Author Topic: Installing Warp 3 issues  (Read 1845 times)

Dj Koelkast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2020, 10:39:59 am »
This is the directory of my unmodified disk 1:

Code: [Select]
Volume in drive A is DISK 1
 Volume Serial Number is 6200-0000

 Directory of A:\

01/05/1995  15:52            24.878 CONINST.EXE
31/01/1995  19:54           135.746 HPFS.IFS
21/04/1995  16:55           122.788 DOSCALL1.DLL
12/12/1994  15:44            38.706 LMS206.ADD
21/04/1995  18:03            79.360 CMD.EXE
03/04/1995  16:48             5.434 TESTCFG.SYS
12/12/1994  18:25            41.795 CDFS.IFS
11/05/1995  12:49            35.348 CMD640X.ADD
04/01/1995  20:52            33.578 OS2DASD.DMD
01/12/1994  11:39            32.629 IBM2SCSI.ADD
15/12/1994  15:57            31.058 IBM1FLPY.ADD
21/04/1995  23:28            28.900 IBM1S506.ADD
12/12/1994  15:31            27.650 RESOURCE.SYS
03/10/1994  14:23            27.989 KBDBASE.SYS
12/12/1994  21:03            25.610 COUNTRY.SYS
21/04/1995  17:17            20.684 NPXEMLTR.DLL
03/10/1994  14:15            17.387 MOUSE.SYS
27/03/1995  15:15            16.190 OS2LOGO
21/04/1995  16:53            14.888 HARDERR.EXE
05/10/1994  22:33            14.698 XDFLOPPY.FLT
31/10/1994  20:03            14.596 TEDIT.HLP
06/01/1995  19:17            13.754 IBM2FLPY.ADD
10/11/1994  00:44            10.478 VTBL850.DCP
05/10/1994  22:32             9.860 IBMINT13.I13
05/10/1994  22:32             9.798 IBM2ADSK.ADD
21/04/1995  17:53             9.374 TEDIT.EXE
10/01/1995  17:40             9.393 SCREEN02.SYS
10/01/1995  17:40             9.461 SCREEN01.SYS
12/12/1994  17:33             7.999 BVHINIT.DLL
12/12/1994  15:36            38.044 AHA152X.ADD
08/12/1994  19:41             5.177 KEYBOARD.DCP
06/01/1995  20:05             5.572 IBMKBD.SYS
03/04/1995  16:48             5.088 DETNE2.SYS
21/04/1995  19:48             4.224 SYSINST1.EXE
05/10/1994  22:33            20.324 AHA154X.ADD
10/11/1994  00:56             3.834 CLOCK02.SYS
10/11/1994  00:56             3.735 CLOCK01.SYS
10/11/1994  16:12             2.048 VIOCALLS.DLL
10/11/1994  16:08             1.536 SESMGR.DLL
08/12/1994  19:38             1.142 DOS.SYS
10/11/1994  16:09             1.024 QUECALLS.DLL
10/11/1994  16:15             1.024 NAMPIPES.DLL
10/11/1994  16:15             1.024 MOUCALLS.DLL
09/11/1994  22:22             1.024 KBDCALLS.DLL
22/05/1995  14:48             1.363 CONFIG.SYS
10/11/1994  16:11               512 OS2CHAR.DLL
21/04/1995  16:52               512 NLS.DLL
21/04/1995  16:52               512 MSG.DLL
10/11/1994  10:07               512 BVSCALLS.DLL
10/11/1994  16:15               512 BMSCALLS.DLL
10/11/1994  16:13               512 BKSCALLS.DLL
10/11/1994  16:13               512 ANSICALL.DLL
13/04/1995  18:53               165 SYSLEVEL.OS2
12/12/1994  15:36            19.716 AHA164X.ADD
22/04/1995  02:27                30 DISK.NUM
05/10/1994  22:34            17.820 AHA174X.ADD
12/12/1994  15:37            42.396 AIC7770.ADD
15/12/1994  16:01            34.092 AIC7870.ADD
12/12/1994  15:40            22.737 BTSCSI.ADD
21/04/1995  23:18            21.498 CMDATAPI.FLT
10/01/1995  15:17            31.258 FD16-700.ADD
12/12/1994  15:39            30.030 FD8XX.ADD
12/12/1994  15:38            20.848 FD7000EX.ADD
05/10/1994  22:37            23.898 DPT20XX.ADD
03/10/1994  14:02             4.736 CHINCDS1.FLT
03/10/1994  13:59             6.086 HITCDS1.FLT
06/10/1994  22:39             7.066 NECCDS1.FLT
03/10/1994  14:01             6.286 SONYCDS1.FLT
03/10/1994  14:00             6.236 TOSHCDS1.FLT
21/04/1995  23:30            20.286 IBMIDECD.FLT
05/10/1994  22:30            20.238 TMV1SCSI.ADD
12/12/1994  15:43            19.530 SONY535.ADD
15/12/1994  16:06            32.480 SONY31A.ADD
24/01/1995  20:15            20.482 MITFX001.ADD
12/12/1994  15:42            18.834 SBCD2.ADD
15/01/1995  00:30            24.238 OS2CDROM.DMD
              76 File(s)      1.420.782 bytes
               0 Dir(s)          10.240 bytes free

Then I removed SCSI lines and added the 2 files:

Quote
  2.  Copy the new versions of IBM1S506.ADD, and IBMIDECD.FLT
      device driver files onto your D1 diskette.

To make room for it I removed these files:

Code: [Select]
BTSCSI.ADD
TMV1SCSI.ADD

I also removed the original IBM1S506.ADD and IBMIDECD.FLT from the disk and replaced them with the new.
And I did this:

Quote
  4.  Add the statement SET COPYFROMFLOPPY=1 to the CONFIG.SYS on D1.


Original config.sys:

Code: [Select]
buffers=32
iopl=yes
memman=swap,delayswap
protshell=sysinst1.exe
set os2_shell=sysinst2.exe
diskcache=D2,LW
protectonly=yes
libpath=.;\;\os2\dll;\os2\install;
ifs=hpfs.ifs /c:64
pauseonerror=no
codepage=850
devinfo=kbd,us,keyboard.dcp
devinfo=scr,ega,vtbl850.dcp
device=\dos.sys
device=\mouse.sys
set path=\;\os2;\os2\system;\os2\install
set dpath=\;\os2;\os2\system;\os2\install
set keys=on
basedev=cmd640x.add
basedev=detne2.sys
basedev=ibmkbd.sys
basedev=ibm1flpy.add
basedev=ibm1s506.add
basedev=ibm2flpy.add
basedev=ibm2adsk.add
basedev=ibm2scsi.add
basedev=ibmint13.i13
basedev=os2dasd.dmd
device=\testcfg.sys
basedev=xdfloppy.flt

set os2_shell=cdinst.exe
set saveconnect=1
set cdrominst=1
ifs=cdfs.ifs /q
basedev=aha152x.add
basedev=aha154x.add
basedev=aha164x.add
basedev=aha174x.add
basedev=aic7770.add
basedev=aic7870.add
basedev=btscsi.add
basedev=cmdatapi.flt
basedev=fd16-700.add
basedev=fd8xx.add
basedev=fd7000ex.add
basedev=dpt20xx.add
basedev=chincds1.flt
basedev=hitcds1.flt
basedev=neccds1.flt
basedev=sonycds1.flt
basedev=toshcds1.flt
basedev=ibmidecd.flt
basedev=tmv1scsi.add
basedev=sony535.add
basedev=sony31a.add
basedev=lms206.add
basedev=mitfx001.add
basedev=sbcd2.add
device=\os2cdrom.dmd
set oemprogram=\grpware\lanstart.exe
set exitwhendone=1
set os2_shell=coninst.exe


Modified config.sys:

Code: [Select]
buffers=32
iopl=yes
memman=swap,delayswap
protshell=sysinst1.exe
set os2_shell=sysinst2.exe
diskcache=D2,LW
protectonly=yes
libpath=.;\;\os2\dll;\os2\install;
ifs=hpfs.ifs /c:64
pauseonerror=no
codepage=850
devinfo=kbd,us,keyboard.dcp
devinfo=scr,ega,vtbl850.dcp
device=\dos.sys
device=\mouse.sys
set path=\;\os2;\os2\system;\os2\install
set dpath=\;\os2;\os2\system;\os2\install
set keys=on
basedev=cmd640x.add
basedev=detne2.sys
basedev=ibmkbd.sys
basedev=ibm1flpy.add
basedev=ibm1s506.add
basedev=ibm2flpy.add
basedev=ibm2adsk.add
basedev=ibm2scsi.add
basedev=ibmint13.i13
basedev=os2dasd.dmd
device=\testcfg.sys
basedev=xdfloppy.flt

set os2_shell=cdinst.exe
set saveconnect=1
set cdrominst=1
ifs=cdfs.ifs /q
basedev=aha152x.add
basedev=aha154x.add
basedev=aha164x.add
basedev=aha174x.add
basedev=aic7770.add
basedev=aic7870.add
basedev=cmdatapi.flt
basedev=fd16-700.add
basedev=fd8xx.add
basedev=fd7000ex.add
basedev=dpt20xx.add
basedev=chincds1.flt
basedev=hitcds1.flt
basedev=neccds1.flt
basedev=sonycds1.flt
basedev=toshcds1.flt
basedev=ibmidecd.flt
basedev=sony535.add
basedev=sony31a.add
basedev=lms206.add
basedev=mitfx001.add
basedev=sbcd2.add
device=\os2cdrom.dmd
set oemprogram=\grpware\lanstart.exe
set exitwhendone=1
set os2_shell=coninst.exe
SET COPYFROMFLOPPY=1

I could probably do with a whole lot less, so I'll be trying the config.sys posted by ivan (with US keyboard layout)
« Last Edit: May 17, 2020, 10:42:23 am by Dj Koelkast »

Dj Koelkast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2020, 12:11:56 pm »
Copying went well now, but the same result. I tried HPFS and FAT (FAT takes a looooooot longer to install).
I disabled all cache options in the BIOS, as well as all other features that didn't need to be on.

Result is the same every time: when it wants to boot after the initial install it gives me just a black screen with a blinking white cursor in the top left corner. That's all.

Dj Koelkast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2020, 02:33:12 pm »
Something did change, after installing, rebooting the installation disk and entering the command prompt now gives me (to my eyes at least) more accurate hdd info:


ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 44
  • Posts: 1206
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2020, 04:13:36 pm »
What do you get with dir /a  at the moment you are not showing the system files like OS2BOOT, OS2KRNL, OS2LDR, OS2LOGO, OS2DUMP all of which are necessary for OS/2 to boot.

Another thing, you might need to run SYSINSTX.COM (on the boot disk) to make the root partition bootable.

Dj Koelkast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2020, 09:37:24 pm »
Ok with DIR /A everything does show up.

SYSINSTX.COM C: does not work unless I copy SYSINSTX.COM to c:\ and do it from there, but it results in the same thing, the blinking cursor.

So I did something radical: made new floppies, from a different source (and did the update). Made a new cd, different brand media, different burner, different software to burn, different drive to burn, different drive to read on the IBM.
After installing this: 100% the same result.

So there is no other option than to think there is either an incompatible part in this IBM (note: it has no cache memory, or at least the SureBIOS says 0kB) or some other thing is going on. I might try a small IDE HDD soon.
The PC 330 was shipped with OS/2 Warp 3 as an option, so it should be able to run on it is my best guess.

(oh yeah I',m quite persistent to get it running)


Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 519
  • -Receive: 102
  • Posts: 2819
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #20 on: May 17, 2020, 11:30:08 pm »
Hi Dj Koelkast.

I know this may be "Warp 3 o Burst"  ;D   but what do you think if you give a try with Warp 4 or Warp 4.52 to see if you can pass the install phase, or if you experience the same issue. Just to see if there is a different result and then you get back to Warp 3.

Uhm, just as a curiosity, when you run the Warp 3 Installer, I guess it was at the first screen asking your for input, can you do a F3 and go to command line and do a "ver /r", which release do you have? which language is it? 8.162, 8.200 ?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 190
  • Posts: 2614
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #21 on: May 18, 2020, 12:01:47 am »
Hi Dj, did you install BootManager? I know in theory it shouldn't be needed for C: assuming C: is the first active primary partition, but perhaps OS/2 doesn't know what drive it is on? Though I'd think that would be a can not operate hard drive type error.

Dj Koelkast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2020, 09:55:35 am »
I can sure try 4(.52) as well, but the aim for this machine is 3.

Bootmanager, well, I tried 3 options:

1: just do "easy install", the installer will to everything. At the end it goes looking for configuration, then I need to remove the diskette and then it reboots for the 1st time. After that I get the blinking cusror.
2: do an advanced install, partition, make it installable, exactly the same result
3: do an advanced install and just choose to format it (either FAT or HPFS) and again, same result, a blinking cursor after the 1st boot

Last image I had was 8.200, but I'll check in the command promt as well.

This BIOS doesn't work with hard drive types by the way, it recognises it (or not). It doesn't seem to like drives above 4gb, so that's why I had this 2GB CF.
I'll try a genuine IDE HDD < 2gb to see if that's helping.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 44
  • Posts: 1206
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #23 on: May 18, 2020, 03:04:45 pm »
Sorry, I missed the fact you are trying to use a CF disk - Warp 3 will not use that, no matter what size, as a boot disk.  It expects the boot disk to be hanging off either an SCSI or an IDE port - those are all the IBM1S506.ADD recognises, I'm not sure if DANIS506.ADD recognises other ports but I don't think so.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 190
  • Posts: 2614
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2020, 04:43:36 pm »
Sorry, I missed the fact you are trying to use a CF disk - Warp 3 will not use that, no matter what size, as a boot disk.  It expects the boot disk to be hanging off either an SCSI or an IDE port - those are all the IBM1S506.ADD recognises, I'm not sure if DANIS506.ADD recognises other ports but I don't think so.

I assumed the CF disk is hanging off an IDE port, which should work. Of course a good test would be to install DOS and see if that works.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 44
  • Posts: 1206
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #25 on: May 18, 2020, 05:25:36 pm »
Hi Dave,

The problem is a lot of the CF to IDE adapters carry extra electronics which I doubt IBM1S506 would recognise and if it doesn't show up on the bios screen it will never boot.

Dj Koelkast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #26 on: May 18, 2020, 08:47:59 pm »
CF to IDE, yeah, I don't like to use it, I normally use an SSD converted to IDE which always works.
But installing it on a 850mb real hard drive: it just worked right away (besides complaining about not being able to boot in DOS the 1st time, it did go through).

So would a DOM work? A direct to IDE DOM of 2GB?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 190
  • Posts: 2614
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #27 on: May 18, 2020, 10:15:06 pm »
In theory it should work. Of course it partially depends on your BIOS as OS/2 starts its boot in real mode and depends on the BIOS at that point. Once booted, you could probably have a secondary 500MB HD (perhaps even 2TB) that OS/2 can use.
There was a time I bought an 80 GB drive that wouldn't boot until I jumpered it to only present 32 GBs. Boot partition had to be in the 32 GBs but once booted, I could use the whole 80 GBs. Windows only ever saw the 32 GBs and Linux was similar though eventually I found the secret invocation to make the whole thing visible.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 44
  • Posts: 1206
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #28 on: May 18, 2020, 10:27:45 pm »
All I can say is that it might - if the bios sees it as a disk then it should but since you now have Warp 3 booting you can add a second HD and if you use the DANIS506.ADD then anything up to 80GB should be useable (search hobbes for danis and it will throw up several of her drivers).

PS. Don't forget to set the second drive to slave with the first drive set as master, also you should check the IDE cable in case it is set for master/slave sockets).

Dj Koelkast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Warp 3 issues
« Reply #29 on: May 18, 2020, 11:40:29 pm »
I'll first order a 2GB DOM and try that, I really don't want to fall back to noisy old hard drives that fail every now and then.
I love all the old stuff, except for the old hard drives and old noisy fans, so I try to replace them for modern equivalents.