Author Topic: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?  (Read 2716 times)

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 525
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« on: April 03, 2020, 08:25:04 pm »
Until a few months ago I though my two 24" 1920x1200 monitors give me the maximum display size I can use with OS/2. And this only when I can use a graphic card which SNAP can drive in multi-head mode. Then I bought a used Thinkpad T540p with a 2880x1620 panel. Surprisingly this resolution works with panorama. But of course the display is much to small. Notebooks are only toys for me. For real work I need more than 24".

Now I've the opportunity to lend a 27" Eizo with 2560x1440 resolution. As the motherboard on one of my systems does have a DisplayPort I tested this monitor with OS/2 and it works. Now as I know that Intel processor integrated graphic chip can drive more than 1920x1200 via DP I wonder if it would be possible to drive even bigger displays. The motherboard specification says max. resolution 4096 x 2160 @ 24 Hz / 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz. Now I wonder if something like the DELL P4317Q Ultra HD IPS 42,5" which can do 3840x2160 will work with this board. Anyone tested such high resolutions with any motherboard?

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 630
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2020, 04:57:38 pm »
I haven't tested, but this is an Intel system like you describe. Based on the hardware documentation, we ought to be able to see resolutions up to 4096 x 2304. Panorama works well on this system.

http://www.blondeguy.com/computer/humbopeep.html

It's a Lenovo ThinkCentre M720s with a PCIe card for USB support and USB Audio device for audio support. I'm interested in testing this out. I like monitors that have good quality while still be a good value. I've been using the same Dell 24 inch for years. If I want to move to higher resolutions, what monitors should I try?
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 814
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2020, 05:26:35 pm »
Hi Andi,

I'm thinking that in a SNAP driver configuration this would be entirely driven by what resolution the video chipset supports, provided of course that the monitor can do that resoluiton. Therefore, in your case I would think that should work.

Now, I am still getting my kicks out of finally having a working 1920x1200 dual-head setup here. The 6-bit panel on the Dell U2412M (LG panel actually) plain sucks over VGA connector (the 2nd display is VGA connector only with SNAP on my ATI X850 XT video card) in terms of colour reproduction. There are certain shades of various colours that simply will NOT show over the VGA connector while they show just fine through DVI. I tried multiple U2412M displays, they all suck in the same way. I am attributing this to the mix of VGA signal processing and the way the 6-bit panel uses FRC (Frame Rate Control) to fake the equivalent of 8-bit panel capability in order to give you the 16.7 million colours. Anyways, I digress, different topic altogether.

So look, I've got a Samsung S32D850T here that's hooked up to the kid's PC. That's a WQHD display which does 2560x1440 resolution, but I've never tried it on my OS/2 box.

For what its worth, if you decide to run SNAP I can certainly re-wire my setup to plug in the big 32" Samsung and see if the max of my ATI X850 XT is supported, that would be QXGA which is 2048x1536. Since the video card won't support higher resolution I won't be able to drive the bit panel with it's native resolution.

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 525
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2020, 06:01:00 pm »
I don't think SNAP supports more than 1920x1200 for 16x10 aspect ration and 2048x1536 for 4:3. Maybe in VESA mode but pretty sure not with dedicated drivers. For now I think we've to stick with Panorama.

I've no clue which monitor would be a good choice. But for me it has to be one in the range of 95 - 110 DPI (24" 1920x1200 = 94 DPI, 27" 2560x1440 = 109 DPI). Standard fonts are big enough and readable in this DPI range for me. So the biggest display which may work for me is 42.5/43" with 3840x2160 (104 DPI). A quick search for a cheap one gave me the DELL I mentioned. I usually do not buy DELL. If I would know for sure this resolution works, I would look for Eizo, Samsung or HP and maybe Lenovo models. Usually the Eizos are to expensive for me. Number and type of interfaces are important for me too. 2 DP, 1 DVI and VGA would be nice too. The mentioned DELL does have even VGA. I don't care about HDMI or speakers or USB hubs build in or other gimmicks. But these are my preferences. I really want to know if 3840x2160 works for someone with Panorama before I buy such thing. Of course you need DisplayPort connection for that.

Eugene Gorbunoff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2020, 10:19:10 pm »
« Last Edit: April 04, 2020, 10:23:33 pm by Eugene Gorbunoff »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 814
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2020, 02:19:57 am »
Hi Eugene,

We have tested in 2018:
http://os2.guru/commentnews.php?id=2531

Nice, that's pretty awesome to know and it pretty much answers Andi's question. But you are right, yikes, talk about tiny itsy bits fonts eh?

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 525
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2020, 11:48:06 am »
Okay seems the probability that it works for me is high. Now found the following types -
- Acer EB490QK, 48.5", 705€, 91 DPI, DP, VGA, 3xHDMI
- iiyama X4372UHSU-B1, 42.5", 524€, 103,7 DPI, 2xDPv1.2, 2xHDMI, matte/anti-glare
- HP Z43, 42.5", 767€, 103,7 DPI, DP, mDP, HDMI, anti-glare

Advantage of the Acer is it's size. With 91 DPI our usual fonts should be very good readable even a bit bigger than on the 24" 1920x1200 with 94 DPI. And VGA. But not sure if it's really anti-glare/matte.

iiyamas plus is the price.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 814
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2020, 10:46:05 pm »
Andi,

The 32" Samsung 850 I have here sure feels pretty "huge" when placed in a corner unit of a desk (L-shaped office desk setup). Honestly, I can't even imagine going to anything bigger...

If you are going to go even bigger make sure you have the room for it.

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 525
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2020, 10:28:12 am »
Now I had a chance to test a ~32" 3840x2160 monitor. Unfortunately it did not work for me. No clue if it's cause of my old Panorama. I think I use something like 1.07. Every OS/2 installation I tried came up with standard VGA 640x480 resolution without any chance to change it to another setting. Tried PanUtil without success. Guess Panorama couldn't read or interpret EDID information correctly.

Of course the same setup worked with Win in 3840x2160.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 532
  • -Receive: 104
  • Posts: 2860
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2020, 07:37:42 pm »
Hi Andi B.

I don't remember if you are using ArcaOS, but the latest version of the driver on AN is "panorama-1.15.exe". If you can update it , it will be good at least to know that you are at the latest level.

Can you please tell us to the motherboard model, GPU and Monitor you are using to try to get "3840x2160" ?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 525
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2020, 01:35:31 pm »
All my ArcaOS subscriptions has expired since a while so I'm not on current level. I have Panorama 1.06 or 07 or something like that which worked well for systems which are not supported by SNAP until now. I've bought more than one ArcaOS license in case someone wonders.

I'm testing on my Asus H87-Pro which offers 3 digital monitor interfaces. These 3 digital interfaces where one of the main reasons I bought this board a few years ago. At that time I planned to use 2 or 3 1920x1200 monitors digitally connected to this board. Unfortunately SNAP still does not support the Haswell integrated Intel HD4600 graphic. So I've to use Panorama with this system.

Now other possibilities than MultiMonitor setups are came to mind. With a big monitor and 3840x2160 resolution (max. on this board with 60Hz) I could replace 2 of the 24" 1920x1200 monitors. Of course this only works with DisplayPort.

As the 27" Eizo runs fine with 2560x1440 resolution I was confident 3840x2160 would work to. But then I tested my sons Samsung with 3840x2160 and that did not work. I don't know if it's a problem with Panorama or maybe this is another Samsung model with crippled/wrong EDID information like one of Dariusz Samsung. Should have checked that while testing...

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 525
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2020, 09:58:01 pm »
After I bought the iiyama X4372UHSU-B1, 42.5" I tried a lot to get OS/2 to work with 4k resolution. Two tickets at AracNoae and a lot of support from David but it does not work with my integrated BIOS and HD4600 graphic. And it does not work with 2 PCIe ATI cards I tried which I had laying around. They all of course can drive this monitor with native resolution under other OSes but not with our Panorama.

Today I got a my new Sapphire Pulse Radeon 550 2G card. The cheapest I found with standard DisplayConnector. And now it works :-) I've OS/2 - ArcaOS running with 3840x2160 resolution at 60Hz refresh rate at this 42.5" monitor.

As David summed up on the Arca Noae wiki it needs a not to old graphic card BIOS to get such configuration to work. And some luck. And of course Display Port connection. Maybe some very new HDMI connector with proper cable will do it too. Older HDMI can't handle the bandwidth. Anyway for computer monitors DP is much preferred.

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 32
  • Posts: 590
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2020, 10:22:58 pm »
With a big monitor and 3840x2160 resolution (max. on this board with 60Hz) I could replace 2 of the 24" 1920x1200 monitors. Of course this only works with DisplayPort.
BTW: The newer HDMI standard supports this as well. Since a few months most mainboards have HDMI connectors only. It was the opposite a few years ago.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 532
  • -Receive: 104
  • Posts: 2860
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2020, 01:01:46 am »
Hi Andi B.

That's awesome, I want to include a post about it on the OS2World wiki.

According to what I read you are using:
- iiyama PROLITE X4372UHSU-B1 42.5"
- Sapphire Pulse Radeon 550 2G card (Is the link the right one)
- ArcaOS 5.0.6 with lastest Panorama, right?
- It works with the DisplayPort plug.

What about the HDMI and DVI ports of the card (according to the picture I can see on the video card site), are those useless?

It this right? Let me know anything you may want to add about the configuration on ArcaOS.

Regards
« Last Edit: October 14, 2020, 01:09:52 am by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 525
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Someone tried OS/2 with 3840x2160 Display?
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2020, 12:14:06 pm »
Quote
According to what I read you are using:
- iiyama PROLITE X4372UHSU-B1 42.5"
- Sapphire Pulse Radeon 550 2G card (Is the link the right one)
- ArcaOS 5.0.6 with lastest Panorama, right?
- It works with the DisplayPort plug.
Yes, correct. Additionally it runs on another partition with updated eCS. But probably very recent Panorama too. Maybe older Panorama works but I don't know. I bought my card here https://www.e-tec.at/details.php?artnr=%20301295 for 69 €.

Quote
What about the HDMI and DVI ports of the card (according to the picture I can see on the video card site), are those useless?
DVI can't handle the bandwidth per definition. So there's no sense to try it out with resolutions over 1920x1200 (x1450). I haven't tried if the graphic card BIOS handles dual-link DVI which may allow up to 2560x1440. But definitely not 4k. So I see no point in even trying that with this monitor. Remember we do not have multi-monitor mode with Panorama. And we will never get multi-monitor mode using different screen resolutions even when SNAP would support this chip. To my thinking one monitor with 3840x2160 is even better then two monitors each 1920x1200 which I have on my other system. See picture.

HDMI - I tested a few other cards with HDMI but without success. Remember you need very recent HDMI version (2.x?) to support 4k. It often works with Win with 30Hz refresh rate but not with OS/2. Seems the graphic card BIOSes do not support these special case (30Hz) very well so Panorama can't use it. This new card may work with HDMI as it has HDMI 2.0. But HDMI is the consumer toy interface. Remember HDMI officially does not even define 1920x1200. Although in theory it could handle it since the beginning it is practically available only since about 2010 - more than 10 years after DVI supported such resolutions. HDMI is for television sets and blue-ray players which needs copy protection. There's no good reason to use it for computer monitors.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2020, 12:26:24 pm by Andi B. »