Author Topic: Hardware Explorer  (Read 3878 times)

OS4User

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 42
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #15 on: January 25, 2020, 07:59:46 pm »
Starting from SVN5686 OS/4 organizes RM info in a bit different way.
One can see a real PCI bus(es) structure of his equipment (see  PCI_Bus_0 node and its tree).
It is something similar  to output of PCI.exe.

If any driver provides PCI info to RM  -  it is also reflected in Hardware Explorer.
So far this PCI info is provided by Lars's USB drivers only.

Only thing missing here is more video info beyond VGA.

VGA info is provided by screen03.sys on OS/4 and resource.sys on OS/2.
These drivers are not very smart so cannot give more info.
At the same time HardWare Explorer showed the name of my graphic card  correctly.

Dave, I will try to add LFB mapping in screen03.sys. What info would you like to see ?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2020, 08:11:29 pm by OS4User »

Digi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 44
  • http://os2.snc.ru/
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 ports and applications
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2020, 12:06:54 pm »
2) HW Explorer
- when executing the same navigation path as above nothins shows up, it is empty, however once I right-click and allow it to open up in it's separate window from that point onwards it's always pre-populated

The contents of the Hardware Explorer are filled during the initialization of the WPS object and when you go to it through the menu, the folder should already be filled.
I did not meet the described problem on my systems. It would be interesting to learn about this point from other testers.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 37
  • Posts: 894
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #17 on: January 26, 2020, 05:18:09 pm »
Hi Digi

I see the same as Dariusz: Hardware Explorer shows "(No objects)".

I tried several times to double check.

I then typed this message but before clicking the "Post" button I tested again.

Result: It worked this time - No idea why it did not on the previous 4 or 5 attempts...


Regards

Pete

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 167
  • Posts: 2339
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #18 on: January 26, 2020, 07:23:36 pm »
Hi Digi, ideally would be the info shown in the screen object. I'm currently using SNAP and it shows monitor, chipset, and memory. I guess that info can be queried with the SNAP SDK (pm.lib) with the functions,
Code: [Select]
GA_configInfo

Declaration

typedef struct {
    N_uint32        dwSize;
    char            ManufacturerName[80];
    char            ChipsetName[80];
    char            DACName[80];
    char            ClockName[80];
    char            VersionInfo[80];
    char            BuildDate[80];
    char            Certified;
    char            CertifiedDate[20];
    N_uint16        CertifyVersion;
    } GA_configInfo
prototyped in snap/graphics.h
There's also GetMonitorInfo().

Hopefully there's a similar way to query Panorama.
BTW, here the Hardware Monitor is always populated, using the stock kernel.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 662
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2020, 07:43:28 pm »
Hi Digi,

The contents of the Hardware Explorer are filled during the initialization of the WPS object and when you go to it through the menu, the folder should already be filled.
I did not meet the described problem on my systems. It would be interesting to learn about this point from other testers.

...tell me what you need to debug further and I'd be happy to track this down!

Digi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 44
  • http://os2.snc.ru/
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 ports and applications
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2020, 04:18:52 pm »
...tell me what you need to debug further and I'd be happy to track this down!

Please try the new version: http://os2.snc.ru/product-HwExplorer.html
Is this problem still in your system with it?

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 37
  • Posts: 894
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #21 on: January 31, 2020, 03:59:29 am »
Hi Digi

The new version resolves the problem here.


Regards

Pete

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 662
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #22 on: January 31, 2020, 04:07:03 am »
Digi, everyone..

...The new version resolves the problem here...

Yup, same here, all good. Thank you!

Digi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 44
  • http://os2.snc.ru/
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 ports and applications
Hardware Explorer ver. 0.0.5
« Reply #23 on: February 06, 2020, 03:08:37 pm »
New version:

http://os2.snc.ru/product-HwExplorer.html

Pay attention to the second page of the USB Info tab of the notepad of any connected USB device.
The utility for removing/installing the native and extended Hardware Manager has been added to the archive.
See whatsnew.txt and readme.txt .
« Last Edit: February 06, 2020, 03:10:34 pm by Digi »

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 562
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #24 on: February 06, 2020, 04:05:43 pm »
Hi Digi

I have seen one problem and it has to do with this one piece of hardware.  I have attached a pic with the hardware highlighted.  When I double click on this, or right click and select properties, it locks up my computer big time causing me to hard boot.  Cannot even bring up TOP to kill it.  This is an internal camera and not a USB camera.

Attached is the resmgr txt.

I have tested other components and the properties page comes up fine.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2020, 04:19:10 pm by David Graser »

Digi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 44
  • http://os2.snc.ru/
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 ports and applications
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #25 on: February 06, 2020, 04:23:55 pm »
This is an internal camera and not a USB camera.

The screenshot shows that the resource manager considers this a USB device. Did you have this problem on the previous version?
Please send me the output of this utility:
http://ftp.os2.snc.ru/in/usbresm.exe
« Last Edit: February 06, 2020, 04:25:28 pm by Digi »

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 562
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #26 on: February 06, 2020, 04:33:49 pm »
Yes it did it in earlier versions.  I did not test further at he time. 

I just tested and everything in the branches for this controller locks the computer also.  Selecting the ECHI_0 Enhanced USB controller itself does bring up its properties.  Everything in its branches locks the computer.

« Last Edit: February 06, 2020, 04:36:34 pm by David Graser »

Digi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 44
  • http://os2.snc.ru/
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 ports and applications
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #27 on: February 06, 2020, 04:42:16 pm »
Yes it did it in earlier versions.  I did not test further at he time. 

I just tested and everything in the branches for this controller locks the computer also.  Selecting the ECHI_0 Enhanced USB controller itself does bring up its properties.  Everything in its branches locks the computer.

What about usbresm.exe output?

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 562
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #28 on: February 06, 2020, 04:42:55 pm »
Executing the usbresm.exe locks my computer up big time  which also requiries a hard boot.

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 562
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Explorer
« Reply #29 on: February 06, 2020, 04:53:18 pm »
This is as much as I can get before it locks the computer.

Devices 3

Device 1   Resource Manager handle: 0x3757
Calc. length 102
Vendor device: release: 044D:C52B:1203

I remember when doing the original testing, I could not produce output from the u.exe because of the same lockup.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2020, 05:02:48 pm by David Graser »