Author Topic: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites  (Read 5302 times)

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« on: September 19, 2020, 03:50:13 pm »
I suppose this was inevitable, but I'm now starting to see consistent behaviour with multiple sites that no longer render in our FF 45.x browser.

Things were never smooth sailing in the past, but at least the previous symptoms were more of a nuisance as opposed to just a flat-out stop.

So here is the thing: before I completely decide that certain browser traffic must go on another device, can you guys concurr that you are seeing similar problem on one of these sites?

Take someting like https://www.linkedin.com. This was fine in the past, SLOOOWWW for sure, but between NoScript and uBlock I managed. Well, today that is no longer the case. When attempting to visit that site I simply get the traveling timer bar, but nothing else ever happens.

Make no mistake though, it is not like the browser isn't doing anything, the CPU cores spikes, I literally get 100% utilization showing, FF eventually becomes fairly non-responsive.

So I took a stab at this to try to at least figure out where the proble lies (heck, I thought maybe one of my addons is the culprit - it isn't as I tried this very same thing with a blank profile, same result). I relied on the FF built-in Performance monitor, did some capture and came away with some results, which is what I'd like to share.

Basically, it appears that our FF's Graphics engine/function goes into some serious effort and yet nothing is produced.

For those of you who may be more familiar with the FF inner-workings, does what you see in the attached screen capture make any sense?

Thanks!
-Dariusz

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 647
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2020, 04:14:20 pm »
I have seen problems similar to what you mention, with the Seamonkey, processors on top, the system dying. What version do you use of Arcaos, and the config.sys and the swappath, what do you have?

With arca505 I have had 40 or 50 websites open, now with arca506 I can only open 8 or 10 websites
Saludos

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2020, 04:21:18 pm »
Hi roberto!

...What version do you use of Arcaos, and the config.sys and the swappath, what do you have?...

Not even AOS. This is my 4.52 SMP machine...yes, it's got some upgrades (kernel, etc.) but otherwise this is the original OS/2 box with all the applicable fixpaks. All in all, a solid box with some nuanced SMP/SNAP issues.

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 647
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2020, 06:23:57 pm »
You can try this:
SWAPPATH=C:\OS2\SYSTEM 311289 311289
It is very experimental, and it can cause problems.
But for me it is one of the best values. Although the uniaud sound fails a bit and I have to move the mouse to recover the sound.
With other values ​​the uniaud works fine, but other things don't.
saludos

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1128
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2020, 01:00:30 am »
Hi Dariusz

Just tried https://www.linkedin.com/ com with Seamonkey/2.42.9esr (1 of Daves builds, - O2 in about:buildconfig) and the site loads fine with javascript enabled in NoScript. I do not have uBlock installed.


Regards

Pete

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3561
  • Karma: +75/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2020, 01:26:19 am »
Hi Pete, did you log in? Here it works until logging in.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1128
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2020, 02:15:18 am »
Hi Dave

No, no login at that site.


Regards

Pete

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2020, 11:34:41 am »
Hi Pete, did you log in? Here it works until logging in.

same in my FF 45.9

David McKenna

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2020, 06:16:36 pm »
 Hi Dariusz,

  Any chance you are using a 'hosts' file that may be interfering with LinkedIn?

Regards,
« Last Edit: September 20, 2020, 06:18:09 pm by David McKenna »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2020, 05:01:23 am »
Hi David,

Hi Dariusz,

  Any chance you are using a 'hosts' file that may be interfering with LinkedIn?

Regards,

Yeah, I thought about that as well. Checked, re-tried with couple of the entries commented out, no change.

I have a LOG of FF about:config changes I make, so I'll go back and see if something there screwed things up. It wasn't so long ago that I was able to log-in, although the site would completely peg the CPU cores to the max.

Thanks for the feedback you guys. If I come across a root cause I'll report-back!


roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 647
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2020, 10:24:35 pm »
It gives me the feeling that the problem is THREADS = 3072
Max. 4095

The Thesseus4.01, show me
008A   13B0   FE3BFD20         1     001D   THESEUS4
34 processes with 187 threads were found.

With 1024 in the config.sys it is clearly insufficient.
The BS-info shows me about 240 threads, counting the lines.
But everything works better with 3072
It will not be that somewhere those threads are multiplied or tripled.
Saludos

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 647
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2020, 10:31:56 pm »
I forgot, if someone wants to try:
REM SET KAI_AUTOMODE=DART
SET KAI_AUTOMODE=UNIAUD
I would say it works 99% ok
Saludos

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3561
  • Karma: +75/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2020, 01:47:54 am »
Hi Roberto, the KAI_AUTOMODE really depends on your hardware, some works best one way and some the other way. The maximum setting for THREADS I believe is 1024, 3072 is max for VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT. With THREADS, the lower, the less memory is used.
@Dariusz, you could try a new profile but the odds are that they've moved to some JavaScript that our old browser just doesn't support. It's now a Microsoft owned site and they want you to use Edge. Same thing with Github, lots of stuff doesn't even display anymore, and it is also owned by Microsoft.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1353
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2020, 02:04:47 am »
Hi Dave,

As far as I remember from Warp 3 days the max setting for THREADS was 4095, I assume it is the same for Warp 4 but that is only an assumption.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3561
  • Karma: +75/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FF 45.x and resulting broken sites
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2020, 02:53:44 am »
Hi Ivan, you might be right. Hmm, http://www.edm2.com/index.php/CONFIG.SYS_-_Commands#THREADS agrees with you.