Author Topic: VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U  (Read 512 times)

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U
« on: February 15, 2020, 05:24:08 pm »
Need to set up a new Asus RT-AC1750U for accepting incoming VNC and FTP connections. This router has lots of options and I have no experience with this stuff. The router is at a remote site and I can connect and configure it remotely. Basically I need to connect to a pc running VNC server at the remote site, and probably a ftp-server. (The pc I want to connect to is running eCS.)
Appreciate if someone can help with this.

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
Re: VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2020, 06:16:46 pm »
VNC doesn't provide encryption. Therefore you should use VNC over the Web only via an encrypted connection, like VPN.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1075
    • View Profile
Re: VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2020, 07:02:56 pm »
Hi Per,

First you are going to need to install a VNC server and a FTP server on the remote computer and have them run at startup.  You will then need a VNC client and an FTP client on your computer.

VNC server/client as well as a FTP server are available on hobbes for an FTP client I use jFTP.

Once those programs are setup and running all you need to know is the IP address of the remote (I think you can set that to a fixed IP via the RT-AC1750 but you need to check that in the manual).

Depending on how you connect to the RT-AC1750 you may need to set a pass through to the remote computer.  If you are connecting via a WAN IP address you should have a VPN box at each end for security, if on the other hand you are linked via the RT-AC1750 wireless there should not be any problems.
 

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 52
  • Posts: 1291
    • View Profile
Re: VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2020, 08:29:27 pm »
See: http://articles.os2voice.org/category/software/20-helpdesk.html

I don't use it much, but it does use VNC, and it works over a secure connection. The biggest "problem" is learning how to use VNC. No remote configuration is required.

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
Re: VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2020, 10:28:43 pm »
Thanks for info, don't have the manual here, but found this https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/114093/ so I'll give it a try.

Good to know about the "OS/2 Voice option", I'll go that route if I can't get it to work.


Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
Re: VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2020, 01:07:03 pm »
Turned out to be simpler than I feared, both vnc and ftp works after filling in correct values in the settings for "port forwarding".

Digi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 44
  • http://os2.snc.ru/
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 ports and applications
Re: VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2020, 03:26:34 pm »
Need to set up a new Asus RT-AC1750U for accepting incoming VNC and FTP connections.

Here is what I use:
  http://os2.snc.ru/product-VNC.html
  http://www.pmoylan.org/pages/os2/FtpServer.html

For VNC, you need to forward port 5900 (or another non-standard one that can be specified in the VNC server settings) forward on your router.

Peter's FTP server allows you to specify a range of ports for external connections. This range must be forwarded on your router.


Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 40
  • Posts: 517
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: VNC/FTP Asus RT-AC1750U
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2020, 03:42:03 pm »
I use the same servers as above. Since I have file transfer with VNC, I don't really need FTP. I have to use this though a VPN for security reasons. One of the target machines is running Warp 3 Connect.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com