quite complex.

After a few days of using SM 2.42.9, it turned out that loading any file this results in an unreasonable CPU load. There is no such effect in SM 2.35.
This is one of the limitations of using version 2.42.9.

Dave, where can I download plugin H264ify for FF 45.9?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 167
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2020, 11:53:27 pm »
Strange your high CPU usage. Try going to about:config and resetting the string in 'browser.download.lastdir'
I'll attach h264ify_modified, seems to be MIT licensed.

_Hermit_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
« Reply #19 on: January 30, 2020, 08:11:59 am »
Strange your high CPU usage. Try going to about:config and resetting the string in 'browser.download.lastdir'
I'll attach h264ify_modified, seems to be MIT licensed.
Yes, it helped me. Thanks. I also had to give up plugin DownThemAll!, since it also starts loading the CPU.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2020, 08:16:06 am by _Hermit_ »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 669
    • View Profile
Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2020, 03:01:27 pm »
Hi Dave,

Strange your high CPU usage. Try going to about:config and resetting the string in 'browser.download.lastdir'
I'll attach h264ify_modified, seems to be MIT licensed.

I still have this add-on installed, although current disabled. For the most part FF handles various videos OK...but I am wondering: given your mention of it being modified, should I re-install using the ZIP you provided?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 167
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
« Reply #21 on: January 30, 2020, 04:56:32 pm »
I'm not sure but it may have only been modified to load in SeaMonkey. Wouldn't hurt though I'd back up the one you have.
Really it is best for those with weaker systems as H264 seems more efficient.